Equity Trust Company Employee Reviews about "new building"

Updated Mar 30, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 157 reviews

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Equity Trust Company CEO George Sullivan
George Sullivan
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company has experienced a lot of growth lately and recently moved into a new building(in 15 reviews)

  • "They actively promote work life balance(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management at the 'C' level needs to stabilize(in 7 reviews)

  • "Little to no communication between departments(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "new building"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      World Class Atmosphere

      Apr 7, 2014 - Operations Associate in Westlake, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The new building contructed in Westlake has brought the company and the overall working atmosphere at ETC to a new level. The convenience of a gym, full health driven cafeteria and massage therapist has created a fun yet professional environment that is motivating and inspiring. The health programs and staff personal trainer shows you that the company cares about not just your work life, but your overall health as well. Everyone knows that work can be stressful, but having so many amenities and benefits makes it a lot less stressful. From my time at ETC I have seen tremendous personal growth in both my professional career and my health and have been promoted 3 times in my nearly 4 year tenure. The training is also top notch as they give you all the tools and hands on training that you need to not just preform your job, but to gain knowledge and succeed in your position.

      Cons

      Some poeple take the relaxed atmosphere too far and since moving from the previous branch my commute has become longer.

      7 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Room for growth, good work is acknowledged, and we are a Family!

      Apr 3, 2014 - Investment Liaison in Westlake, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The benefits are great. Our work environment is new, fresh, and we have everything we need to be comforable. We have a new building, all under one roof except a few, workout room, exercise classes, cafeteria, massage therapist and more. Leadership acknowledges when you do a great job and also helps and asks questions when they can see we may be struggling. There is always room to move on up in your current department or rotate to another department.

      Cons

      There are certain times of the year where work volume is stressful. Compensation although is great to others outside of ETC, but for the volume of work we do compensation should be raised a bit more.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Changing Culture

      Apr 4, 2014 - Other in Westlake, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My experience at Equity Trust has been very positive and the culture is great. The company has experienced a lot of growth lately and recently moved into a new building. The new space is a great work environment. It's bright and open and allows the different groups to work together more easily. There are also so many great amenities and benefits - massage, dry cleaning, cafe, and fitness center complete with classes.

      Cons

      With all the increased growth, it seems some of the processes are still catching up. Management and their teams are working on improving these things, but it takes time. Clients and customers still expect top-notch service and are sometimes frustrated and the employees are caught in the middle.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Poor executive management, especially those there 3 yrs or longer

      Jan 4, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Westlake, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      We have a shiny new building close to Crocker Park! That's about it. Most of the positive comments on other posts have been planted there in response to the true responses. I should add though that it is an interesting product and you do learn about some neat ways that people invest and make money in their IRA.

      Cons

      Top executives are pitted against each other. I have actually witnessed screaming matches between 2 longer term C-level leaders. I should say many of us did since it was right in front of everyone. When "leadership" reads a new book that becomes the new flavor of the month management philosophy. Examples: TopGrading "we only retain A players", Jobs, "we are just like Apple", etc. The gym, new building are just for show. There is not a humane thought process in the leadership team. More than once I have heard when an error has occurred, "who do we fire?". You get the sense that there is not a strong moral compass from "leadership", well at least when they are actually there.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Day to Day Experience

      Jun 17, 2014 - Senior Manager in Westlake, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ability to be creative and think outside of the box to solve company and client goals. New building which features a workout facility, organic food cafe, massuese, and lots of light to keep the energy up. Access to executive team. Many programs and intitiatives to promote work/life balance and giving back to the community. Promotes investment in their employees.

      Cons

      Company's intense growth is somewhat shrinking the space within the building. Meeting rooms and etc. No process for employees to submit suggestions anonymously.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A company on the rise

      Mar 25, 2014 - Operations Associate in Westlake, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Besides the brand new building complete with a gym, cafeteria and massage therapist; we also have just great people to work with on a daily basis that will support the work you are doing. There are also a lot of opportunities to advance. The training prepares you for most of what you would see every day and it is constantly being refined to catch the things that come up. Its like working with family here.

