Flight Centre Travel Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Flight Centre Travel Group Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1040 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Flight Centre Travel Group CEO Graham "Skroo" Turner
Graham "Skroo" Turner
532 Ratings
Pros
  • "Employee benefits ranging from health and wellbeing support to financial advice and travel perks(in 47 reviews)

  • "Work hard play hard company ethos(in 46 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "The best comapny ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employees are extremely valued in this company we are not numbers

    Cons

    Nothing really bad to say

    Advice to Management

    good management

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-01-11
  2. "Experience builder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Travel perks with colleagues Growth potential

    Cons

    Long hour Very low wages High school mentality

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-06-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Funneling Corporate Kool-Aid Down Your Throat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of time and money is spent to helping you succeed. This was easily the most thorough and elaborate training process I've ever been through. Travel Agent incentives are in place to keep you motivated.

    Cons

    If you DO win a travel agent incentive, unfortunately, there will be a lot of times where you can't even take the trips. All-Expenses Paid trips are great, but not when the company doesn't let you take them. And eventually, the trips expire. Very counter-intuitive. Your commission/pay checks, will vary greatly on where you are placed in retail. If you are lucky, you'll be placed in a successful store and make tons...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to complaints. Don't just bury them in a pile of paperwork.

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-05-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not a good job if you have a conscience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Big on team spirit, lots of support from staff and higher up when needed. There are travel perks if you work hard for it.

    Cons

    Flight Centre makes it's money from ripping off customers, and this is (of course) not something you are told during the 3 weeks of training. Once you are in the store and working, you start to find out how things work. It's called 'marking up' when selling someone a flight or travel experience. There are no guidelines, my management would tell me 'just throw out a random number and see how they take it'. Profit margins...

    Show More
    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-05-18
  5. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time

    Pros

    Perks Coworkers Vacation time Staff appreciation Incentives

    Cons

    Salary Work life balance Hours Sales targets Training

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-05-13

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    May 21, 2019Recruitment Leader

    Thank you for sharing your experience of working for Flight Centre. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your time with us. As with all current employee reviews, we will take on board your constructive feedback.

  6. "Great people, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time

      Pros

      Enjoyable work environment, good company culture

      Cons

      Leadership are not good managers

      Flight Centre Travel Group2019-04-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "RUN AWAY"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Travel Consultant in Toronto, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Working with like-minded people. Lots of travel perk opportunities IF you can afford it

      Cons

      LOW PAY- Management is a total mess - they push heavy drinking on their staff to keep them engaged and give them an "experience". They want you to drink the kool-aid but it is NOT worth it. I would stay far away from this corrupt company.

      Flight Centre Travel Group2019-05-22
    • "FCTG Canada"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Awesome travel perks company culture commission if you've established a great client base.

      Cons

      Work life balance Coolaid effect if you don't follow it salary (if you're in a slower area) Certain people put into management roles that shouldn't be in them.

      Flight Centre Travel Group2019-03-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Don't do it to yourself"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Man in Toronto, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      I was able to travel often, benefits, a great community of colleagues

      Cons

      Terrible management, gaslighting of employees, forced unpaid overtime, shockingly low wages, forced alcoholic binge "buzz nights"

      Flight Centre Travel Group2019-04-03
    • "Travel Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time

        Pros

        Great culture, perks and learning opportunities

        Cons

        poor work life balance

        Flight Centre Travel Group2019-03-25
      Found 1040 reviews