Equity Residential Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 768 of over 783 reviews

4.1
85%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Equity Residential President and CEO Mark Parrell
Mark Parrell
155 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Benefits & Professional Staff(in 47 reviews)

  • "great pay, positive work-life balance, easy going work environment(in 35 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Also upper management in Chicago is super all boys club with very little diversity with women or people of color(in 41 reviews)

  • "Not much of a work/life balance(in 37 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      This is a company that really cares

      Apr 13, 2021 - Manager in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I think what I love best about working here is how much people care about what they do. They care about their customers and they care about each other. The company also promotes giving back to the community with food drives, toy drives and volunteer days where you can volunteer for a charity.

      Cons

      Everyone is very busy and our plates are full. If you don't enjoy that, this may not be the place for you.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Equity Residential Response

      Operations Specialist

      5+ years with Equity and a 5 Star review - wow, thank you so much! We truly appreciate all of our employees, and completely agree with your perspective of the high level of care and dedication they deliver to our residents, the community, and to each other. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts, and for your continued commitment to Equity!

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Amazing inclusive company culture!

      Sep 23, 2021 - Community Manager in Chino Hills, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had recently left Equity due to relocating out of state but was with them for over 9 years. Everyone was extremely supportive and there was an amazing positive work environment at all communities.

      Cons

      I didn't have any complaints from the time I was there. I wish I could have taken them with me to my new state!

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Equity has the best culture and great for those that love learning!

      Sep 21, 2021 - Community Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great learning environment! The people are what make the magic. Lots of support despite difficult odds and short staffing which is everywhere. -Equity leaders know their stuff and it's great to be a part of a company that is on the leading edge of innovation in the industry. -Lots of opportunities to grow! -Cutting edge technology -Great structure that only comes with experience. -Transparency in leadership decision-making. -Company makes decisions with data AND empathy.

      Cons

      -Commissions are not as competitive but getting a lease is easier than it used to be so things sort of balance out. That said, it's tough to motivate experienced leasing staff since they know they can make way more in commissions at a privately held company. - Apartment discount isn't as competitive as other offers in the area. Lots of longtime or experienced employees have left for more competitive discounts. Nothing is free though and many of them have already returned to Equity as 'boomerangs'.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Very Professional and Amazing company

      Sep 20, 2021 - Leasing Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Being part of a big company Benefits

      Cons

      Management can be difficult at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Work/Life Balance & Mental Health - thing of the past

      Sep 21, 2021 - Community Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you work hard, you will be rewarded. You can easily make property management a life long career - lots of room for growth.

      Cons

      While Equity did a great job during the pandemic, the work/life balance that was provided and the push for mental health awareness has seemed to disappear. Gone are the days in which people have the option to work from home. Many of us had performed and kept the building running while working from home so why now the change? Of course in our industry, being present as a manager is a necessity at times but why not offer WFH 1 - 2 days per week. It seems that Equity is now "back to business" and does not care about mental health any longer. We are still in a pandemic, we still are stressed, we still are not back to "normal life'. Many employees wish that Equity could move forward with the times and revisit schedules, wfh opens, etc. This will entice new employees to apply, engage current employees & increase morale.

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Okay experience overall.

      Sep 21, 2021 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Rental discounts, opportunities for growth, great entry level Positions to enter into property management field

      Cons

      Large REIT, concerned with shareholders more than employees. Seems to be going into a direction of outsourcing tasks/jobs to 3rd parties. Implemented electronic assistant to help manage leads. Working from home is not available although most tasks do not warrant being in the office.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Lots of changes

      Sep 20, 2021 - Assistant Community Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      PTO Company outings New VP Open door policy

      Cons

      inexperienced onsite managers not a cohesive team constantly introducing new pilots

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Sharing My Experience

      Sep 17, 2021 - Groundskeeper in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great atmosphere Good Home/Work Balance Awesome Residents

      Cons

      None that I could think of.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great To Be A Part Of A Company That Is Evolving!!

      Aug 26, 2021 - Regional Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Very transparent reporting. You know where you stand. 2. Great people who have been with the organization for a long time. 3. Understanding they're not perfect and working towards solutions. 4. Diversity and Inclusion is evident and you can feel it. 5. Many opportunities for you if you earn it.

      Cons

      1. Very lean. That's all folks!

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Equity Residential Response

      Operations Specialist

      Thank you for the 5 star rating, as well as your 5+ years of service to our company! We appreciate you sharing your thoughts, and highlighting the great people at EQR, as well as our transparency through our metrics and reporting. We look forward to continuing to enjoy the ride with you as we continue to evolve!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Leasing

      Aug 25, 2021 - Leasing Consultant in Hoboken, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Commission and renewals are great ! Team is great to work with too.

      Cons

      I work every weekend but I love my community

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Equity Residential Response

      Operations Specialist

      We’re so flattered by your 5 star review - thank you! We love seeing our employees exemplify Equity’s 10 Ways and appreciate you “Seeing the Glass Half Full” and “Sharing the Spotlight”!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 768 Reviews

    Work at Equity Residential? Share Your Experiences

    Equity Residential logo
    or