Exelon Reviews

Updated May 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Exelon President & CEO Christopher M. Crane
Christopher M. Crane
257 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, reasonable hours, nice environment(in 64 reviews)

  • "Exelon legitimately does have above-market pay and benefits(in 61 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance, plant closed earlier than expected(in 68 reviews)

  • "Long hours (but doesn't bother me) and a lot of information to learn (also doesn't bother me)(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Technical Analyst in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exelon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay, reasonable hours, nice environment

    Cons

    Very difficult at times to get anything done. Process has become cumbersome and debilitating.

    Continue reading
    Exelon2020-05-16
  2. "Every man for himself"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cutting edge technology, very skilled IT personnel

    Cons

    Politics is the name of the game, it's who you know not what. Vice Presidents have virtually unlimited power and if you're not in the inner circle careers can be ruined.

    Continue reading
    Exelon2020-05-14
  3. "Challenging Environment & Inclusive Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Senior Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to hold various career positions within one company

    Cons

    Disconnect between IT and Business Partners at times

    Continue reading
    Exelon2020-04-27

    Exelon Response

    May 22, 2020Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for taking time to provide a review of working at Exelon. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to continuously improve.

  4. "Excellent company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Location, competitive salary, community involvement

    Cons

    Promotional opportunities, lack of diversity

    Exelon2020-04-28

    Exelon Response

    May 22, 2020Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for providing such a balanced review of your experience at Exelon. We are committed to improving and feedback like yours helps us do that.

  5. "A great place to build a career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Significant work in a dynamic environment, leadership support for innovation, focus on and resources for employee development.

    Cons

    Some variation among work groups related to implementation of "Pros" listed above.

    Exelon2020-04-24

    Exelon Response

    May 22, 2020Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for taking time to provide a review. We love to hear you mention our commitment to innovation and our culture of learning and development. We're glad that you have enjoyed building a career at Exelon!

  6. "Great Place to work for Veterans"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Lead Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The company cares about its employees and makes sure that they are paid what they are worth. The company also takes care of its Vets. They have several ERG (Employee Resources Groups) that help the employees with networking, development, and visible. The company also make sure that the employees have times to give back to their communities.

    Cons

    The only issue that I have with the company is that it is so big that sometimes other parts of the company are doing great things while other parts do not even know it is happening.

    Exelon2020-04-24

    Exelon Response

    May 22, 2020Talent Acquisition Specialist

    We love that you mentioned our ERGs, support for veterans and our commitment to serving our communities. Those are just some of the many ways we promote a culture of inclusion and ensure our employees feel supported.

  7. "Nuclear: Generous Salary, limited development"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Instructor in Pottstown, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work with smart people, really a team of folks eager to help each other succeed

    Cons

    The company is weighted down by it's size, and doesn't leverage its economies of scale. Corporate functions generate a burden to the sites, not an asset.

    Continue reading
    Exelon2020-05-04
  8. "Great Place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time

    Pros

    I love working here. The benefits are great. I really feel part of a close knit team working towards a common goal.

    Cons

    There are no cons to mention

    Exelon2020-04-07

    Exelon Response

    April 24, 2020Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for taking time to provide a review. We love to hear you mention our collaborative culture, and we're glad that you enjoy working at Exelon!

  9. "A large company with a large geographic footprint"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Manager 

    I have been working at Exelon full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, compensation and corporate culture.

    Cons

    401k options somewhat limited compared to other companies

    Exelon2020-03-14

    Exelon Response

    April 3, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition & Employment Brand Specialist

    Thank you for providing such a balanced review of your experience at Exelon. We are committed to improving and feedback like yours helps us do that.

  10. "Great Place To Work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, plenty of job opportunities

    Cons

    Look to make changes without totally understanding effects

    Exelon2020-02-19

    Exelon Response

    February 25, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition & Employment Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us. We truly value your opinion as we strive to continuously improve and enhance our employee experience.

Found 597 reviews