Favor Employee Reviews about "runners"

Updated Sep 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 of over 553 reviews

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Favor Chief Executive Officer, President Jag Bath (no image)
Jag Bath
182 Ratings
Pros
  • "Favor allows for a very flexible schedule, as you can work whenever you want(in 44 reviews)

  • "Flexible Hours, decent pay minimums(in 22 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "They pretend to care and love their runners but they really don't(in 32 reviews)

  • "Not the greatest amount of money, no pay to recompense the wear and tear on your vehicle(in 28 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "runners"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Current Freelancer, more than 1 year

      Stresfull Is The Word, If You Are Desperate Then You Work It

      Sep 4, 2020 - Runner in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you are lucky you can get 10$ tip for 25 min run, and that makes you happy, but its just an illusion. You are not trapped in one place of work.

      Cons

      10-15$ average an hour for 30 min driving, 15 min waiting for order, and 15 min trying to get into the building which is a lot!!! Imagine being taxi driver, means random trips to different parts of the town you don't know (means traffic problems, parking) then postman( looking for ways to enter the building, always different ways!) then customer service (dealing with customers, who are demanding) Very stressful job, dealing with merchants and staff that are not understanding, how its like to deal with them and their floss for the whole day. (they mess up the order, and you get kicks for it, they are not as nice to you as to the regular customer, because you don't tip, so they don't need to be fake with you) Method how customers are paying for delivery is tragic. Customer thinks that he pays for the company, and we are working on some schedule, so after 30 min run they will tip you 2$, and you may end up getting 8$ per hour!!! Sad to see sweaty and unhappy runners, who need to pay their rent, making 10$/h

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

      Perfect for being in between jobs.

      Mar 13, 2020 - Food Runner 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'm using a different name and picture than I use on Favor so customers cannot link me to what I have to say. The pros to this job: I usually pull in $10 hour whenever I work. I avoid crowded areas (yes I said that correctly) because I figured EVERYONE is working those areas so if it's just me in a more dead area, I tend to get my $10 an hour back to back. Sometimes making $15 an hour since I am the only one and I work fast. I never have to wait around during a 6hour straight shift. This job is perfect if you're in between jobs tbh. If you use this as a full time career, I feel bad for your vehicle unless you do the bicycle thing, also there's no 401k, ya gonna be a runner at 70yrs old? You can work your own hours outside of 3am early AM. I work from 9pm to 3am because I hate crowded crap and dinner rushes. Oh and the sun. And I have no issues pulling in an easy $60-$100 a night. I have many face piercings and many tats but I am awesome at customer service so I always brighten up someone's day. But, nobody will hire me because of my looks, even with my degree and badass resume due to tats/piercings still having an outdated stigma about them in the professional market So the point to all this, favor accepts everyone. That's pretty much it for the pros.

      Cons

      This is where it gets ugly. I just bought myself a car with 90k miles, which drove like it was brand new, beautiful car!! I have 109k miles on it now, breaks are squeaking bad. Shifts to the right when I drive straight, and my heater/a/c makes my engine sound like a cat is being chopped up in it. This happened within 2 months working for favor. I don't have extra money to fix anything. I am running it dead until I have nothing... Thanks favor for helping out a badass and highly reviewed runner. P.O.Sht.. I appreciate taking me in when I really needed it but truth is, we're all just cockroaches to the company. They pretend to care and love their runners but they really don't. They just wanna pump you up. You are on your own here. Also, the $9 an hour guaranteed thing, I've tried that out a few times and right when my shift was about to start, my shift was cleared because it was no longer needed. This was my experience. Dunno about others. I stick to strictly my own hours now and it works out way better for me. Last thing and this is my biggest peeve. *cusses a lot here* customers sometimes ask for a meal 20mins away, I get there, and they live 15mins farther from it. So, driving 35 mins + time to get food = $2 tip. I'm a huge considerate person but I pray one of these people don't ever catch me on a bad night... We deliver your food and we remember where you live.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. The latest conversations about Tech

      Join the conversation on

      Tech

      1y

      a 

      Sales Engineer

      Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

      499

      179 Comments

      Tech

      32.7K Members 

      Ask candid career questions

      -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-integrated-Reviews&utm_term=Favor~823626
      Join the conversation on
    4. 2.0
      Former Freelancer, more than 1 year

      Favor was good until things changed

      Sep 4, 2018 - Runner in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Scheduling was pretty easy, pay was decent

