Evans Cycles Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Evans Cycles Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
47%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Evans Cycles CEO Steve Trowbridge  (no image)
Steve Trowbridge
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff discount scheme is huge (as good as a pay rise for any cyclist(in 20 reviews)

  • "Trade discount and ride to work scheme is good(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Staff are required to accept homophobic, racist and sexist language which is likened to petty name calling by head office(in 13 reviews)

  • "Rude customers expecting the world from minimum wage slaves(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Evans Cycles part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice benefits for the staff members of Evans

    Cons

    Low pay for staff members of Evans cycles

    Continue reading
    Evans Cycles2020-02-17
  2. "Fun company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Registered Sales Assistant in Chalk Farm, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Evans Cycles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to develop Chance given to younger people

    Cons

    workload can be a bit hectic

    Evans Cycles2019-12-18
  3. "What an awful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Workshop Manager in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evans Cycles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Do what you're passionate

    Cons

    Salary, work hours, restrictions of all kind

    Continue reading
    Evans Cycles2020-01-11
  4. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Mechanic 

    I worked at Evans Cycles full-time

    Pros

    Great bunch of people to work with.

    Cons

    Senior management just focus on numbers

    Evans Cycles2019-11-30
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evans Cycles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discounts Meet people with a similar interest

    Cons

    Low pay and long hours

    Evans Cycles2019-11-25
  6. "Avoid Avoid Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Office Employee in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evans Cycles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are honestly no pro’s to working for this company, apart from the fact that it is a head office based outside of London, so don’t have that dreaded commute. But pretty sure the unit in Crawley will go, and will link up with Sports Direct head office eventually.

    Cons

    I don’t think I would have enough characters or time to list them all, but will give you a bit of an idea. Any potential employees, I would urge you to avoid at all costs. Management literally have no idea what they are doing. Poor communication, and a very top heavy, management structure. Too many management and not enough people to do the day to day tasks. As Sports Direct become more involved, management just say yes to everything without any idea of how to implement, or the man power to do so. People are leaving here left, right and centre. If you have any brain cells, you would definitely not join this company. The feedback you give to management goes in one ear, and out the other. The merchandising and buying functions are full of good people, but the management are clueless, and have no idea about the industry or processes. Destined to fail. Get out while you can.

    Continue reading
    Evans Cycles2019-12-30
  7. "Great people, less great upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Evans Cycles full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company was a great company. If you're a bike fanatic, what better place to be than working in a bike shop? The processes are well established and the computer system fairly intuitive, if a bit clunky to grasp. Like with any retail store, targets had to be met, but we all had fun doing it. Far and away the people you meet along the way made the job worth doing - nothing like meeting like minded people who happened to also be great colleagues.

    Cons

    The company now has become further and further stretched, with budgets being savaged and benefits being curtailed. Stores are doing twice the business with half the people. Store managers are pressured to pull results without the resources they need. Colleagues are also being paid FAR below industry standard, and little is being done to raise low morale.

    Evans Cycles2019-11-14
  8. "Overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evans Cycles part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and flexible working hours

    Cons

    A lot of communication issues

    Continue reading
    Evans Cycles2019-11-12
  9. "I got lucky with a good manager and colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evans Cycles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, get to work in cycling industry, bonus helps, staff discount

    Cons

    Low wages, low staffing levels led to upset customers and unnecessary stress

    Continue reading
    Evans Cycles2019-09-18
  10. "If you love cycling there is a good chance this will crush your passion."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evans Cycles full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Met some amazing people, customers and the odd senior management who genuinely cared. about you and your team. Learnt some very important life/work lessons. My life would undoubtedly be very different if I hadn’t worked for the company. However, looking back, working for that company had a very detrimental affect on me. I probably didn’t learn anything I couldn’t of learnt elsewhere.

    Cons

    Low pay- if your promoted from within you will get less than those hired from outside the company and then be asked to train those individuals. Experienced shop floor staff are on the same as someone with little to no experience. However I do understand rates of pay have changed for the better since I left. Poor benefits package, especially if you are not on a managerial wage. The value of trade discount has almost all but been wiped out due to online discount retailers. There are exceptions to this with newly released product and some P&A . I have no real problem getting the same as trade price if I look in the right places. The sheer number of directors and new senior management I experienced in my time was bewildering. The direction of the ship so to speak was constantly changing as were the goal posts on expectations. Trying to engage and motivate a team who were constantly suspicious of this ever changing landscape was probably one of my hardest tasks. Long hours- senior managements approach towards most things that required more man power was simply for people to work longer. Are the classic pizza nights still a thing? I get that in retail this is occasionally needed but it was the norm while I was there. If you couldn’t get staff or rather bribe staff then you either faced the fallout of not getting it done or you just stayed and did it yourself. When you told senior managers you didn’t have time, almost always the response would centre around needing to be more efficient with your time and getting more out of people rather than accepting you just don’t have enough man power. Targets were more often than not un-realistic. I worked in one of the highest turnover stores and even when the retail economic outlook was accepted as poor for the industry and sales are dropping across the company and industry, targets would continue to rise. Great way to motivate haha As a company Evans Cycles is part of a much larger problem within large high street and online retailing that centres around discounting/price structures and an ever increasing level of customers who’s expectations are wildly out of sync with reality and the general population.

    Continue reading
    Evans Cycles2019-09-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 120 reviews