FRHI Hotels & Resorts Reviews

Updated May 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
FRHI Hotels & Resorts CEO William R. Fatt
William R. Fatt
36 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long Hours for some roles - but I guess that is one downside of working in hospitality(in 6 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance can be a challenge in hospitality(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Company culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great teamwork, focus on luxury product.

    Cons

    Working remote has challenges for day to day interaction

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2019-09-08
  2. "Great opportunity but not all you'd expect"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Ottawa, ON
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FRHI Hotels & Resorts part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I worked on amazing team and made some lifelong friends, including my guests. Great employee discount program, travel opportunities, benefits, and opportunity to earn money in tipped positions. Opportunity to work in a historic landmark, and meet famous people.

    Cons

    Employee-management relations tense and sometimes hostile. Communication strategies between and within my department need improvement; information gets lost and you have to be ready adapt on the spot or with almost no warning to changes in menus, pricing, opening and closing times, changes to policies and procedures etc. Long hours on weekends and holidays. Management will force you into overtime to cover staff shortages.

    Continue reading
    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2020-02-24
  3. "Pleasure to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeping Attendant in Windsor, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FRHI Hotels & Resorts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    To make people happy and communicate with them to express myself in real world.

    Cons

    Sometimes people feel more stress because of heavy workload

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2020-01-31
  4. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fairmont Gold Lounge Attendant 

    I worked at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Great work culture, great opportunities for growth within company

    Cons

    Can be stressful, sometimes understaffed

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2019-11-11
  5. "Good Company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Experience Coordinator in Banff, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training, good leadership scheme if you wish to further your career. Approachable management

    Cons

    Pay is below average if you aren't earning comission or tips

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2019-06-19
  6. "Bad Company Culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Not very busy in the summer. RRSP.

    Cons

    Demanding manager who followed `do as I say, not as I do` philosophy. Salary. Not able to work from home. Not being recognized for work. A lot of lazy employees.

    Continue reading
    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2019-02-06
  7. "Good company good benefit"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Housekeeper 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good pay and benefit. Collagues are good

    Cons

    Hard work physical job and confusing bossy management

    Continue reading
    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2018-11-06
  8. "Fairmont Family"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to know your coworkers really well and the office culture feels like family.

    Cons

    Payed lower salary than many competitor hotels in the same market.

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2018-09-25
  9. "Great Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very Friendly Staff Open Door Policy with Management Opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Very high turnover rate in administrative departments High Pressure (High Standards which is a pro)

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2018-09-02
  10. "Chief Steward"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chief Steward in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly and multi culture place to work

    Cons

    I really don't have one

    Continue reading
    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2018-03-05
Found 113 reviews