EventMobi Employee Reviews about "company culture"

Updated Jan 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 of over 77 reviews

3.9
81%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
EventMobi CEO Bob Vaez (no image)
Bob Vaez
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "The best company culture I've had the pleasure of working in(in 8 reviews)

  • "I've never met so many kind, welcoming, hard-working and genuine people all working at the same place(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There are some growing pains as the company transitions to a larger scale in terms of communication, management, and process(in 5 reviews)

  • "benefits and retreats you get (and no, last year's retreat did not cost you that much per person, Bob)(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "company culture"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Hands down the best place I've worked

      Jan 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company culture - EventMobi does an amazing job of finding and hiring hard working and fun people. They are very focused on finding the right fit, and the company culture that they have created really does makes it feel like are you part of a family. Opportunity for growth - While every person will have a defined role and set of responsibilities, there are lots of ways to get involved in projects or initiatives that fall outside of the regular scope of your work. The leadership team does their best to get employees involved in things that relate to their interests and/or areas where they want to learn - often this is how people grow into new roles, sometimes even new ones that have not yet existed in the company. Executive / Leadership Teams- The leadership team is very accessible and available, including the VPs and the CEO. They provide the right amount of guidance and support, while also allowing their teams the flexibility and autonomy to approach their work the way that they choose to. My personal experiences with leadership have shown me that they are very open to listening, mentoring, and investing in my career growth by allowing me the opportunities that I needed to find which area of the company that I wanted to get involved with and to grow into.

      Cons

      This is a very fast paced company where things are changing all of the time. Some will find this exciting because it means that your job never becomes monotonous, but others may find it as a challenge if they don't easily adapt to changes or if they prefer a more defined and structured processes.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Such great people!

      Mar 2, 2020 - Senior Designer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone at EventMobi cares so much about the product and what they're doing. The best company culture I've had the pleasure of working in. People practice gratitude for how their team mates help them even on a small scale. The office is in a great location and it really easy to get to. If you are curious and want to learn something new, grow, change or evolve your role management is very supportive of those who are eager.

      Cons

      Management structure can change quite quickly so it's important you are ok with changes in processes and possibly be willing to take on new tasks as change dictates.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Intern

      Working at EventMobi

      Apr 2, 2019 - Anonymous Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company culture with opportunities for fun staff team bonding activities per team and company wide. As an intern there are many opportunities to take on side projects outside of your normal responsibility. On-boarding is done well with a period of working with the app first hand then shadowing followed by a progression of tasks interacting with customers which is slowly added on to ease into the full role.

      Cons

      Communication between departments is not very good The company has a revolving door of people constantly leaving so you are always working with new people and that disrupts the ease of workflow in the company Too many tasks are reliant on on person's sole knowledge that when the leave the company is scrambling to retrain someone and it takes very long to bring efficiency back.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      High Potential

      Apr 23, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Modern company culture & technology. * Passionate employees who strive for improvement. * Lots of opportunity for challenging tasks and career growth. * The Events industry is both high potential and interesting. * The company is well positioned for further growth and success.

      Cons

      There are some growing pains as the company transitions to a larger scale in terms of communication, management, and process. However these are being continuously worked on and improved.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Solid Company to Enter the Workforce and Get Your Professional Feet Wet

