Farmers Insurance Group Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 291 of over 4,533 reviews

3.7
63%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Farmers Insurance Group CEO Jeff Dailey
Jeff Dailey
1,762 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company is very focused on work/life balance(in 185 reviews)

  • "great company with great benefits(in 172 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I have no complaints on farmers(in 269 reviews)

  • "Could improve work life balance culture(in 110 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great benefits and company culture.

      Nov 15, 2021 - Director Analytics in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, benefits, blended work, compensation, Interesting work

      Cons

      Agile implementation, too many meetings, Work life balance, internal social media platform

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Avoid this company unless you're in dire need of a job

      Nov 3, 2021 - Customer Service Advocate II 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They will license you, and pay for classes. I did not need to be licensed at the time of hiring, but they required me to sit through licensing classes. Three day weekend.

      Cons

      This is without a doubt the worst position I have ever worked in the insurance industry. I took the job because I was attempting to relocate and they were hiring. The turnover is pretty insane, in just two months the "team" I'd been placed on reduced it's number from 9 agents to 4. We did not hire additional agents for our team during this time. In the beginning, I couldn't understand why anybody would want to quit. Training made it seem like Farmers was such a great place to work. They had "peer testimonials" regularly about how great it was working at Farmers. I think, in hindsight, I should have recognized that there was a reason why they were constantly hammering in the fact that "they were a great place to work." (I later learned that "peer testimonials", "new hire ambassador" and fun terms like that are actually an excuse to escape the phones for a few hours a day). They do a great job insulating you from how awful management is, and can be, until you're shifted onto your team. It took about three months total until the wool was pulled from my eyes (consequently that was immediately after leaving training). Farmers is heavy handed in just about every approach, and has basically zero accountability. There is little to no recourse when you have a manager who decides to nitpick and criticize all of your calls. I can tell you that 99.9% of the insureds I spoke to left satisfied with the outcome of my calls, and this was reflected in my surveys. The odd bad review I got was actually in reference to a Farmers issue, that the insured was upset with (for example, a claim that the insured was upset about). I was not an adjustor and could not discuss claims and so I would have to conference adjustors in. Unfortunately, almost all of my calls were nitpicked to shreds by my manager, who seemed to show very little appreciation for the fact that we were bogged with calls and had very little time between. By very little time, what I mean is no time at all. Calls came in immediately after the one you were on resolved. The large majority of people who called in were frustrated and venting their anger on you. It was demoralizing to a great extent having both the insureds yelling at you daily, and management always having a critique no matter how well you did. It felt like there was little in the way of winning. Also, you know it's a bad place to work when the majority of employees exhaust their PTO before the end of the year and management does their rounds to remind you "to be careful about your PTO so it doesn't affect your work/life balance"). They say they offer things like flex time, but it's really not very reasonable. And look, most shifts get three days off a week. But you're going to need those three days off just to get back in the right mental headspace to go through another four days of twelve hours back-to-back of getting yelled at incessantly, and your manager nitpicking every one of your calls. It doesn't help that my manager was a serial power tripper, and seemed to sadistically enjoy making you feel like you could be doing more even if you poured your SOUL into your last call. They'll write you up for ANYTHING, especially if they don't like you. Anything, trust me. Go idle for two-three minutes? Your manager is checking in with you. Doesn't matter if you have to go to the bathroom. You'd better not be unaccounted for, for more than 10 minutes in your entire twelve hour shift without having to hear it from your manager. Yes, you do get break times but you don't always align your bathroom needs with said break times, and the fact that they plainly asked is pretty ridiculous. It got so bad that I actually quit with nothing lined up because Farmers was so horrendously soul consuming. I know of several people who needed to see a therapist after the GASLIGHTING that Farmers Management loves to employ. Yes, it's that bad. To be honest, I gave Farmers one last chance; when the shift bid came up, I had bid for another manager. The results finalized, and my current manager held a meeting implying that I would be remaining on her team despite never having bid for her shift. Turns out the other manager quit because of how terrible the office culture was. I followed pretty immediately after. Oh, they sent me a bill for $800+ of "overpaid wages" three months after I left. What a horrible, horrible place to work.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      No Diversity in tier 3 AZ Liability

      Nov 9, 2021 - Liability Claims Adjuster in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Large stable company with a lot of experienced leaders

      Cons

      No diversity in several departments and work life balance is not really promoted or talked about

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Decent Job

      Nov 8, 2021 - Customer Service Advocate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good hours, work life balance, 401k

      Cons

      Management, bonuses, favoritism plays a huge role

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Farmers insurance is good but not great

      Oct 20, 2021 - Quality Assurance Consultant in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance, pay, communication.

      Cons

      Long hours expected, some micromanaging environments.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Soft Dev

      Oct 29, 2021 - Software Developer in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * good benefits * job security

      Cons

      * management is not up to par with tech * work life balance * too many contractors * not much diversity

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Just an ok company

      Oct 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent work life balance at times.

      Cons

      Poor leadership, mom-and-pop insurance company compared to others.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Company in shambles

      Oct 29, 2021 - Senior APD Field Appraiser 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and decent 401 k balance. Too bad with this stress no one is making it to retirement.

      Cons

      Overworked, under paid, no raises in 2020 and upper management tried to save money by forcing tons of workers out on a voluntary severance package. Did they consider who's going to handle claims after the fact? No, of course not. Now we're stretched so thin it's miserable. Zero work life balance and forced overtime just so you don't get fired and can try to keep your head above water. The stress of this job is almost too much and I am constantly looking to leave this company. Shame since I have been around for many many years. Look elsewhere is my advice.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place To Work

      Sep 21, 2021 - Agency Business Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Phenomenal growth opportunities, great products, flexible work/life balance.

      Cons

      . . . . .

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Going down the drain

      Oct 18, 2021 - Tier II Auto Claim Handler in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are good, and there is job security if you can handle a high-stress environment.

      Cons

      This place has gone down the drain. No work life balance. Everyone is quitting because the job is soul-sucking. This job is crushing people's mental health to where they have to see therapists. There's no appreciation for those that make it known they want to grow and develop within the company. It is all about politics. You are replaceable, and they will make sure you know it. The culture was great a few years ago and now it is horrible. Everything is about pinching pennies and adding extra steps to everything you do. Perfection is demanded.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 291 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Farmers Insurance Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Farmers Insurance Group? Share Your Experiences

    Farmers Insurance Group logo
    or