Frozen Mountain Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Frozen Mountain Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Frozen Mountain CEO Jerod Venema (no image)
Jerod Venema
6 Ratings
  1. "Focused & Forward Thinkg"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Frozen Mountain full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company heads know what they are doing and know where they want to go. Family oriented, open door policy, flexible work environment.

    Cons

    Maybe current parking set-up, but that's more a city of surrey issue?

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Frozen Mountain2019-01-16

    Frozen Mountain Response

    January 16, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thanks for the great feedback, our Leadership team is one in a million! Ugh, we feel your pain about the parking at our complex! It's been under construction over the past 6 months due to upgrades to the sewer/water systems. Bright side, we do have a shuttle that runs every 15 ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Too Good To Be True"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Frozen Mountain full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When my recruiter told me the job description and a little bit about the company I thought to myself this is too good to be true. Good compensation, ability to work from home, brand new MacBook Pro, weekly pizza, salad and wing lunches, family events and more. Since I've ben here it's all true and more. We work on a large variety of projects with cool tech and have the chance to learn new languages. All the senior... developers are friendly and open to questions. I have not once heard someone say RTFM. There are project managers that have the developers back and keep that nice separation from the clients The CTO and CEO always make themselves available and are willing to help and try to answer all your questions making the workplace feel like a family. I definitely recommend Frozen Mountain to any developer who likes to challenge their shills and are willing to learn new ones.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you have to take transit and don't live in the Surrey area it can be a bit of a trek.

    Frozen Mountain2018-10-05

    Frozen Mountain Response

    October 5, 2018Talent Acquisition Specialist

    We're a company built by Developers, for Developers--we get what you need. Awesome hardware, products that integrate with every platform, complex problems with wicked solutions and people who have your back! Thanks again for sharing your FM experience, your post means a lot to us!

  3. "Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Frozen Mountain full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, Amazing benefits like a stocked lunch room, company events, medical, dental, ping pong tournaments and current equipment.

    Cons

    It is a bit far for me to drive everyday, but still totally worth it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, your out of the box thinking keeps FM an amazing place to work and mingle.

    Frozen Mountain2018-10-05

    Frozen Mountain Response

    October 9, 2018Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Sounds like our Developers need to create some type of transporter to beam our people into the office :) Thanks for trekking out here, we appreciate you taking the commute to be a party of our FM Family! Your post means a lot to us, thanks for sharing your FM experience.

  4. "Best place I have ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Frozen Mountain full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great work atmosphere with lots of great perks including weekly pizza lunches, monthly pub nights, fun family events, and ping pong tournaments -Great staff of hardworking, intelligent and friendly human beings -Lots of interesting projects to work on -Company is progressive and is always looking for ways to improve -Great flexibility if you need to work from home or adjust your hours

    Cons

    - Nothing really. It truly is a great place to work.

    Frozen Mountain2018-09-28

    Frozen Mountain Response

    October 2, 2018Talent Acquisition Specialist

    We encourage you to bring up any other comments or feedback as you take this amazing journey with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your FM experience, we're definitely feeling the love!

  5. "Best Employer Ever - 5/7 Would Recommend!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Langley, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Frozen Mountain full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The management is supportive and engaged. - The CEO and CTO have built the company from the ground up, and their investment in the operations, direction, products, customers, and employees is apparent in every decision. - The products we build, and the technology we use to build them, is fun and interesting. No "boring" jobs here! - Family is built right into the company's core principles. We have so many... events that bring the staff together as a family that you always feel connected to your coworkers, and the management also promotes work-life balance allowing employees the time to have full lives outside of the office.

    Show More

    Cons

    If, like me, you do not live in South(ish) Surrey, then it's a little hard to get to the office. Especially if you use transit.

    Advice to Management

    Keep truckin'!

    Frozen Mountain2018-09-26

    Frozen Mountain Response

    October 2, 2018Talent Acquisition Specialist

    What a unique rating, "5/7" :) We definitely agree, "no boring jobs here!" Thanks for taking the time to share your FM experience, your post means a lot to us!

  6. "Full time employee more then a year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Frozen Mountain full-time

    Pros

    Feels like a family. Staff are; nice, fun to be around, easy to talk to, and knowledgeable. You have a small company feel but big company aspirations. I enjoy getting to work on different style projects, in new an exciting fields. Opportunities to get pushed into a new language and new area or stay consistent in a long term project. Fun atmosphere to work! I definitely recommend working here!

    Cons

    May not have the same levels of advancement / compensation you would at a larger company. Advancement roles exist but are not very separated from developer roles.

    Frozen Mountain2018-09-26

    Frozen Mountain Response

    October 2, 2018Talent Acquisition Specialist

    In terms of advancement within the company, we've recently created 3 net-new positions in the last month. This means newly created roles, new advancements and lots of opportunities for our People to play in our career jungle gym!Thanks so much for taking the time to share your FM ...

    Show More
  7. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Frozen Mountain full-time

    Pros

    1. Collaborative and fast paced environment 2. Lots of nice perks such as weekly pizza and monthly pub night 3. Focus on teamwork and helping each other 4. Management is really good and provides clear direction 5. Lots of opportunities to learn and grow

    Cons

    Not much. Drive can be long but FM provides flexible options including work form home.

    Frozen Mountain2018-09-26

    Frozen Mountain Response

    October 2, 2018Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to share your FM experience, your post means a lot to us! South Surrey is a fun place to be located; lots of amenities, tons of shopping complexes and restaurants, and soo much room for our people. For our out of city folks, we offer lots of flex on your ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Too good and yet too true"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Frozen Mountain full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is by far the best place that I have ever worked. Management is brilliant and humble at the same time. Employees have input opportunities and there are tons of great perks.

    Cons

    A bit of a drive for me, but worth it.

    Frozen Mountain2018-04-17

    Frozen Mountain Response

    October 2, 2018Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to share your FM experience, your post means a lot to us! We agree, commuting sucks and the less you have to do, the better. FM offer lots of flex on your commute- varying start times, remote work days and for the most part, you'll be going against the ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (2)

    "A place to work that is beyond great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Frozen Mountain full-time

    Pros

    - Everyone in management understands what its like to be a developer because they were once a developer themselves. - The people are smart and motivated - The technology we develop is amazing - Quality hardware for each person - The weekly pizza lunch is a great - The monthly pub afternoon is even better - The company does regular outings for employees, several of which include the employees' families

    Cons

    - The only downside to Frozen Mountain is that I didn't start working here years ago

    Advice to Management

    Continue to grow the company but try to maintain the small company feel. Keep doing what you're doing.

    Frozen Mountain2017-03-02

    Frozen Mountain Response

    October 2, 2018Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your FM experience, we're definitely feeling the love! We're happy you found us when you did :)

Found 9 reviews