Equity Trust Company Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Apr 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 of over 157 reviews

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Equity Trust Company CEO George Sullivan
George Sullivan
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company has experienced a lot of growth lately and recently moved into a new building(in 15 reviews)

  • "They actively promote work life balance(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management at the 'C' level needs to stabilize(in 7 reviews)

  • "Little to no communication between departments(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Pretty Good

      Apr 29, 2019 - Anonymous in Westlake, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management is really flexible with work/life balance. Pay is reasonable. There's more chances for your voice to be heard being that it's a smaller company. Good location in Westlake. In house massages and on site gym is a plus.

      Cons

      Insurance is expensive for the coverage it provides. 401(k) doesn't allow for hardship withdrawals. Upper management at the 'C' level needs to stabilize.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Professionally Embarrassing

      Sep 18, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The employees and some of management are wonderful people. It seems like a good place to start a career and it is if you want to see how a company should never be run. If you take a class on Business Ethics, Leadership and Management you can take notes on everything that is done incorrectly. If you want to work at a private company that the owners treat the business like their personal check book, you can apply for any of the underpaying positions that they have available.

      Cons

      If you looked up "Corporate Short-Termism" in the dictionary, the ETC pinwheel might be the picture next to it. The companies "mission" is constantly changing, just like the systems that keep them "the top company in their industry" when the systems that they convert to have been used by competitors and have been dropped by competitors. No organic growth whatsoever. Everything at this company is like trying to have a Saks 5th Ave style on a Kohl's budget, the cheapest way possible is the best way possible right? They do not want anyone that has any education or knows anything about the business because *gasp* most of the upper management would have to learn what the company does or what their employees do! This place bleeds out talent from conversion to conversion or just because of the pay and they show no plans of fixing it.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      There is a reason there are always open positions

      Apr 2, 2017 - Operations in Westlake, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fellow co-workers are very friendly and helpful and are essentially your only ally

      Cons

      Almost everything. Month after month, promise after promise, Equity always lets down their employees and clients. There is no real vision from management, company is run from a board of directors that meets once a quarter. Once things are trickled down to lower level management there is almost always a communication breakdown and the lower-level employees suffer the most from it. There is also zero training, you will be immediately thrown into a role that you will have to adapt to. Its almost as their theory is whoever can adapt is fit to be there, and you basically have to learn as you go which makes they turnover rate incredibly high. You are constantly told that training will be on the way but upper management suffers from a major shakeup every few months as well so nothing is organized and no one is ever on the same page. As I was leaving they had just fired two directors of operations so this trend is more than likely going to continue

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Wasted Potential

      Apr 21, 2015 - Operations Associate in Westlake, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You will gain some IRA experience. You will also figure out how to problem solve on your own because the leadership in your team will not be helpful. The employees themselves are kind and fun despite the overall atmosphere of the place.

      Cons

      The turnover rate and the recent departure of department heads says everything. Bringing in two outside upper management members to turn the company around sealed many opinions of the employees. There isn't a real opportunity for growth and you will be stuck in one processing job with more and more responsibilities piled on. Team leads are constantly giving incorrect answers to questions when asked. For the amount of work that was asked, the employees were severely underpaid.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Just gets worse all the time

      Apr 4, 2012 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are few pros to working at Equity Trust Company. I will say that they have always been very flexible with me in regards to time off. They have been very good in understanding when I have to take sick time to be with my kids. I will also say that for the most part the people I work with really care about each other. I have also learned about the possibilities of investing if I were ever to make enough money at my job to actually invest.

      Cons

      The cons far outweigh the pros. There is absolutely no room for advancing and if you do not have a degree dont even think about going anywhere further up than where you start in the company, regardless of how long you are there you will never advance. There is absolutely no communication whatsoever where I work. The supervisors take any sort of opinion and make it seem like the person is spewing negativity. We are grossly underpaid for what we are responsible for on a day to day basis but upper management really doesnt know what we do so it would be impossible for them to know exactly how underpaid we are. But compared to companies in our field we make way less. Our raises are terrible regardless of job performance. They dump millions into systems that dont work but pay the employee who is expected to work in the systems a meager wage. They do alot of charity work and community service which is great but it is all self serving. It seems like it is mostly just to get their names in the papers. They flood our emails asking for donations for one thing or another but they do not pay their employees enough to support their own families. They also make no effort to interact with any of us, as if they are too good to. They have absolutely no appreciation for anything that we do. They mass hire and each group that comes in seems to have a base pay higher than seasoned employees make after years of service to the company, so that a brand new employee can expect to make the same or close to the same wage as a person who has been there five years. They have very unrealistic goals as far as work production goes. They also play favorites with certain team members. Truly the most ridiculous company I've ever worked for. The lack of professionalism and respect for the people who actually do the work is astounding.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Operations associate

      Feb 28, 2014 - Operations Associate in Westlake, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits from medical to 401k and vacation time. Fellow coworkers are friendly and with the new building I feel they are really making an effort to invest in their employees. Great place to be.

      Cons

      Communication between upper management and employee is shaky at best. Recognition and positive feedback is kept to a minimum and not shown by executives enough.

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Team Environment

      Jan 15, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Matthews, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      everyone helped each other out during the busy times

      Cons

      Upper management would not work with your schedule if you had school to attend.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews

    Work at Equity Trust Company? Share Your Experiences

    Equity Trust Company logo
    or