FireEye Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

FireEye Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Mar 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
47%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
FireEye CEO/Board Member Kevin Mandia
Kevin Mandia
23 Ratings
  1. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FireEye full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall good work life balance

    Cons

    No cons I can think

    FireEye2020-03-10
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Keep off this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Milpitas, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FireEye full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment, work life balance

    Cons

    No vision, no direction, no brain storming

    Continue reading
    FireEye2020-03-09
  3. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Software Engineer 

    I have been working at FireEye full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexibility, work from home when needed, smart people

    Cons

    PM is really slow and reactive

    FireEye2019-11-06
  4. "Solid place to work, interesting products, good challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FireEye full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Interesting work - Chance to work with a variety of languages/tech - Good compensation - Flexibility

    Cons

    - Requirements can change quickly and without warning - Can be hard to keep up with rapidly adjusting customer demands

    FireEye2019-11-05
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software QA Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FireEye full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you are new to security domain it will be interesting. Good health care benefits

    Cons

    The work environment is not positive Nothing new to learn in many teams Most of the intra team meeting are long wastes lot of time.

    FireEye2019-09-17
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Avoid engineering like the plague"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FireEye full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Higher than average pay, restricted stock grants.

    Cons

    Pays for health insurance. But won't pay the ~$50/year it costs to maintain a 401k account. Repeatedly hires one team to develop a product, lets them go, then has to hire a second team to maintain the product. Except the second team has no historical knowledge of why a product was made the way it was, and may take twice as long to do anything. Extreme politics with managers trying to undermine each other. Deadlines are repetitively missed by several months with no one penalized. Workers in Sales, QA, etc., will privately discuss how they expect product launches to crash and burn. But they will not escalate anything to management "because that's how FireEye does things." They even may discuss when they expect you to be laid off, as well as their own expected last day.

    Continue reading
    FireEye2019-08-17
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Apply brakes...going down a slippery slope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FireEye full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great products, good autonomy in coding and working for the greater good. Work life balance and working from home option is a good productivity and creativity booster.

    Cons

    India site upper mgmt seems to be in an ivory tower. Motivation and leadership skills are absent. When the going gets tough the leadership goes silent !! All hands are sheer waste of time. Losing it sheen day by day. 2019 has been really bad with most hiring happening at fresh grad levels only leading to work overload on the seniors. Career growth is a thing of the past. Need to pull up socks or perish by losing great talent to competition

    Continue reading
    FireEye2019-07-19
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Hard time staying here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FireEye full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is struggling but still have the ability to strive back and get back on its feet. But due to constant change in leadership, and strategies, it's not able to do so Variety of technologies, unique challenges and helpful to gain cyber security experience Good perks as free lunch, work-life balance and typical MNC environment

    Cons

    Senior management in Bangalore office is too incompetent to stand for its people. No more than just puppets who stay in this company due to sheer politics. Most of my colleagues have left but they didn't blink an eye. HR people are doing a good job painting a good fake picture of Bangalore office where everybody is having fun in events. Truth is no one cares. They are the only ones in the event photos. They come up with useless policies like car lease. Nobody uses them. A piece of advice for someone who is appearing for interviews here. If you want to get hired here, just ask the least money possible. They don't care about talent. They haven't processed even one of my more than 20 referrals (Otherwise how their consultancy alliance would work) so far in last year most of whom are working at far better companies than FireEye. This double-dealing should stop immediately.

    Continue reading
    FireEye2019-06-08

    FireEye Response

    June 14, 2019HR Program Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to know that you think we provide an opportunity to work on latest technologies and are at the forefront of cybersecurity. Also that you think that the company has good future potential. However, it’s regretful that you do not like some of the aspects of the workplace. We have an ‘Open Door’ policy and we truly believe in being approachable by any of our employees at any point of time. We encourage you to reach out to us and would suggest you to have a conversation about your concerns. In terms of policies, car lease policy has been received well and we have seen 50% growth in sign-ups this year alone. There have been some other benefits enhancement as well very recently. Our hiring from external agencies is less than 30% and referrals continue to be encouraged . Again, if you share information about your referrals which were not processed with an appropriate team, it will help to remedify the process or clarify any issues.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Poor salaries and work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FireEye full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free lunch and good leaves

    Cons

    Micro management at its peak Incompetent lower and higher management

    FireEye2019-07-18
  10. "About"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FireEye full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment, fexible working hours, good pay.

    Cons

    Campus is not very spacious.

    FireEye2019-04-07
Found 61 reviews