FormHero Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

FormHero Reviews

Updated Sep 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
FormHero Co-Founder and CEO Ryan Kimber
Ryan Kimber
11 Ratings
  1. "Great learning and work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FormHero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Supportive and positive learning environment - Everyone is knowledgeable and willing to help each other complete the task at hand - Lots of room and support for professional growth - Easily accessible location (5 minute walk from Union) - Upper management are actively involved in the production, product and work with you to make the process better - Great work life balance - Building facilities are clean, provide basic utensils, cutlery, coffee and tea. There are also a number of meeting rooms that are available for personal work or meetings that hold up to 20 people.

    Cons

    - Crunch time can sometimes happen (but when it does, everyone steps up together) - No windows in the office, however there is a library zone with lots of natural light, available anytime

    Continue reading
    FormHero2019-09-26
  2. "Great place to work with an amazing culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Javascript Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FormHero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At FormHero there are always opportunities to develop your skills and work on what you'd like to work on. We have licenses for online learning materials, and the management team and lead developers are always understanding and supportive about learning new technologies. There are also lots of interesting challenges to overcome, allowing developers to be creative and impactful in the companies direction. The culture at FormHero is one of the best parts about working here. Everyone is passionate and invested in the product, but definitely not afraid to have some fun. There is a weekly social event every Friday for employees to kick back with a drink and get to know each other better, which I feel really helps cement the companies social culture. The building that the office is located in also has an amazing community. There are often community-wide events that allows you to connect with other passionate individuals, as well as other various opportunities, like a mentorship program. Our benefits packages were also recently updated, and are now the best benefits I've ever received from a company!

    Cons

    There are some periods of crunch time where extra work has to be completed to meet a deadline. This can be stressful, but I think this is a problem that can be applied to almost all startups, it's just part of the job.

    Continue reading
    FormHero2019-06-27
  3. "Great Culture with unique opportunities to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FormHero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    FormHero has a perfect environment to take on new challenges, show initiative and own high-value projects. You can define your own path here and get your ideas heard. The leadership team truly cares about our employees and are always available to support us no matter the time or day. People are very mature and intelligent. Since the time I joined FormHero, I grew tremendously, and I am very grateful for the opportunities I am given. Also, the product is amazing and has a lot of potential. Everyone at FormHero is very passionate about the product and our vision.

    Cons

    We have some growing pains as any other startup, but it is important that the leadership team is aware of these pains and are working towards improving our processes and also building and maintaining a great culture.

    Continue reading
    FormHero2019-05-31

    FormHero Response

    June 15, 2019VP, Business Development

    Thank you for your great review. Affording our team the time, and opportunities, to grow is extremely important to us - so that's wonderful to hear!

    Continue reading
  4. "An excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FormHero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working on useful software with interesting problems to solve Great culture with a really positive work environment Lots of opportunity to learn from really intelligent people Excellent communication between the founders/management and their employees

    Cons

    Not everything is perfect but you can trust that when management becomes aware of a problem, they'll fix it

    Continue reading
    FormHero2019-04-04

    FormHero Response

    May 13, 2019VP, Business Development

    Thanks for the positive feedback; we always love hearing from members of the team - especially if there’s something we can be doing better. When it comes to fixing problems, or when issues arise, we definitely try our best to bring people together to find the best solution. Fortunately, we have a great team, top-to-bottom, that’s been really open to brainstorming and discussing our issues and mistakes. We’ll keep working hard to ensure that culture remains as we continue to grow

    Continue reading
  5. "Great start-up to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Software Development in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FormHero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Small team of talented software engineers - Company already has some major customers/traction, making it more stable - Top management is down-to-earth and very technical - Location of office is terrific, one block from Union Station and the GO train station

    Cons

    - No cons that I can think of at this time

    Continue reading
    FormHero2019-03-12

    FormHero Response

    March 14, 2019Manager, People & Culture

    Thank you for your great review! We are continuing to focus on establishing ourselves as a household name to enterprise clients. And from a team-building perspective, our goal is attracting, developing and retaining the best talent to join not only our amazing team of software engineers, but also other departments within FormHero!

    Continue reading
  6. "Terrific place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Strategic Accounts in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FormHero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team is amazing. Everything from the interview process to my first few weeks have been an absolute delight. I can't recommend the place enough to people looking to have a fulfilling career.

    Cons

    It's still in the startup growth phase so that may not be for everyone, though it's undoubtably exciting for the right people.

