Equity Trust Company Reviews

Updated May 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Equity Trust Company CEO George Sullivan
George Sullivan
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company has experienced a lot of growth lately and recently moved into a new building(in 15 reviews)

  • "They actively promote work life balance(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management would not work with your schedule if you had school to attend(in 7 reviews)

  • "Little to no communication between departments(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great people, Great environment!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investments in Westlake, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Equity Trust Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of wonderful things about this place! Management was wonderful, True leaders. Co-workers were caring and more like family. There is a gym, masseuse, and a cafe with fresh made healthy foods everyday. There is a track around the building and basketball courts to take advantage of in the warmer weather. You were able to listen to headphones while you worked. They had a bunch of catered picnics on the patio in the back of the building, with a DJ. The work was fast and steady and you are in charge of your own workload, so time management skills are important .

    Cons

    The only Con that I can recall were the pay-raises. A couple cents raise, and I don't recall any bonuses. Also,

    Continue reading
    Equity Trust Company2020-05-05

    Equity Trust Company Response

    May 12, 2020Senior Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We value your honest feedback and we’re so happy to hear that your experience working at Equity Trust was a positive one. We pride ourselves in the benefits we offer associates, and are glad you were able to enjoy them. We wish you the best! Thanks again, Andy

  2. "Demanding company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer 

    I worked at Equity Trust Company full-time

    Pros

    Location, Work hours, flexibility, People, Technical support

    Cons

    Quality of people, Management, Support, Help,Incentive

    Equity Trust Company2020-05-15
  3. "Great Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RECONCILIATION SPECIALIST in Westlake, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Equity Trust Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture and management styles

    Cons

    The pay is relatively low

    Continue reading
    Equity Trust Company2020-04-28
  4. "Great Company with Amazing people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Liaison 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Equity Trust Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great people from top to bottom - They actively promote work life balance - The work environment is supportive and collaborative - Great training that has you prepared for your job - The management team is excellent

    Cons

    - - Company growth can cause some growing pains in terms of process changes and focus

    Continue reading
    Equity Trust Company2020-04-08
  5. "Can’t take it much longer"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative in Westlake, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equity Trust Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Massages, gym and cafe.. that’s it

    Cons

    They don’t work with you when it comes to being sick, you have to have sick time if you call off an hour before your shift to avoid an occurrence, why can’t we use our vacation time if we ran out of sick time? People are legit sick and too afraid to call off because they will get a point, how about we don’t give a point to employees that are truly sick who have a doctors note

    Continue reading
    Equity Trust Company2020-03-06

    Equity Trust Company Response

    March 10, 2020Senior Corporate Recruiter

    “Thank you for sharing your feedback. We regret that this has been your experience and would like the opportunity to discuss this with you in greater detail. We encourage you to bring this matter to the attention of our Employee Relations Specialist in the HR department, so we can address your concerns promptly and properly.” Andy

  6. "Green Field for Opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Westlake, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equity Trust Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    New leadership values performance and drive, if you're willing to innovate and push new ideas you will have support all around you. People aren't afraid of trying new ideas and approaches to problems. HR is making total benefits a real focus, we've received a new casual dress code, more benefits, a gym, and on-site cafeteria.

    Cons

    Some of the teams haven't broken out of their mold yet, there are solid attempts but there are people or processes holding them back. Just like any financial company there is a solid amount of training and "need to know" items that take time to learn.

    Continue reading
    Equity Trust Company2020-01-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Extremely low pay, expensive benefits, very complex"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Documentation Specialist in Westlake, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Equity Trust Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It has a cafe with good food but, it's very expensive. Has gym, and shower; however, doesn't make up the difference for the LOW pay

    Cons

    Extremely low pay for the industry, and the location average salary. Also, Extremely expensive benefits, no choices in benefits, very expensive food from cafe, Job tasks are extremely complex, technical, and require Extreme levels of dexterity and mental acuity. *Job requirements salary is POVERTY wages. * No room for growth. *Demotes employees and lowers salary based on "Competitive Advantage". That's called being a CRAP company. *Paid leave and time off is meager at best. *Training is pretty good but, slow. * Steer clear and don't bother. *Requires 1 year before moving positions. (lame)

    Continue reading
    Equity Trust Company2020-02-07

    Equity Trust Company Response

    February 7, 2020Senior Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know what we can improve on as a company. I’m sorry to hear that your experience has been negative. We would love to have the opportunity to hear more about your suggestions and concerns to make Equity Trust a better place for you to work. I would encourage you to reach out to our Employee Relations Specialist, who would be more than happy to meet with you at your earliest convenience. - Andy

  8. "A great place to learn"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Equity Trust Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company culture and a supportive environment for improving as a developer. Chance to write a lot of code that goes to production are everywhere since the team is relatively small.

    Cons

    The technology stack is not the most coherently implemented.

    Equity Trust Company2019-10-29
  9. "Amazing Place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Westlake, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equity Trust Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My teammates are great to work with. We have a really collaborative environment. My job challenges me to think and problem solve, and it makes my work interesting. It is a really fun place to work.

    Cons

    We could update some of our technology. The systems and services we use are great, but some people are using older model computers.

    Continue reading
    Equity Trust Company2019-07-03
  10. "Challenging Work and Fantastic Work-Life Balance!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equity Trust Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The projects I have the opportunity to work on are challenging and impact the entire organization so I feel like I am making a difference every day. The work-life balance is really great too with amenities such as free massages, onsite gym, flexible summer hours and more. Most of the people who work here are passionate about their jobs and truly care about the company and its success. I hope to stay and grow for years to come!

    Cons

    As with any workplace, there is sometimes "red tape" that can get in the way of moving forward with things as quickly as I may want; however, I feel that my opinions are always heard and strongly considered, and a compromise is always reached.

    Equity Trust Company2019-05-09
Found 124 reviews