      Cons

      Runner support people were rude most of the time. To many runners in the market area so you had to do a large number of deliveries to make any money, large geographic "neighborhoods" means lots of gas and miles on your car

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Freelancer, less than 1 year

      Don't buy into the hype

      Aug 14, 2018 - Runner in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, daily deposits, and you get to learn about some hot restaurants

      Cons

      I worked for Favor for 8 months and tere still is not a customer service number for runners when they have issues with tips. There is only an email and they take days before they respond. You will get $2 tips for driving 10 miles to deliver a cheeseburger. The algorithm with the app will send you the opposite direction you're actually headed. Your acceptance percentage will suffer when you don't take orders, which will cause orders to come in a lot slower. You'll average one delivery per hour if that...Not worth the gas and wear-and-tear on your car.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Freelancer, more than 1 year

      Hard to get information

      Mar 10, 2018 - Delivery Driver in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None yet as it is hard to get started!

      Cons

      Very had to get information. Easy to find contact for customers but hard to find it for runners. I'd like to drive but have no idea how I get paid and I can't sign on because I need some 4 digit code that isn't getting sent to me!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Freelancer, more than 1 year

      Needs improvement for runners

      Jan 31, 2018 - Runner in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Flexible hours - Business model has potential

      Cons

      - Runners must rely too much on tips for income. - No compensation for miles driven or gas. No incentive to take runs further than 2-3 miles in totality. - Difficult to get on a schedule. - Average of $9/hr is gross and doesn’t take into consideration overhead operating costs. - Minimum tip is too low at $2. You could do a 1 hour run and make only $4.10 gross in that hour for your time and effort.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Freelancer

      Beware

      Feb 12, 2018 - Runner in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Making your own hours is definitely a plus only when on schedule

      Cons

      Please beware the following : 1. If you are not on the schedule you will likely make less than minimum wage, apprx. $4 an hour, see below: As of this morning I have 3 - 4 'unfunded' Favors, this happens when the users don't tip you. If they don't tip within 24 hours Favor auto bills the customer only $2 regardless of the time it took to complete the Favor or its difficulty. So literally 3 of my 4 Favors from this past Friday will be $2 plus the delivery fee of $2 meaning I will be making about $4 an hour. (Wondering if this is legal, even if I was 'on call'...) 2. The customers can review you, however you can't review the customers. This means the folks above that are the ones Favor forces to tip can continue to abuse Runners. I live in Houston, and we are not a generous people here. Wouldn't it be nice if Runners could review those tipping them to watch out for the abusers? 3. Lastly, the zones need a lot of work in the Houston metro. This is the largest city, so far as city limits go, geographically in the U.S. The average Favor here takes about 45 minutes and uses up gas and the aforementioned time of the Runner. Those zones must be shrunk or I am confident, Favor will lose out here in Houston, TX. Why, because it appears that the app is set up disproportionately in favor (no pun here) of the customer and this is at the literal expense of the Runners.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Unprofitable Company Mistreats Employees

      Feb 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent hours Some good perks (free food) Decent benefits

      Cons

      Company often operates in the red but acts like this is normal. Unprofessional, incompetent people are hired to deal with runners and customers High turnover Terrible pay

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Runner

      Jan 2, 2018 - Runner in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are a lot of perks such as making your own schedule, getting to be your own boss, and getting to know the city you're driving in. There is also a $9/hour guarantee when you get on the schedule in time to select your hours in advance.

      Cons

      In my experience, you really have to stack up hours with favor in order to truly make a profit with how much money you lose in gas and occasional parking fees. Runners are often looked down upon at restaurants because we can't tip the people serving our customers. In addition, the orders from customers are often vague, and you're left having to ask several questions on their preferences, and I often have instances where they are slow to answer. This serves a challenge when I'm at a busy restaurant with a line out the door behind me. Hours can also be hard to claim in smaller towns like San Marcos, because there's such a large amount of runners. It can also be tricky when you have little information about the restaurant, sometimes I may get an order during rush hour downtown, and I'm stuck spending extra time searching for parking, and causing it to take a much longer time.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    11. 3.0
      Current Contractor

      Runner Mentor

      Dec 23, 2017 - Anonymous Contractor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ability to control schedule which allows flexibility for other job opportunities

      Cons

      Pay is inconsistent - you will not get paid every business as the runners do

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 31 Reviews

    Work at Favor? Share Your Experiences

    or