Favor Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Favor Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
51%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Favor Chief Executive Officer, President Jag Bath (no image)
Jag Bath
27 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Runners are often looked down upon at restaurants because we can't tip the people serving our customers(in 30 reviews)

  • "Wear and tear on your car can get pricey(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "nice and all but need client"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Photo Editor in Laval, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Favor part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    if you want to be free

    Cons

    need to attract client

    Continue reading
    Favor2020-01-14
  2. "Not the place to climb the corporate ladder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Favor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The new HQ in Austin is very much a "buzz-worthy" office. - HEB stocks the kitchen. - There's plenty of good snacks and lunch provided some days. - HEB offers in-store discounts.

    Cons

    - The company has grown massively over the years and has lost most of it's "start-up" environment. Post HEB acquisition, many outside leaders were hired. The company tries to encourage the old start up culture, however the new hires are much older, more experienced and come from more corporate backgrounds. The new Favor hires, along with a shared office with HEB tech employees has led to mostly a corporate environment. - The amount of work volume is very high, and most roles are extremely demanding. The company pays at "market rate", however, the demand and expectations are much higher than those with similar titles else where - AKA the stress makes the compensation very much mediocre. The company continues to receive and address feedback about low pay but has never taken any action. - In addition to an increasingly corporate environment and disheartening compensation, the company is internally infamous for lacking in promotions. If you're looking at a role in support, do not expect to move out of support - it's nearly impossible. - The company very obviously plays favorites. It's very clear that you must be in the "cool clique" to get treated fairly. - Parking is horrendous. Overall: Great place to work if you're looking for employment in a tech environment in Austin. Not the place to coast on an easy-going role with fair pay. If you're looking to gain experience and climb the corporate ladder, please do not waste your time even looking at positions with Favor.

    Continue reading
    Favor2020-02-18
  3. "Kind of a joke."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Favor full-time

    Pros

    Beautiful office, tons of food, decent perks, social events (if you like drinking).

    Cons

    This place is growing more delusional by the day. Strategy feels very disorganized and management turmoil is out in the open. The business is underperforming and it turns out that on-demand delivery is a broken, unethical business. Who knew! With competitors getting billions in funding, it's hard to believe that Favor can do anything to catch up - we pay drivers less, are understaffed in key areas, and support is in shambles. LOTS of turnover (voluntary and terminations), including at the leadership level...departures aren't announced and feel swept under the rug. Favoritism (no pun intended) runs rampant and the patriarchy is alive and well. If you're in, you're in. If you're not, go find another job. "Culture," socialization, and team building are hugely based on alcohol consumption. There is no growth framework and no structured potential for earnings increases unless you're one of the lucky few. They'll expect you to be a martyr, "fight like hell," and be available 24/7, but unless you're one of the fortunate ones, it's going to get you nowhere. Lots of empty promises and no guarantees. HR is really ineffective. The few people in place are very inexperienced and are too buddy-buddy with managers. It's hard to trust their motives and things just don't change. Don't get distracted by the beautiful office and partnership with H-E-B. This place is overcompensating, HARD.

    Favor2020-02-11
  4. "No respect for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Favor

    Pros

    Young vibrant feel Free food on occassion

    Cons

    They laid people off over the phone without notice They do not allow growth within the company

    Favor2020-02-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good people, room for improvement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Specialist in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Favor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Daily meals, lots of snacks, vegan friendly, security is top notch, HEB perks.

    Cons

    Not alot of structure in the company, no career advancement opportunities yet, Support Specialis t role is highly demanding.

    Favor2019-11-08
  6. "Good in between job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Favor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will meet great people

    Cons

    It’s hard to get promoted out of support

    Continue reading
    Favor2019-10-29
  7. "Not equal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Favor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks and drinks. There is also reimbursement for transit.

    Cons

    You have to be in the buddy system

    Favor2019-10-26
  8. "Diminishing quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Favor

    Pros

    Set your own hours to work

    Cons

    Schedule in Houston all drops at the same time which overloads the favor servers.

    Continue reading
    Favor2019-10-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Favor Care Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Favor

    Pros

    Good culture, great people, good benefits

    Cons

    Not much room for growth, disorganized support org

    Continue reading
    Favor2019-10-16
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Detailed Perspective from a Software Eng"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Favor full-time

    Pros

    Post HEB-acquisition, Favor has been taking off like a rocket, and in my view, the fears of a corporate take over have been pretty unfounded. We now share a space with the HEB digital team in a really state-of-the-art tech hub. You get great amenities (e.g. catered food everyday except Wednesdays). There are Friday beer events and workplace socials that a lot of people actually go to. Work environment is fantastic, and I personally know many engineers who worked their way into the team through hard work (e.g. started out as support and through a few role changes ended up in engineering); So, Favor is very conducive to horizontal and vertical career mobility from everything I've seen (and glancing at the Favors career page, it seems like they make a big point of this, but it really is true). In terms of the tech, the consumer clients (e.g. mobile and web apps) are built with modern stacks. Back-end is mostly in PHP (yuck, you can blame it on a decision made MANY years ago), but besides that we have a microservices architecture and development pipeline that are modern. Favor makes a big deal about their values - and we have favor salutes, which basically means you can nominate some1 who you believes embodies a core value. And many of these nominees are recognized at the town halls and win prizes (yes, yes it is VERY gamified, but I honestly love it).

    Cons

    From a broader perspective, the vast majority of companies have problems focusing (actually Favor famously had to pull out of every state except of Texas many years back). Favor doesn't have that problem anymore, and has a rare sense of focus. But the thing is that Favor will likely ONLY be in Texas...well...maybe forever? From a tech company perspective, having only 1 market (albeit a BIG one) in our roadmap feels rather demoralizing? Furthermore, while we are growing like crazy, it almost goes without saying we are in a VERY competitive space against Doordash and Uber Eats. They have MASSIVE, MASSIVE advantages of economies of scale and name recognition that a regional company like Favor doesn't have. Also, we are only to get diminishing returns as we start to 'saturate' Texas, even in the best-case scenario. While the short and medium term outlooks are bright, I'm not so sure about the long-term. I don't want to end on such a grim note (and really my gripes have more to do on a very, very high macro-level). Favor is an INCREDIBLE company to work for (I've worked at many and can say that). The people are smart and fantastic - and the principles that guide the company are truly ones that we try to live out.

    Continue reading
    Favor2019-08-31

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 92 reviews