      Cons

      We have some issues getting information from one department to another quickly. It can be hard on the clients at times because they perceive things get lost, when it is simply in process.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Exciting time to work for Equity Trust

      Jun 19, 2014 - Sales in Westlake, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Just built a brand new building that has a cafeteria, fitness center, and massage center. The company brought in top talent to strengthen the Executive Team that has changed the attitude and direction for the better. The focus is back on the employees and it is clearly showing through company sponsored events and actively seeking out advice from peers in different departments. We have been very impressed with the changes and progress made

      Cons

      Still little room for growth within the company. Better positions go to people outside the company instead of promoting from within.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Growing Organization

      May 13, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Westlake, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked for Equity for 4 years, and while we have had our mishaps there is certainly enough good to keep me here. The people I work with are phenomena. Tons of personalities, all very genuine, accepting and fun! The executive staff is continuously finding ways to motivate and reward employees. We have been to Dave and Busters, Indians Games, Cedar Point, dinner cruises, and so much more. The new building is great with free massages, fitness centers, cafe, etc. Work life balance is not only possible here, but encouraged. I have progressed tremendously since I have been here. In 4 years I have been in 3 different positions, each an advancement from the previous. I have never worked at a place where everyone, including your CEO has an interest in your development and growth within the organization. I have been offered other opportunities elsewhere, but my loyalty lies with Equity.

      Cons

      Our CEO has a lot of vision, which can be good and bad thing. But knowing and believing that everything he does is for the good of the company makes it tolerable. This is a niche industry so what we do and what the knowledge necessary is not something many people come to us with experience in. Equity does train on what it is you need to know, but processes continually change which can be frustrating. If your considering employment here be open and adaptable to change and ignore all the moans and groans from the people who have been here forever. Their job is as enjoyable as they allow it to be. Many of us who have been around for awhile have seen the best and the worst of Equity. Some like to dwell on past bad experience and miss out on all the good Equity has to offer.

      6 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to start a career

      Jun 9, 2014 - Marketing in Westlake, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started at Equity Trust directly upon graduating college and I could not be happier with the company. The opportunities for growth and the wonderful people are two of the best things about ETC. There is a very friendly atmosphere here and I truly can say that I have fun at work, and it's because of the people I work with. Between the fun games and trivia that our department plays for holidays, company events like the Relay for Life, happy hours, or Indians games, or the day-to-day interactions that are filled with a genuine kindness I really could not be happier. I also have been surrounded by a tremendous team that has helped facilitate my growth as an individual. I have been given a freedom and level of responsibility that most companies would not offer a recent graduate and have been supported every step of the way by co-workers, supervisors, and managers across the board. Unlike many of my recent graduate friends, I'm excited about coming to work everyday because I have been empowered in my position and believe in our mission and that I can make a difference. I like to say Equity Trust is the perfect large, small business. Obviously as an industry leader in a state-of-the-art facility it is difficult to claim it is a small-time operation. But the connectedness of the team and the community feel makes it feel like it is still a small business. Which reminds me, we just moved in to a beautiful new building! The company leadership went to great lengths to build the facility around the employee needs and it has paid off. I love the cafeteria and weight room, still can't get over the fact that I can take 15 minutes for a massage in the middle of my day, and feel more professional and better about coming to work now that we have the new place. I am so happy to have been given the opportunity to start my career at a place like ETC!

      Cons

      When I described ETC as the perfect large, small business I meant it. There are plenty of times where I feel like we get caught in-between the two. We have wonderful visions of growth and advancement that are fit for a large company, but are sometimes asked to do so with small company resources. Occasionally I've noticed that the desire to move forward and grow has come at the expense of the processes and procedures that are currently in place. Finally I think sometimes we have a tendency to start things without finishing them or decide to change course after getting halfway down the path, which speaks to the larger point of working for a growing company. Overall, as long as you are open and willing to adapt you will enjoy your time at Equity Trust. Everyday is a new and exciting challenge and I couldn't think of a better place to be able to work.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Client-focused, collaborative atmosphere

      Apr 3, 2014 - Sales in Westlake, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      All employees take part in a formal training process regardless of position. While it is a larger company, the people that work here are great and it is easy to meet and talk with people. All the employees are very nice and are always willing to help a co-worker in need whether they are dealing with a personal issue or need assistance for a client. The new building provides great amenities to its employees including a wellness center, cafe with food and coffee and a masseuse on staff to provide free massages to employees.

      Cons

      Communications between different teams could be improved, also changes to process are not always communicated to groups that it impacts.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

    Work at Equity Trust Company? Share Your Experiences

    Equity Trust Company logo
    or