Frontiers Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
58%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Frontiers CEO Kamila Markram
Kamila Markram
43 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "A friendly workplace, but may be too fast paced for some"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Lausanne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Frontiers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is a great ambiance in this company. People are receptive to new ideas and people just starting their career can grow quickly. There is never a lack of friendly faces to eat lunch with or grab a drink.

    Cons

    The roles are very target oriented and can be high pressure. Extra hours are often expected. Changes happen frequently as well, so adaptability and resilience is a must!

    Continue reading
    Frontiers2020-05-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Overall Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journal Development Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Frontiers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of room for professional growth, attended a lot of international conferences, enjoyed the teams i worked with.

    Cons

    Managers don't seem to have any experience prior to their roles and are promoted internally

    Continue reading
    Frontiers2020-04-28
  3. Helpful (2)

    "underachiever heaven, open door for unqualified personnel"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Frontiers full-time

    Pros

    lots of spare time and free mental space as the job is not exactly demanding

    Cons

    Unqualified personnel. Most people do not have even an undergraduate degree in the field they are working in, let alone a higher level degree as any respectable publishing house would. Most people there are coming from freelance jobs in the humanities with no experience in either science or publishing. These people need to make decisions on subfields within exact sciences, use and understand fairly complex software and often scientitic terms whose meaning they cannot understand. This might explain why scientists get spammed with research topic requests on completely irrelevant fields and the low quality of the papers coming out. Should any respectable scientist know who is editing their manuscripts, they would stop submitting anything to Frontiers. This is the only publishing house that hires people without a background in their respective field. Moreover, being there for longer is rewarded, and given that the people who stay are generally the ones who did not receive competing offers, most of middle to high management is formed of people who did not receive a job anywhere else. These people will willingly block any incoming talent that has any interest in publishing or technical abilities, be it by either blocking their projects or sending passive-aggressive emails correcting commas or tabs, as previous reviews pointed out. If your life ambitions and abilities are in any way above average and have achieved anything worthwhile in the past careerwise, and are still working here for more than a few months, you have only yourself to blame. Also, salary is extremely low for Switzerland which explains the level of the people accepting the position. That said, many of these people without a scientific/publishing background might do better in a different kind of position that does not require decision making at the forefront of knowledge, and this would allow qualified personnel to replace them as well.

    Continue reading
    Frontiers2020-01-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Journal Manager in Lausanne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Frontiers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast growth and many opportunities. Adequate salary and perks.

    Cons

    Financial outlook is unclear, noncompetitive product pricing, management changes direction abruptly every couple of months.

    Continue reading
    Frontiers2020-01-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journal Development Specialist in Lausanne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Frontiers full-time

    Pros

    International Atmosphere and good predisposition to inter-teams collaborations.

    Cons

    Deficient managerial skills, lack of investment in Education and Low salary.

    Continue reading
    Frontiers2019-11-26
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great entry level staff and middle management but upper management only care about numbers"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Lausanne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Frontiers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Frontiers has a young, dynamic and engaged work force despite the constant company changes - Friendly company culture though this does vary by department - Not a traditional publisher though it is becoming much more corporate

    Cons

    - Pay is very low by Swiss standards - Serious lack of transparency about how targets especially for 2020 are decided upon and the proposed plan for 2020 lacks grounded strategies - Some managers don't seem to know what they're doing and are happy to approve large email campaigns without much consideration of strategic input or forward planning from sister departments Eg. I have seen presentations by a head of department that do not make scientific sense and the style of delivery is far too casual and gung-ho - Job roles constantly change and little to no input is sought from those who are the most effected - Several internal promotions over the last few years and these have lowered the standards in some teams and created an unrealistic idea that a promotion is guaranteed if you stay for more than a year - Some upper management have very little experience and have only ever progressed within Frontiers and don't bring much from the wider publishing industry - Huge focus on proving your self worth and a number of managers have very little actual management experience - Frontiers fails to retain people and this is a sign that career development is not a priority for them Eg. They do not have a retention strategy - Reactive hiring processes and some departments over hire and end up moving people - with very little warning - to portfolios that they have no connection with - Communication strategies lag behind company change when it should be the other way around - Mixed experience with the HR department; some are not very experienced and I have heard feedback from some on other people's interviews which I should not have been privy to

    Continue reading
    Frontiers2019-11-08
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing and rewarding place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Topics in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Frontiers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people is the strongest asset in Frontiers. I feel we are a huge family with no hierarchy where we are all "humans" and where you feel appreciated and part of a team/mission from day one. It is one of the best places so far I have worked in. Senior people are super close to us, the CEO, our managers! HR is more approachable than in any other company and I have to say, we have a great HR Generalist in our department! She is a great motivator for all of us! Frontiers is very flexible with personal circumstances and managers really try their best to help all of us to evolve but also to deal with our personal circumstances. We also make mistakes but we react quickly. I take the challenges as an opportunity to improve.

    Cons

    Misleading Communication and sometimes and not alignment. We would appreciate if sometimes we are told things a bit more clear.

    Continue reading
    Frontiers2019-10-30
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Some terrible people skills."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Lausanne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Frontiers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    CEO and HR are great - empathic, respectful of everyone, pleasure to talk to them.

    Cons

    Middle/upper management (some) might be good with numbers, but null at understanding and leading people. Managing people takes particular flair which you have it or you don't.

    Continue reading
    Frontiers2019-10-04
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Not as good as it seems"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RT Specialist in Lausanne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Frontiers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The positives are: - working with skilled and intelligent colleagues - the possibility to work part time - the park located next to the building

    Cons

    The main cons: - Lack of development opportunities - Unqualified managers - Favoritism and internal hiring practices - The company saving the money on interns - The high requirements for a low salary - Insane work pace: always giving the little extra - With the growth of the company, each employee has less say in decision making - Old-school hierarchy

    Continue reading
    Frontiers2019-09-30
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Not recommended"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lausanne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Frontiers full-time

    Pros

    - Free fruits, free coffee. - 8 hours/day, 5 weeks holiday/year. - You'll meet nice colleagues. - That's pretty much it.

    Cons

    - Salaries way, way below the swiss standards. - Management doesn't listen/care about your opinion. - Repetitive tasks.

    Frontiers2019-09-26
Found 66 reviews