      Sep 18, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When I started, I was explicit about the desire to learn and grow within the company. My initial position was entry-level, and within three years I was wearing at least 5 different hats -- most of which I was acknowledged for. EventMobi was great for me, as a self-starter, because it gave me the opportunity to learn about a lot of different aspects of the business (and businesses in general), and to try my hand at a variety of things. Bob listened when I told him what I was interested in and empowered my managers and others to help me pursue that. The company culture was pretty amazing. I never woke up and dreaded seeing anyone at work. We hired in large part for personality and cohesion with the existing team, which meant an extensive interview process but lead to a pleasant workplace where people were happy to put in their time. There was a lot of overtime as the company grew, but I rarely resented having to do it. There was a lot of mandatory team-building and a lot of voluntary team-building, and the latter was often staff-initiated and born out of a sense of community. People spent time together at work and outside of work, and work-life balance was achieved in large part by making work not feel so much like work. During onboarding, a clear effort was made to introduce you to your coworkers, who were usually welcome and opening. EventMobi was also really good at rewarding teams and individuals for a job well done. Apart from the mostly competitive compensation (at least for my department) and the built-in bonuses, like an annual staff trip, personal education budget, etc., we also had impromptu and one-off celebrations at the completion of certain large-scale projects. EventMobi makes you work hard, but it also lets you play hard in a way that is pretty much totally supererogatory. Well done them. Bob and Bijan clearly care about creating an atmosphere where everyone feels excited to work. That intention is evident in so much of what they do. There have definitely been some very high-pressure periods, as cited in other reviews, and I have seen Bob lose his cool or call someone out in a way that is not exactly becoming of a CEO, but I think that's more a product of the quasi-familial relationship you end up building with your coworkers at EventMobi. It can be hard to see where to draw the line of propriety, and I have seen liberties taken in both directions. I have had candid conversations with Bob that wouldn't likely have gone over in other companies, and which I found helpful when expressing my frustrations and working towards their solutions. Personally, I think that having the kind of direct access to the CEO and the freedom to talk to him candidly that I enjoyed is worth having to witness the occasional outburst, which really just reminded me that he's human and he's under enormous pressure. I gained a lot of valuable experience and in a pretty nurturing environment, and I'd like to think that was also true for most other people I worked with. Is that to say that there's no legitimate reason someone might want to move on? No. But it wouldn't be fair to say that there is nothing to miss about it, and I couldn't have asked for a better place to start my professional life, except for that...

      Cons

      EventMobi, at least when I was working there, was a proper startup. That is, it was the sort of place where your job was kind of amorphous and everyone had to wear a lot of hats. This obviously suited self-starters who were good at managing their own time and keeping busy. It favoured people who were open to learning lots of different things and putting in extra time to flesh out the tasks they liked doing into jobs they might someday occupy. I saw several people turn their jobs into something else through expressing interest and investing the time to learn about it. That said, the transitions were often sort of tortured, required a lot of upfront overtime investment from the employee, and had the potential to undermine their job security if the utility of the new role wasn't consistently proven. If you were looking for a well-structured environment where you could keep your head down, do your work, and outlast people into a management position, you might have been better off to go work in a bank somewhere. EventMobi was a pretty fierce meritocracy, which isn't bad in and of itself, but it could be a bit exhausting for someone like me, who was always looking for change. During my time there, Bob and Bijan were prepared to support your learning and professional goals inasmuch as there was a business case to do so, which is really the most you can expect any employer to do. That said, when I was working there, there wasn't a wealth of senior staff to learn from in my team, nor was there any real training. My immediate superiors were only ever a year or two ahead of me in terms of expertise, and that expertise often seemed to have been gleaned from a combination of trial-and-error and Googling how to do their jobs. Everyone was willing to share what they had learned with me, and Bob encouraged us to spend time reading and learning (even giving everyone 2k/year personal education fund), but it often felt like there wasn't really a lot of time to take advantage of it. It was difficult to commit to, say, the duration of a course somewhere, because it was often difficult to predict when the work volume would be intense. Working at a start-up is a trade off. Larger companies give you more structure, more direction, a clear job description, and a fairly clear idea of your position within the organization. However, usually upward mobility is limited, access to the managerial strata of the company is limited, and the workplace can be numbing and alienating. Start-ups, on the other hand, give you more freedom and more responsibility. Everything you do in a start-up is collaborative, and a lot of time is devoted to communicating and re-communicating ideas and expectations. You have to roll with the punches, but if you have the stamina and can tolerate the growing pains, the rewards can be pretty considerable.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Empower Your Interns

      Jul 4, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Company culture (outside of management) was overall really positive, this is a great place to work as a student in terms of culture. -The name means something, in the Toronto start-up world EventMobi has some recognition and it can be an asset on your resume. -Perks like work socials, free snacks, catered lunch options and free booze are a definite plus.

