Epitec Reviews

Updated May 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Epitec CEO Jerry Sheppard
Jerry Sheppard
177 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food every once in a while(in 33 reviews)

  • "Great company that contracts to other great companies(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Every week someone gets let go and it’s never addressed or spoken of(in 23 reviews)

  • "Extremely high turnover and employees are fired for(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "It's a Sales Culture. Only Good for Certain Personalities"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southfield, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Epitec full-time

    Pros

    Work from Home ops. Flexible Schedule Monday-Friday (No weekends really explicitly expected)

    Cons

    A lot, if you're not in to a sales culture.

    Epitec2020-05-11

    Epitec Response

    May 12, 2020COO

    Epitec leverages a sales culture, particularly in sales functions, such as sales or recruiting departments. Epitec delivers top talent to top clients. Our customers rely on Epitec to respond quickly to their needs with top talent that hold the capability required to solve their business problems. Our employees rely on Epitec to properly understand and describe each available position and to present jobs that meet their capabilities, expectations for compensation, and career goals. Our sales teams and recruiting teams rely heavily on relationship building, empathy, fact-finding, and negotiation. The operations of Epitec has a focus on accuracy and timeliness, minimizing redundancy and eliminating waste. Epitec is customer-focused, employee-driven, and process-oriented. All three fuel and guide our company culture in both Sales and Operations.

  2. "Strong Training and Strong Leadership...really enjoying this job and learning a ton!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Epitec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The training was top notch and incredibly organized. It's clear what your responsibilities/goals are and they give you the tools and methods to accomplish those. The incentives really motivate me to accomplish and exceed my goals.

    Cons

    It wasn't easy getting used to working remotely, but now I enjoy it.

    Epitec2020-04-24
  3. "Senior Information Architect"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Information Architect in Dearborn, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Epitec full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great placement connection with my Metro area

    Cons

    Laid off during recessions

    Epitec2020-03-17
  4. "Good experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Data Scientist 

    I have been working at Epitec full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good work environment. nice people

    Cons

    There are none at the moment

    Epitec2020-02-25
  5. Helpful (2)

    "termination notice only have less than one day"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Taylor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Epitec part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee support is timely and responsive

    Cons

    don't care about their worker

    Continue reading
    Epitec2020-03-05

    Epitec Response

    May 12, 2020COO

    I am sorry that you received short notice regarding the end of your contract position. Part-time positions may end abruptly and are difficult to anticipate the end date. Epitec cares about our employees and their employee experience. When a contract position ends, Epitec is ready to assist you with your transition to other opportunities. I am interested to hear what we could have done better to deliver the news of the end date and what expectations you have of Epitec once this news is communicated. Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to hearing back from you, mark@epitec.com.

  6. Helpful (10)

    "Get Fired or Get Threatened With a Lawsuit"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Recruiter in Southfield, MI
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Epitec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food You’ll meet some cool coworkers that you might up becoming friends with or even working with again somewhere else

    Cons

    They prey on people to join their company, get you to sign the most insanely restrictive non-compete agreement you’ll ever see in your life. If you ever choose to leave on your own to further your career, you will sit down with an HR person who will kindly threaten you and remind you of the non-compete. Every 5 star review you see on here from an internal staff member is because they were forced to write it. This business is completely unethical. None of the leaders have any experience in upper management from other companies, nor do they have any higher education other than a bachelors degree. The company itself is a revolving door. Every week someone gets let go and it’s never addressed or spoken of. If you’re considering a job here I would STRONGLY encourage you to search “Oakland County Court Explorer” and then under business name search Epitec. You will see for yourself how many lawsuits they’ve filed against former employees. Don’t walk, run away from this place.

    Continue reading
    Epitec2020-01-17

    Epitec Response

    May 12, 2020COO

    I am eager to discuss in person or via phone call (248-864-71-21), should you have any reservations joining Epitec because of this post. Epitec encourages our employees to provide feedback, good and bad. While education is not necessarily an indicator of management ability, several Epitec managers are top-ranked graduates holding advanced degrees. Our Executive management team is diverse and experienced in the staffing industry. Epitec's Customer retention rate exceeds 98%. Epitec is ranked "101 Best and Brightest Companies to Work for", in Michigan and Nationally, for the past 13 years. Epitec invests heavily to provide services that satisfy our customers and employees. At times these are competing demands. Staffing is a challenging industry but a rewarding industry for many of us.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Extremely high turnover"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in West Palm Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Epitec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They let you work from home one to two days a week.

    Cons

    Extremely high turnover and employees are fired for “no reason” all the time. It’s easy to get hired and even easier to get fired. Very minimal training and a lot is expected right out the door. Lots of drinking around the office.

    Continue reading
    Epitec2019-12-10

    Epitec Response

    December 14, 2019COO

    I’m sorry that you were not able to have success at Epitec. Training and development are critical to the success of all our employees whether they are new or tenured. Thank you for acknowledging the importance of training. Epitec spends many hundreds of thousands of dollars and many thousands of hours training employees each year. Our training efforts are continuously being improved year over year. I’d like to hear specifically where we fell short with you. Please contact me via email mjruma@epitec.com

  8. "Great position with great benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Drafter in Rapid City, SD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Epitec full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great company that contracts to other great companies

    Cons

    - Uncertainty when contract ends

    Epitec2019-09-06
  9. "N/A"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter 

    I have been working at Epitec full-time

    Pros

    Great company culture and solid incentives

    Cons

    None that I can think of currently

    Continue reading
    Epitec2019-09-03
  10. "I have been working at Epitec for more than a year"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Devops Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Epitec full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers, lots of opportunities to learn and grow.

    Cons

    Medical benefits could be expanded.

    Epitec2019-08-19
Found 248 reviews