Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 711 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
William Fatt
207 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and hotel discount(in 63 reviews)

  • "Good internship pay for a diploma student, good benefits such as annual leave and paid sick leaves(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes work long hours doing overtime but its not that bad(in 50 reviews)

  • "Not the greatest place for work life balance(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I want to work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Server in Toronto, ON

      I have been working at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I love people. I possess the gift of Service. I have Banquet Serving experience.

      Cons

      I do not submit any because there are no cons.

      Advice to Management

      I have a strong desire to serve others. I want to be paid for what I love to do! I want to work for you.

      Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-05-26
    • "One of the best places I have worked at"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Banquet Server in Vancouver, BC

        I have been working at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good perks, team spirit, food and overtime.

        Cons

        Banquets are a seasonal job

        Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-06-07
      • "Great experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nanaimo, BC
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        learn from the best

        Cons

        low pay for the workload

        Advice to Management

        more benifits

        Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-05-29
      • "Career Starter"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Assistant Food and Beverage Manager in Calgary, AB

        I worked at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        - Inclusive - Promotes from within - Employee recognition

        Cons

        - Disorganized - Tenured employees - Unionized

        Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-06-10
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Room Attendant 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Well paying job for hospitality industry and lots of perks working for company

        Cons

        Have to be flexible with working weekends and holidays

        Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-05-15
      • "Inspecting rooms"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Housekeeping Supervisor in Vancouver, BC
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Benefits plan Competitive rates Good cross training program

        Cons

        Fast pace environment, a lot of pressure

        Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-05-28
      • "Bartender"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Server/Bartender in La Malbaie, QC
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts full-time

        Pros

        the possibility of traveling around the globe

        Cons

        they have a big syndicate

        Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-05-12
      • "Personal Assistant to General Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts full-time

        Pros

        great people to work with. management value their employees

        Cons

        administrative tasks got boring at some point

        Advice to Management

        all good!

        Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-05-09
      • "Great money and an alright time"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Banquet Server in Ottawa, ON
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great Pay Long Breaks Laid Back Cheap Lunches/Dinner Good benefits like travel Higher end service Laid back management Good change room and laundry system

        Cons

        Seniority System Few and inconsistent hours More sub par workers than you would expect (mostly the longer serving ones) Not a very happy place Very hard to move up Management was stealing 3% of tips

        Advice to Management

        Scrap the seniority system Bring in younger people or people with more energy/positive attitude Renovate the cafeteria.

        Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-05-21
      • "Chef"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts full-time

        Pros

        Lots of challenges, support from team, highest pay in area!

        Cons

        Staffing is needed, 10 hour days 6 day weeks is not a good for retaining staff.

        Fairmont Hotels & Resorts2019-04-30
      Found 711 reviews