Flipboard Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Flipboard Reviews

Updated Jun 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Flipboard CEO Mike McCue (no image)
Mike McCue
24 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work -- lots of responsibility and unique challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipboard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The engineering and product challenges are unique because of the problem space, and the team is very talented with a diverse set of skills. The team works on a really good product that adheres to sound principles and everyone is genuinely encouraged to do the "right" thing. Most people have a lot of autonomy and responsibility yet have flexibility with their work schedule. Lots of learning opportunities! There... is also a lot of space for the product to grow and for us to contribute everyday. Long term gains are generally considered when deciding on projects. Despite being remote, the Vancouver office is extremely well thought of in the entire organization. There are a lot of interesting projects that we are always involved in. The team here works on the absolute core of the product and open and honest communication and transparency from all sides makes it a really fun place to work. Flipboard manages remote offices extremely well and everyone seems very receptive to feedback. There is an excellent vibe and togetherness among the people in the Vancouver office. Our office is near Gastown, and within a couple of blocks you can get some of the best coffee in Vancouver. We have our weekly team-bonding lunch on Fridays that no one wants to miss. The compensation and benefits are extremely competitive with the local market too. I genuinely enjoy going to work everyday.

    Show More

    Cons

    Understaffed -- With a few more people, I feel Flipboard can achieve what most companies in this space haven't been able to.

    Advice to Management

    We already have a team of world class engineers, and if we invest in some more engineers, we can do a whole lot more.

    Flipboard2018-09-25
  2. "On the verge of a comeback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipboard full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This product is a hugely valuable product with a worthy mission of informing and inspiring the world. The founder leads with integrity as do the team leads. There are clear product roadmaps and the leadership works tirelessly to keep employees informed of the company's financial situation, as well as its product vision, roadmap and core challenges. The transparency in this company is like no other I've seen. With... the right talent, who are passionate and driven to solve big challenges, the product and brand has the potential to be hugely valuable. Company pays for Uber travel to Caltrain in the city, as well as Caltrain pass. Management respects work-life balance and trusts its employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    Constrained resources most recently are a challenge, but not insurmountable. One has to get creative, work efficiently and strategically. Company has trouble recruiting talent to the Palo Alto Location. The move to Redwood City is only slightly better than Palo Alto for commuters from San Francisco.

    Advice to Management

    Set up a location in San Francisco.

    Flipboard2019-06-27
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Compelling mission, smart and fun co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipboard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The Product: It's a visually beautiful product. I would use it even if I didn't work here. - My co-workers: While there has been a lot of turnover lately, the team we have now is strong, motivated, and collaborative. It wasn't always that way, so this is a nice byproduct of the attrition. - Good communication: I feel pretty well informed and connected to the mission through the weekly huddles, all hands... meetings, Q and A's, etc. - Alignment: Previously, the company was pretty silohed. But with changes to the structure, we're more focused and aligned on what needs to be done to grow instead of acting like a golden retriever in a room full of tennis balls. - The flexibility: Good work/life balance. Though there is a lot of work. - CEO: A genuine and passionate guy who truly cares about employees and making things better.

    Show More

    Cons

    - There's a lot of work. Can be overwhelming sometimes. - Innovation can get caught up in the processs. Too many decision makers and meetings. - Some communication challenges between remote offices. - Strategy alignment can be a bear. - Better cross-functional collaboration (this can always improve).

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on the user and their experience. Continually rethink the relationship people have to consuming information. Keep focusing on the critical paths that will move us forward so we don't get spread too thin. Inspire and motivate your teams.

    Flipboard2019-02-28
  4. Helpful (14)

    "Unfortunate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Flipboard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Catered lunch and free snacks

    Cons

    If I had one word to describe this company fairly, it would be "Unfortunate". A great many people begin their career there eager to make a difference, but sadly upper management seems to just put out that flame in any way possible. There's just frustration at every turn! It's really tragic to see so many people leave over just one year of being there. The turn over rate was just too high and nothing was being done... to make it better.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Should really invest in your employees

    Flipboard2019-02-16
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Low Employee Morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Flipboard full-time

    Pros

    nice people nice snacks nice product

    Cons

    The company hasn't found a sustainable business model and morale is extremely low across the board. Good professionals are leaving and roles aren’t being backfilled. Those who stay are overworked and underplayed. Not to mention all the knowledge that is lost with the extremely high turnaround. There is no focus on efficiency and good performance is not rewarded.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in innovation and develop policies to retain good performers.

