Five9 Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Five9 Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
81%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Five9 CEO Rowan Trollope
Rowan Trollope
27 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Still no 401K match, but I hear it is coming next year :-)(in 22 reviews)

  • "no 401k match and very little vacation time which feels very old tech(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best company I have worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer - Platform 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Five9 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent life/work balance Wonderful pay Company is doing great and stock is going up rapidly Amazing E staff

    Cons

    Some services are still legacy but new VP of technology is taking necessary measures to improve that.

    Five92019-02-28
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Five9 for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong Executive staff generally great culture.

    Cons

    Line of sight to career growth

    Advice to Management

    Move faster to provide AI capabilities.

    Five92019-12-10
  3. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Manager in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Five9 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some of the best work I had in my career was with this company.

    Cons

    Need to work out more on benefits.

    Five92019-12-11
  4. "Great workplacee, investing in improving development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Five9 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, commitment to invest in Product Division,

    Cons

    New to cloud computing, still learning the ropes.

    Five92019-11-29
  5. "lots of opportunities to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Five9 full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - lots of learning - interesting projects on the edge of technology - growth opportunities - new tech management with big ideas - talented engineers that you can learn from and discuss - great benefits and company overall growth (check FIVN stock chart)

    Cons

    - some "politics" like it is everywhere in this size of the company - office space is boring, no fun stuff - no snacks in kitchen, no food (except Friday lunch)

    Advice to Management

    let's have more drive and fun, most of our activities and outings are quite boring.

    Five92019-11-18
  6. "Time off policies are stingy and unfair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Ramon, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Five9 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Generally a good company. Nice people to work with.

    Cons

    They force you to use your earned vacation time to take off Christmas week even if you don’t celebrate. You only get three weeks of time off (after a year) to use for sick time, vacation, family issues and Christmas week. This makes maintaining a good work/life balance hard. The requirement to take earned time for Christmas week wasn’t mentioned in my interviews or even when I had my Onboarding.

    Five92019-11-20
  7. "Coders are undervalued, lot of paper pushers running show"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Ramon, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Five9 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible time, ESPP, RSU, $500 match for 401k

    Cons

    Developers or real code writers are backbone for any company, are treated like very lowly. However paper pushers who have no iota of knowledge of how s/w is are controlling teams program and prod managers, even lot of old time engineers does not know how to code.

    Advice to Management

    Rowan has to understand that silicon valley companies innovate and grow when there are more coders in team than paper pushers. Stock market is rewarding five9ers now but will not in future if you don't innovate and bring developers to forefront.

    Five92019-11-19
  8. "Growing young company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Five9 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Solidly in that aggressive growth stage a few years removed from IPO. Company culture empowers people to have input and work hard towards common goals.

    Cons

    Still working out some of the kinks while figuring out how to handle really rapid customer and employee growth.

    Five92019-11-18
  9. "Leader in cloud call center market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Five9 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good product team, clever and experienced top management.

    Cons

    Not a lot of rocket science tech tasks in every engineer department.

    Five92019-10-25
  10. "Mixed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mandaluyong City
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Five9 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company line of business has a great upside.

    Cons

    More transparency would be greatly appreciated.

    Advice to Management

    Better handling of honest feedback and suggestions

    Five92019-10-26
Found 136 reviews