Fidelity Investments Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jan 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Fidelity Investments CEO Abby Johnson
Abby Johnson
4,356 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and strong culture(in 984 reviews)

  • "They have the best work life balance(in 925 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance may depend on the Business unit(in 226 reviews)

  • "Poor transparency from upper management(in 125 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Don't waste your time here

      Oct 25, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Coworkers are friendly and helpful - External educational courses are covered

      Cons

      - Compensation is far below industry average and there is absolutely no negotiating with HR. As you move up, your salary increase is a fixed percentage on top of your current salary so if you come in with a low salary you'll never make much regardless of the position you move up to. - Bloated middle and upper management. Lots of directors, VPs, and SVPs with no apparent purpose. - Senior management is old and just waiting to retire. They don't want to take any risks or implement any changes. The company is a slow moving dinosaur. - The company is still very sexist and racist. Still predominantly run by old white men.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Indifference and Abuse

      Sep 1, 2020 - 529 College Planning Specialist in American Fork, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I made some friendships while I was there. Everything related to my actual job was horrible.

      Cons

      The upper management all sort of do there own things and have their own expectations, creating confusion throughout the company. I don't think Abby really has control over some of her subordinates. Site management changed every year that I was there, adding to the confusion. Team managers have entirely too much power and there is very little recourse given to appeal their decisions or seek redress of grievances when they act in an inappropriate manner. The pay is well below industry standards and while you are able to make lateral movements within the company, moving up is EXTREMELY difficult. Pay raises rarely keep up with inflation and while I was there our variable comp was changed making it impossible for anyone to meet the new standards. My pay went down a couple of thousand dollars per year as a result. HR is not responsive and negligent at times. I went an entire year without insurance because I was somehow disenrolled in the plan that I signed up for when I got hired on. HR knew that this mistake had happened and it was documented in their system, but they didn't do anything in time to correct the problem despite my contant pressuring them. The company became even less invested in its employees during my time, essentially turning from a somewhat tolerable work experience into just another high turnover, turn and burn call center.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Sweatshop

      Jan 6, 2021 - Customer Relationship Advocate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Room for growth, their licensing progam, and benefits (only if you stay long enough to keep them)

      Cons

      Mandatory over time, literally no work life balance, never ending calls and rude customers, and upper management who literally states they do not care about you

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work and get your sea legs in the investment/retirement planning world.

      Sep 16, 2020 - Workplace Planning Consultant I in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      support and development benefits are strong great match and profit sharing

      Cons

      political at times from upper management hiring freezes can cause delayed promotions no matter how qualified or successful

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Internship at fidelity

      Aug 17, 2020 - Software Engineer Intern in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They treat. all their workers incredible. The atmosphere is extremely comfortable and everybody is provided with state of the art equipment.

      Cons

      As an intern I didn't really see any cons, but I also knew nothing about upper management. but from what I heard and saw everybody seemed pretty happy.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Great company

      Aug 5, 2020 - Director, Software Engineering in Westlake, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      energetic technologists, great community, dress code changed to jeans/polo all the time as of a few years ago, great gym and caff.

      Cons

      upper management sometimes seems more interested in "owning" decision making authority over ensuring the best decisions are made. frequent changes in tech stack directives

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great company

      Aug 9, 2020 - Asset Management Intern in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work/life balance and flexibility

      Cons

      Poor transparency from upper management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Great Benefits; Garbage Growth Opportunity

      Aug 6, 2020 - Customer Relationship Advocate in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits 401k match Good PTO/VTO Easy paycheck; no brain strain

      Cons

      Call center job No opportunity for career growth outside of the call center Indifferent upper management Boring and repetitive Reduced to a number and your stats No opportunity for projects/collaboration Soulless Information poorly communicated to front line representatives

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      the best place to start your career

      Apr 9, 2019 - SYSTEMS SERVICES and SUPPORT ANALYST in Merrimack, NH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - great benefits - flexible work schedule (depending on your team, you could have the opportunity to work from home) - lots of training opportunities - a culture that encourages career growth and movement - no dress code, definitely a relaxed company that's focused on what matters: the customers and the services

      Cons

      - some benefits take up to a year to kick in - base pay could be more competitive - leadership expects folks at the team level to be agile, but they don't drive agility amongst themselves - there's little communication among upper management to each other on what their teams are working on to prevent duplication of efforts... you could probably find 3 or 4 tools across the BUs that do the same exact thing

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Very Disappointed

      Jul 23, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Covington, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None that would out weigh the cons

      Cons

      It all begins with job satisfaction, people in general tend to do jobs they enjoy and are passionate about even if pay is lacking, but fidelity has clearly missed the mark. A volume based discount broker call center where even team leads (managers) are frustrated with leadership. Upper management is not there to help build a profitable successful environment but make sure numbers on spread sheet are met. 95% of the people I worked with actively are unhappy with their current job and only stay so they can get their 5 year vesting. I’m truthfully dumbfounded at the lack of communication with management down to reps. I’m disappointed to say I wasted so much time at the company and missed valuable opportunity actually being able to advise build relationships. This company the last two years had tried to put a square peg into a round hole and has lost a lot of talented people. This will continue to be the trend because Fidelity is slow pace when it comes to change. Culture there was absolutely horrible with people just struggling through daily life and I hope those who read this can take this as a warning! Unless you are absolutely desperate or doubt mind being an un valued easy replaceable cog in the Fidelity machine you can do so much better..

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 125 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Fidelity Investments Job Seekers

    Business Development Associate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Fidelity Investments? Share Your Experiences

    Fidelity Investments logo
    or