Evertz Microsystems "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Evertz Microsystems Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Jan 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
30%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Evertz Microsystems President & Board Member Romolo Magarelli (no image)
Romolo Magarelli
82 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, no career advancement opportunities(in 17 reviews)

  • "embarrassingly low salary with very basic benefits(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Technician in Burlington, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Evertz Microsystems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Nice work environment.

    Cons

    There should be little more transparency between the design & manufacturing teams.

    Evertz Microsystems2019-08-03
  2. "Interesting projects, positive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Developer in Burlington, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Evertz Microsystems for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible hours - Interesting projects - They're trying to improve the work environment (They had ping pong and foosball tables)

    Cons

    - Not a very exciting work environment

    Evertz Microsystems2020-01-11
  3. "comfortable environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Designer 

    I worked at Evertz Microsystems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    well organized, great working environment

    Cons

    too much works to do

    Evertz Microsystems2019-11-24
  4. "Good mid-sized company to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Software Developer Co-Op in Burlington, ON

    I worked at Evertz Microsystems for less than a year

    Pros

    Fascinating to work at if you have a passion for sports/live media Good culture and work environment

    Cons

    From what I heard from senior co-workers, benefits were lacking

    Evertz Microsystems2019-08-24
  5. "Good for experience, but not long term career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Design Engineer 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Evertz Microsystems

    Pros

    -depending on your manager it can be okay. Mine was very helpful and didn't micro manage -learned a lot about the broadcasting world -chill work environment

    Cons

    -favoritism -compensation is on the low end -can be "cheap" sometimes

    Continue reading
    Evertz Microsystems2017-12-22
  6. "Good Company, Good Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Design Engineer Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Evertz Microsystems for less than a year

    Pros

    - Was given meaningful and interesting wok as a co-op student - Work environment was pretty relaxed and I never felt pressured to stay late or overwork myself - Was given opportunities to try work outside of the main area I was hired in

    Cons

    - There was a bit of downtime sometimes when there weren't any immediate projects to work on but other than that nothing to complain about

    Evertz Microsystems2017-05-21
  7. "Student Embedded Systems Design Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Student Embedded Software Design Engineering in Burlington, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Evertz Microsystems for less than a year

    Pros

    - Exposure to cool hardware process environment - Lots of other interns - Friendly people generally

    Cons

    - boring very corporate style work environment - chances of you getting meaningful work really depend on your team and manager (I was stuck with a boring one for awhile) - thrown into deep water sometimes without much support - Only vending machines and no walkable restaurants for food

    Continue reading
    Evertz Microsystems2017-05-26
  8. "Good Experience, Soul sucking enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Evertz Microsystems

    Pros

    -team leader let me doing meaningful work -hands on and learn alot -gather great experience

    Cons

    -terrible work environment -dependant on team leader (mine was strict) -i hated going into work -half hour lunches??? so short

    Continue reading
    Evertz Microsystems2017-03-27
  9. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Evertz Microsystems

    Pros

    Great work environment, a lot of knowledgeable people willing to help at any time. Very interesting work.

    Cons

    Offered full time position but the salary was very low to start.

    Evertz Microsystems2017-03-07
  10. "Good for initial experience but not long term."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Failure Analysis 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Evertz Microsystems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get 2-3 years of experience and then move on. - Will hire right out of school or co-op. - Great for gaining experience quickly. - Good work environment/people.

    Cons

    Having a good manager is hit or miss. - Low pay. - No sick days. - Communicating with R&D often difficult. - Many departments don't have internet access.

    Evertz Microsystems2017-01-19
Found 18 reviews