Fairmont Hotels & Resorts "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Fairmont Hotels & Resorts CEO William Fatt (no image)
William Fatt
265 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits package and a lot of opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    Nothing to report on this matter.

    Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-06-28
  2. "Foot in the door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reservation Sales Agent in Whistler, BC
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers and managers are very pleasant in general. From res you can move to groups / tours... then move to sales coordinator and then sales manager if you're good at talking to people. Lots of flexibility within the hotel / can transfer to other locations. If you have emotional intelligence you can move up quickly. Great room rates, sometimes >75% off BAR / f&b perks (50% off including alcohol). Good benefits, was $1500 in dental @ 80% for minor, 50% major. I think paramedical was covered up to $1000-1500 / calendar year. Some other benefits through Sunlife which was applicable after 2 years since the date of enrolment. Very easy to make friends if you're in a resort town. Friends loved the fact I could get them big discounts when traveling with me to other properties.

    Show More

    Cons

    Doesn't pay well, lack of job security. They expect too much for the pay. Nothing in hospitality pays well unless you have a job based on tips. Left the industry because of this and went into healthcare. If you want a career in hospitality, think long and hard about the lack of earnings vs the lifestyle (ie: beaches, skiing, hanging out at the lake, parties, etc). There is a dark side to the industry, ie: substance abuse. Lots of free spirited coworkers -- try to be self-aware and set limits for yourself. If you run into issues, don't be ashamed to seek help from a healthcare provider.

    Show More
    Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-10-22
  3. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent 

    I have been working at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, big chain, transfer opportunities within hotel industry.

    Cons

    Limited career advancement, pay rate is lower due to the industry

    Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-09-29
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, competitive wage, lots of training

    Cons

    Turn over rate is high

    Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-07-24
  5. "Great money and an alright time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Banquet Server in Ottawa, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Pay Long Breaks Laid Back Cheap Lunches/Dinner Good benefits like travel Higher end service Laid back management Good change room and laundry system

    Cons

    Seniority System Few and inconsistent hours More sub par workers than you would expect (mostly the longer serving ones) Not a very happy place Very hard to move up Management was stealing 3% of tips

    Advice to Management

    Scrap the seniority system Bring in younger people or people with more energy/positive attitude Renovate the cafeteria.

    Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-05-21
  6. Helpful (3)

    "They’ve lost their empathy for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook III in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits for the most part

    Cons

    Regularly refuse vacation and time off requests, citing business volumes but never planning ahead by hiring coverage staff, same song and dance about employees needing to band together and push through busy seasons promising to address the undue pressure on staff but never follow through. Burnout central, they just run people out until they snap and leave instead of respecting and working to keep great talent.

    Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-02-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Wish there was less drama"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, great coworkers.

    Cons

    Management needs some work! Horrible communication.

    Advice to Management

    Be a bit more understanding.

    Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2018-12-10
  8. "Guest Service Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Decent wages, great perks/discounts at hotels, good benefits

    Cons

    union environment, work with people that don't love there jobs anymore, get yelled at my guests with issues

    Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2018-10-15
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Very unorganized.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful hotel, mostly friendly staff, nice guests, good benefits for those that are able to use them.

    Cons

    I was hired for part-time (evenings) and ended up being scheduled all different hours but mostly mornings, 5-6 days per week. I feel they only told me what I needed to hear in the 3 separate interviews I had, then completely changed things after I was hired. Huge waste of their time and mine. I had to give my notice since the hours were not what I was looking for and I had been clear about this throughout my interviews.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No communication between departments and extremely unorganized. One manager tells you one thing, the other has no idea what's going on, someone else tells you something else, just craziness.

    Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2018-04-16
  10. "Banquet server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Banquet Server in Lake Louise, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Good benefits after 3 months full time employment with the company -Fun staff outings and team building -Subsidized housing (approx $300 per month) deducted biweekly off of pay -Staff cafeteria which provides one free meal per day -Destinations rates at other fairmont hotels around the world

    Cons

    -Long hours, sometimes working 12 hour days -New management, not a lot of direction

    Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2017-12-05
Found 39 reviews