    Continue reading
    FormHero2019-02-06
  7. "Extremely friendly team and a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FormHero full-time

    Pros

    - Super friendly and helpful team - Great workplace culture - Possibility of taking on challenges and working on different things

    Cons

    No cons that i can think of

    FormHero2019-02-04
  8. "Best work environment I've experienced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FormHero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've worked in small startups and big tech orgs, and I can truly say that of all my past work experiences, FormHero by far has the best work environment. Everyone here is: - extremely smart; I can and have learned from everyone around me - friendly and helpful; you can tell the team genuinely cares, and nothing feels forced - quick and timely; might seem like an odd point, but I've had many colleagues work slowly or procrastinate due to a lack of accountability that it really hinders my work output. Everyone at FormHero are very productive which drives me to accomplish more - experienced; I love that the team is made up of more diverse people than a typical SaaS startup. I prefer the exciting fast pace of working in tech, but often didn't like being in a team made up of solely new college grads. This team is fun and professional - best of both worlds! All of these points were inherently obvious during my interview process, in which I met with the HR Manager, then the VP of Business Development, and finally the CEO. Everyone was easy to talk to and was able to provide me a clear vision of where the company wants to go, and what they expect out of their employees. And sometimes what they 'expect' is for us to expect the unexpected and take on challenges thrown our way; I appreciated that they were transparent and didn't try to sugar-coat the role during the interview process. That's a testament to how they run their business day-to-day too. Here's my advice for what to do during the interview process: - be authentic; the co-founders operate on transparency and they need employees who are too - don't be afraid to ask questions, even if they're "negative"; my now-boss has said that he was really impressed with how I was able to quickly grasp FormHero's business model and point out a weak spot (and ask how they mitigate that risk) - clearly articulate where you are in your career and where you want to go; my role now wasn't publicly posted, but HR and later the co-founders were able to identify where they needed my skillset in the company Lastly, the product is fantastic, unique, and I'm really confident it has the potential to take off if we continue building a great team and all pull our weights.

    Cons

    - Benefits are very basic (I miss my cushy big corp benefits) but that's expected of start-ups - Great OneEleven (building) facilities, though the office itself could be nicer

    Continue reading
    FormHero2018-12-17

    FormHero Response

    February 5, 2019Founder / CEO

    Thanks for your great review! I am very fortunate to have opportunity to work with a team of very talented and smart people, yourself included! I know I can rely on my team on many levels and every one of us complements each other in skills and functions moving together towards our common goal. From the early days of defining and building FormHero, I did everything myself and I had to figure out a lot the hard way. Then about two years ago, after a year-or-so of pestering, my long-time friend and now business partner Art Harrison came onboard. It’s been a challenging and at the same time exciting process since, and one of the things we have been figuring out and are still learning is when and what to delegate. As we grow and develop our team, including our management team, one of the key areas we are focusing right now is to hire people with the right expertise who can spot problems or opportunities way before we do it the first time. We have a clear picture on what help we need and the type of skills we are looking for. Both Art and I have our own strengths in certain areas and now we need to plan how we can deploy those strengths effectively. It’s just a matter of time as we are adding and refining some of the critical roles in our org structure. Also, I am glad that you touched on our benefits program, as we are working on this as we speak. Enhancing our benefits plan and finalizing our bonus plan are among our priorities for Q1 of 2019. Stay tuned for more details which I will be sharing with our team in the next couple months.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "It’s a good place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FormHero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A share office space is fun, awsome coffee machines and a lots of yummy tea bags. Tech-stack is relatively new, a good place to pick up knowledge for AWS, node, mongoDB, angular... Less office politics, developers could fully focus on development, and moving forward fast. Have great opportunities to work for big-name clients and build up your own portfolio. There are intelligent people works there, the product has a lots of potential.

    Cons

    Lack of proper development process. Which caused unnecessary stress for developers. Limited room for career growth.

    FormHero2018-11-08
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FormHero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Modern Tech Stack - Product has enormous potential

    Cons

    - Micromanagement - Scapegoating - Toxic Environment - Get flak for small things like taking time out for appointments, working from home etc - Encouraged to work weekends and long hours without getting any recognition for it

    Continue reading
    FormHero2018-11-07

    FormHero Response

    November 9, 2018Founder / CEO

    Hey, thank you for your feedback. First, I appreciate knowing what’s on the minds of my employees, current or former and good or bad, because I always want to know what we need to do to make our team stronger. Second, it’s a key moment in a company’s evolution to receive their first negative Glassdoor review, and I want to be upfront and address this directly. (And hey, it’s a great sign we are growing!) We are a fast growing, quickly moving company. We love that. It’s an exciting time and we are doing amazing things. In growing from just two people to where we are now, we've made a few mistakes, and I'm sure we'll make more. If we aren't making mistakes, we probably aren't trying. As a core value of our company, we try really hard not to make the same mistake twice. Regardless of our growth, this is how we will always be: We are an innovative and high performing tech team, and that’s what we always want to be. We and our people will grow and be stronger this way. To those reading this (thanks for the attention!), some of what’s said here is true, some of it is through a contextual lens. Here’s the action we’ve taken to live by our beliefs: - We hired a dedicated People & Culture Manager as Employee #11 - She’s awesome. Please come and met her. - We’ve implemented regular 1:1’s, code reviews, and peer mentoring - Not to check up, but to teach, coach, get feedback and make our team stronger. We believe in making the space for that, I can commit to you that we're following through. - We've changed our recruiting practices to use raw skills only as a bar for getting in the door, and now give even more weight to values and culture fit.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 12 reviews