FRHI Hotels & Resorts Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

FRHI Hotels & Resorts Reviews

Updated Nov 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
FRHI Hotels & Resorts CEO William R. Fatt
William R. Fatt
33 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance can be a challenge in hospitality(in 6 reviews)

  • "Market positioning has changed since Accor took over(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great teamwork, focus on luxury product.

    Cons

    Working remote has challenges for day to day interaction

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2019-09-08
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fairmont Gold Lounge Attendant 

    I worked at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Great work culture, great opportunities for growth within company

    Cons

    Can be stressful, sometimes understaffed

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2019-11-11
  3. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Experience Coordinator in Banff, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training, good leadership scheme if you wish to further your career. Approachable management

    Cons

    Pay is below average if you aren't earning comission or tips

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2019-06-19
  4. "Bad Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Not very busy in the summer. RRSP.

    Cons

    Demanding manager who followed `do as I say, not as I do` philosophy. Salary. Not able to work from home. Not being recognized for work. A lot of lazy employees.

    Advice to Management

    For a company that was one really great, the standards have lowered and it is not the same place to work which is very discouraging and disappointing.

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2019-02-06
  5. "Good company good benefit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Housekeeper 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good pay and benefit. Collagues are good

    Cons

    Hard work physical job and confusing bossy management

    Advice to Management

    Be a leader not a boss

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2018-11-06
  6. "Fairmont Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to know your coworkers really well and the office culture feels like family.

    Cons

    Payed lower salary than many competitor hotels in the same market.

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2018-09-25
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very Friendly Staff Open Door Policy with Management Opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Very high turnover rate in administrative departments High Pressure (High Standards which is a pro)

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2018-09-02
  8. "Chief Steward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chief Steward in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly and multi culture place to work

    Cons

    I really don't have one

    Advice to Management

    Give a valid reason for so called restructuring

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2018-03-05
  9. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work-Life balance, company culture, benefits

    Cons

    Pay, pay, pay, pay, pay.

    Advice to Management

    Higher salares

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2018-02-16
  10. "Not awful, learned a ton!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Royal Service Agent in Jasper, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You’re trusted and empowered Encouraged and supported to fix guest issues Consistent hours Great on a resume Management is decent for the most part

    Cons

    Getting yelled at by people all the time Long hours at times Sometimes we were understaffed The job can be repetitive at times.

    Advice to Management

    Get on the same page, better training

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2018-01-23
Found 108 reviews