    Flipboard2019-02-06
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Do Not Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flipboard full-time

    Pros

    Nothing good to say in this company

    Cons

    Worst management Under pay Politics Bad culture Under staff

    Flipboard2018-11-20
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Disappointing changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipboard full-time

    Pros

    Free lunches and snacks are nice.

    Cons

    Employees don't matter to upper management. The new surge of executive hiring has slowed the company down even further and highly increased its costs. People leaving left and right. Roles aren’t backfilled leaving the employees still there overworked and underplayed. Emphasis on executive happiness only. Open and honest communication frowned upon. Rampant nepotism. Inconsistent policies. Overall lack of interest in... its employees. Emphasis on optics instead of results.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the employees. They are the lifeline of the company. Be progressive not regressive. Reopen the lines of communication. Invest in a fulltime HR team that advocates for BOTH executives and employees. Do everything you can to keep the talented people you still have. CEO should refocus on Flipboard and his employees.

    Flipboard2018-09-14

    Flipboard Response

    December 7, 2018Head of Staffing

    We are sorry to hear that this was your experience and we take this feedback seriously. We’ve doubled down on our internal communication touchpoints so that we can hear these ideas and concerns earlier in the process and anyone on the team feels they can give feedback to managers or company leaders. We love working at Flipboard because of the team and the people we surround ourselves with. It’s important that we are listening and we appreciate your feedback.

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Too many issues to cover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipboard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Free lunches - Great downtown Palo Alto location, paid parking permits - Unlimited vacation - Apple products - Some brand presence in the market (but declining) - A couple of great, hard working folks left that are “hanging there”, who still believe in the product/leadership and tries to make Flipboard a decent place to work

    Cons

    There are too many cons to call out in this review. I’m not going to cover the incompetent managers, lack of a clear product release cycle/development process and lack of engineering resources in this review. - Product is not going anywhere. Only major “update” to the app was a confusing design change that was pushed by the CEO (rejected by employees) and had to be rolled back due to declining usage. No major... releases or updates to the product since. Same old features keeps getting pushed/featured/marketed, with no new interest/adaptation from the community. Also, there is no interest from the CEO or product team in implementing user feedback. - While the CEO might be a seasoned, charismatic and experienced entrepreneur in the valley, he’s not been able to deliver good results on any level for a couple of years now. It appears that he has no idea what he’s doing. Most of the time he isn’t even in the office and/or on extended vacations with his family and wife who just happens to lead the marketing team. The perception is that he's already mentally out of the game. Surprised the board and Flipboard's investors didn’t replace him yet after a couple of years of minimal success and a steady stream of disgruntled team members leaving. - Similarly, other C-level employees are either not present or “working remotely” all the time. No one knows what they do or what value they provide to the company. -Everyone and everything at this company moves really slow. This is the slowest “start up” I’ve ever worked at. Frustrating and hard to get anything done. - High turnover rate. New people leaving every week. No “old” people left. Morale and energy is at an all time low. Many coworkers openly talking about leaving and/or looking for roles outside of the company. - The PA office is extremely empty -- lots of folks working remotely and/or just stop coming in. Unclear why we need this much space. People are out the door by 4pm. It's a ghost town. - Nepotism and favoritism. As other reviewers have mentioned, this is essentially a family business and a place where some people get special treatment depending on their role or how close/chimmy to the C-level folks they are.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent with your employees. Stop hiring C-level folks not located in Palo Alto HQ. The CEO should get more involved/be present again or should be replaced. Establish firm, fair policies that applies to everyone. Invest more in current staff. Get rid of the folks that are bottlenecks; the company need to be able to innovate faster in order to stay competitive in the valley. Just like many others, I'm... leaving the company soon, but hope someone or something can turn this business around as the product is pretty special and has potential.

    Show More
    Flipboard2018-07-25
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Understaffed and overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Flipboard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Free food - Great people

    Cons

    - Poor management - Understaffed as people have been leaving and no interest in filling the roles (not that anyone should join at this stage) - Shut down when asked for budget to go to conference - Travel policy for interoffice work is great on paper, but then you have to argue for them to actually respect it - Userbase dwindling and poor product experience - Underpaid - offered substantial raise after deciding... to leave

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Shut it down. Morale is low and product experience is getting poorer by the minute. People give their life to the company and their returns are diminishing.

    Flipboard2018-08-12
  10. "Wonderful culture, exciting product."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advertising Partnerships in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flipboard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fully transparent workplace with an outstanding product.

    Cons

    I see no downside to this company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the level of transparency high because it makes everyone's job more fulfilling.

    Flipboard2018-04-19
Found 34 reviews