Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer Reviews

Updated Mar 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
61%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer Senior Partner and Managing Partner  Edward Braham and Stephan Eilers (no image)
Edward Braham and Stephan Eilers
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Very long hours that you are expected to be available to work - almost always working 9:30am-11pm(in 36 reviews)

  • "Poor treatment of support staff relative to lawyers(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great for networking and learning about the ins and outs of a law firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager 

    I worked at Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic smart people, opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Hard to navigate such a large firm

    Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer2020-03-02
  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President in Hong Kong

    I have been working at Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer full-time

    Pros

    International law firm in HK

    Cons

    Long working hours and demanding clients

    Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer2020-02-19
  3. "Legal Solutions Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Paralegal in Manchester, England
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Pay isn't bad for a paralegal role; - Good working environment with helpful colleagues and managers; - Good depth of work.

    Cons

    - Quite a lot of administrative work, but that's the nature of a paralegal role.

    Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer2020-02-10
  4. "Difficult to progress or feel valued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Documentation Specialist in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team are lovely and everyone is supportive and friendly. The benefits in the company are very good and the office itself is nice.

    Cons

    There is little opportunity for development unless you are a favourite among the team, people are overworked and training opportunities are limited. Even though many members of staff work hard and go above and beyond there is little to no positive feedback from management and people consistently feel undervalued or frustrated.

    Continue reading
    Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer2020-02-18
  5. "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work, lovely office.

    Cons

    No cons, it's a great place to work.

    Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer2020-01-31
  6. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer full-time

    Pros

    solid know how, good reputation as magic circle

    Cons

    Poor people management, certain partners are very hard to work with, only get to work on the same type of work (HK office)

    Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer2020-01-22
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer full-time

    Pros

    Good but very conservative environment

    Cons

    Not so much diversity higher you go

    Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer2019-12-19
  8. "It is what you make it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Finance 

    I worked at Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer full-time

    Pros

    Work kept me busy so days flew by.

    Cons

    Lots of turnover so work/life balance suffered a lot

    Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer2019-12-18
  9. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Services Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and interesting projects. They are encouraging more agile working. The new office near Liverpool St looks great (moving from Fleet Street in Summer 2020).

    Cons

    Hard work which is to be expected. I had to move to another company to progress up the career ladder.

    Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer2019-12-18
  10. "nope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great clients. Strategic focus. Impressive people. Performance culture.

    Cons

    Cut-throat. Culture not great. Long hours

    Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer2019-12-13
Found 207 reviews