Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Fairmont Hotels & Resorts CEO William Fatt (no image)
William Fatt
238 Ratings
  1. "Profession"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Room Attendant 

    I worked at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts part-time

    Pros

    A professional environment with experienced management

    Cons

    with the high salary, you have to work so hard

    Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-11-19
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Unionized workers are difficult and the union is very powerful

    Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-11-16
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have very fond memories of working at a Fairmont property. They were very engaged with their employees, offered great benefits and incentives, and listened to employees concerns.

    Cons

    High standards of service that they are strict about, so if you're not a perfectionist I could see this being challenging.

    Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-11-16
  4. "Corporate Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Lake Louise, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Considerable training and hotel perks/benefits

    Cons

    High turnover rates and difficulty moving up. Poor management due to high turnover rates (Chateau Lake Louise).

    Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-11-14
  5. "Hostess at Botanist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team to be apart of! Great atmosphere and good money

    Cons

    The managers were not technically trained and lacked experience

    Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-11-13
  6. "Fairmont is great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fairmont is one of the best companies that I've ever worked for. They have great benefits and the executive management truly shows that they cared for employees.

    Cons

    -It's hard at first because schedules are always based on seniority (which is always the case for hospitality industry) so you will have to be very flexible with your schedule to actually get hours.

    Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-11-12
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Room Attendant in Saint Andrews, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff and pay above minimum wage

    Cons

    workload can be a lot

    Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-11-12
  8. "Good if you can stick it out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Banquet Server 

    I worked at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of benefits once you get in

    Cons

    It's very hard to build a career here because you start at the bottom with 0 freedom, 0 choices, and they make it challenging to work there.

    Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-11-11
  9. "Amazing employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Conseiller Club Frontenac in Quebec, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Meals were provided - Great culture (friendly colleagues, although there is a hierarchy it is easy to speak to directors) - Salary - Benefits - Flexible work hours for students - Your opinion is valuable - Opportunity to grow in the company

    Cons

    - none on the spot

    Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-11-10
  10. "Excellent Work Environment and Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 

    I have been working at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair pay, flexible leadership, opinions matter

    Cons

    On-property team covers more than a fair share of remote workers' job responsibilities.

    Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-11-08
Found 810 reviews