      Cons

      -Salary for an intern was crap, you are almost guaranteed to be paid better elsewhere (especially if you're from Waterloo). -Job description did NOT match the work that was actually given. The job I took was far superior to the job I ended up doing. -Management was a bit restrictive in terms of the opportunities and projects that interns were able to take on. We were stuck with our tedious responsibilities, and there was pushback when we asked for additional projects as we were told they would take away from our primary duties.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      EventMobi Response

      Employee Success Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. I wish you included more details on what you did that you felt was restrictive and tedious. If you could contact me directly, I would love to learn more from your feedback. As you know, we are highly supportive of providing interns great opportunities across all teams within the company. Almost all of our management team have been interns at some point during their studies and we want to create an internship program that all interns would be proud to share with their classmates. Regardless, I truly appreciate your efforts and contribution to the company and I’m sorry to hear you had a less than positive time while you were with us. That said a huge number of our interns ended up extending their terms and many have returned to work for EventMobi full time. Being an intern at EventMobi is all about learning new skills while working with some of the smartest people in the Toronto tech sector. In regards to your comment regarding salary, EventMobi follows the recommendations from the coop programs we are associated with and offer a competitive salary range. The salary range is clearly communicated to advisors and students we work with in advance of being hired. Thank you again for your feedback and helping to make EventMobi a better workplace.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Bad Management, Good Culture

      Jul 11, 2016 - Sales in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good company culture - Company perks - Great Onboarding - Some Learning opportunities

      Cons

      Cons - No matter how much experience you had on your resume, our team was very underpaid. Being in sales, our account framework was divided up by industry demographic, so if you got assigned a demographic that didn't have a lot of budget, it was extremely hard to make money. All teams had the same high target to hit, which is extremely unachievable for some of the demographics. - During campaigns, product launches, events, we were all expected to work overtime without any additional compensation. - After being here for a while I noticed a lot of office bullying within my department (especially from upper management and the CEO). There has also been times where the CEO would cc the entire company on an email, if an employee did something wrong. This was also done on the company slack channel. - There was a lot of travel opportunities for my position (which is amazing), but I sometimes dreaded going on these types of work trips due to the fact that the company would cheap out on a lot of things. For trade shows we were responsible for lugging the booth items with us to the airport. It's fine when you are traveling with another person, but sometimes I would attend these events alone, it was a huge inconvenience for the employee. There are no company credit cards that you can use when away, so you were expected to use your own personal credit card throughout the trip, and sometimes it would take a month to get reimbursed. Going on one of these trips, usually we would rack up $1500 - $2000, and with a low salary, this was a huge inconvenience to have this sitting under my own credit. Some of the accommodations were excellent, but there were other times where they would rent out air bnbs in unsafe areas, and one time during our busy season they forced a male and a female to share a one bedroom studio, in order to cut down costs (the beds were literally beside each other). When they complained about the accommodation arrangements, and how uncomfortable it made them feel, they were asked to be a "team player". No employee should ever be put in that type of situation, it was very unethical. - This might have changed, but when I was working at EventMobi I didn't have any mentorship opportunities, as well did not have a manager for a long period of time. There was also no formal HR department in place, so it was very hard for an employee to communicate any internal issues. To cut down on costs, the company would stay away from hiring senior management, because they didn't want to have to pay someone more than 90k. The company would just promote someone internally that has less experience, to cut down on costs. - When I received my raise, I was provided a full breakdown of what my compensation would look like. They mentioned that 8k would be allocated towards our annual retreats, and that 2k would be allocated towards learning and career development (conferences, courses, etc). When it came time to book our retreat, our budget suddenly shrank to $1000 (which is fine, but it shouldn't have been presented as our compensation). The educational and knowledge budget is currently advertised as an opportunity to help further your career, and it's up to the employee in how they would like to allocate that budget. Our teams entire educational budget was spent on an individual that was hired to coach the sales team (which wasn't communicated to our team until after they were hired). Personally I felt that this individual did not bring any value to our team, and the services they provided only benefited upper management. Also during the first three weeks of having this individual work with our team, the CEO congratulated our team that none of us got fired, and usually when this individual comes to a company 30% of the team gets let go. I was really disturbed after hearing that comment, and was shocked that it was even communicated to our team. How is this supposed to further my career, when you are bringing in a stranger to determine if I'm good enough to stay on the team?

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work!

      Jun 24, 2015 - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Passionate development team dedicated to finding the best cutting edge solution to create a great product. - Tech stack which includes Docker, Ansible, Node, Redis, - Open collaborative culture - Company retreats - We went to Iceland and Costa Rica in the past!

      Cons

      Communication between different departments could be improved.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with EventMobi Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at EventMobi? Share Your Experiences

    EventMobi logo
    or