Equity Trust Company Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Equity Trust Company Reviews

Updated Jul 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 116 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Equity Trust Company CEO George Sullivan
George Sullivan
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company has experienced a lot of growth lately and recently moved into a new building(in 15 reviews)

  • "I wasn't there long, but seems to have a great work/life balance for its employees(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management would not work with your schedule if you had school to attend(in 7 reviews)

  • "Little to no communication between departments(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Westlake, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equity Trust Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My teammates are great to work with. We have a really collaborative environment. My job challenges me to think and problem solve, and it makes my work interesting. It is a really fun place to work.

    Cons

    We could update some of our technology. The systems and services we use are great, but some people are using older model computers.

    Advice to Management

    Communication has really improved. Keep it up! Keep up the engagement with your staff.

    Equity Trust Company2019-07-03
  2. "Challenging Work and Fantastic Work-Life Balance!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equity Trust Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The projects I have the opportunity to work on are challenging and impact the entire organization so I feel like I am making a difference every day. The work-life balance is really great too with amenities such as free massages, onsite gym, flexible summer hours and more. Most of the people who work here are passionate about their jobs and truly care about the company and its success. I hope to stay and grow for years...

    Show More

    Cons

    As with any workplace, there is sometimes "red tape" that can get in the way of moving forward with things as quickly as I may want; however, I feel that my opinions are always heard and strongly considered, and a compromise is always reached.

    Equity Trust Company2019-05-09
  3. "TMI Not Enough Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Equity Trust Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee perks, cafeteria, great PTO

    Cons

    The training isn’t as extensive as it should be, new employees are often given books and papers on things rather than being taught in great detail which leads to confusion & uncertainty with new hires. Overwhelming.

    Equity Trust Company2019-05-16
  4. "Pretty Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Westlake, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Equity Trust Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Management is really flexible with work/life balance. Pay is reasonable. There's more chances for your voice to be heard being that it's a smaller company. Good location in Westlake. In house massages and on site gym is a plus.

    Cons

    Insurance is expensive for the coverage it provides. 401(k) doesn't allow for hardship withdrawals. Upper management at the 'C' level needs to stabilize.

    Advice to Management

    Departments need to communicate more between each other. When one department tells another something isn't working and it's impacting our clients, change needs to be swift instead of swept under the rug. We all need to humbly admit our weaknesses because that's the only way to get stronger/better.

    Equity Trust Company2019-04-29
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Stuck in their old ways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Equity Trust Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The staff is nice and easy to get along with. The work makes days go by fast.

    Cons

    The pay scale needs to be updated with the times. This is what is keeping young people with degrees from staying here long term.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees more, give bonuses for work anniversaries, listen to your employees on how to make the process better, they’re the ones doing it every day while you’re in meetings trying to figure out how to make the process smoother. Train your sales team on what is needed for different types of purchases. You’re pushing away your best talent because you won’t pay them

    Equity Trust Company2019-04-17
  6. "Great Company/Excellent Location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westlake, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Equity Trust Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Culture (Including company events) Competitive Pay Strong Core Values Lots of Opportunities

    Cons

    Parking could be better.

    Equity Trust Company2019-03-26
  7. "Great for me!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Doc Management in Westlake, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Equity Trust Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great people to work around. rather decent benefits. cafe and gym on site

    Cons

    others not being reprimanded when more than necessary

    Equity Trust Company2019-02-28
  8. "Customer Service Assocaite"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Equity Trust Company

      Pros

      Co workers were nice and office building was nice

      Cons

      unorganized in their training process.

      Equity Trust Company2018-10-29
    • "Where a Job Can Become a Career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Operations in Westlake, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Equity Trust Company full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      - Beautiful Campus w/Atrium, Gym, Massages, Café, Walking Path - Benefits/Pay/Incentives - Focus on Healthy Living - Genuine Supportive Leadership Team - Continued Education for Professional and Personal Growth - Focus on Career Path and Personal Goals - Large involvement in the Community - Fast Paced Challenging Work Environment - Strong focus on teamwork - people who truly enjoy working with each other

      Cons

      - Some specialized roles take time to learn but the training program provides the resources needed

      Advice to Management

      Continue to do fun things (raffles for event tickets, food trucks, flexible summer hours, patio parties) and continue to grow the culture that has evolved over the years

      Equity Trust Company2018-09-06
    • "Moving in the right direction"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous in Westlake, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Equity Trust Company full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      The company has made huge improvements with training and applying processes and procedures consistently. The focus has genuinely shifted towards being client centric over the last 4 or so years than being driven by net profits. A clear vision has been communicated and continues to be communicated during our Town Hall meetings. It seems as though the company is attempting to show their appreciation towards their employees...

      Show More

      Cons

      The turnover rate at the Executive level over the last 10 years is astounding and concerning. The health insurance is expensive but offers good coverage. The company wants higher productivity with less employees, which strains the current staff and negatively affects moral. More employees need to be hired to process investment transactions; that is the backbone of what we do and it's currently the weakest link. There...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Take the time to hire Executives that are a good fit and will stay a minimum of 5 years. We really need stability at that level to continue to drive our vision and calm fears and anxiety across the company. Make sure each department is staffed to give our clients the best experience possible. Listen to what the client's wants and needs are and consider adjusting your approach based on their feedback. The only way...

      Show More
      Equity Trust Company2018-08-26
    Found 116 reviews