Enel X Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Enel X Reviews

Updated Feb 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
Enel X CEO Francesco Venturini
Francesco Venturini
1 Rating
Pros
  • "great people, real innovation and great work life balance(in 21 reviews)

  • "Great benefits - smart people - great teams(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Employees are so passionate about the work that they sometimes don't ensure work/life balance by setting boundaries for work time(in 17 reviews)

  • "Disconnected and disinterested upper management(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Job - Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Enel X full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The company had a positive work atmosphere with pro-team mentality. Lots of opportunity for advancement in the early years. It's a great place to start your career off in the Energy Space.

    Cons

    With all large corporations/companies, there were a lot of changes going on as the company grew. If you're not accustomed to a lot of changes in the workplace it might not be the place for you.

    Enel X2018-02-23
  2. "Database Maintenance Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Data Entry in North York, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at Enel X full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice working Environment, flexible to needs

    Cons

    growth opportunity is less, work overload

    Enel X2017-10-10
  3. Helpful (6)

    "The people keep me here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Enel X full-time

    Pros

    The Vancouver office is full of young, interesting people who are all very similar so it creates a cohesive social culture. Flexible schedules, no micromanaging and generally relaxed atmosphere to work in.

    Cons

    Unless you have direct links to Boston I'm uncertain of how to progress your career in the Vancouver office. HR seems a bit clueless about what "remote" employees value despite attempting to demonstrate otherwise. The utility product has a long way to go.

    Continue reading
    Enel X2016-04-12
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Wonderful company with a great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Product Management in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Enel X

    Pros

    My job at EnerNOC is the most enjoyable I've had in my career. The people are high-calibre and are united on a mission I care deeply about - to change the way the world uses energy. I would highly recommend EnerNOC to friends as a place to work.

    Cons

    The company is in a period of transition having acquired several companies and rapidly expanding the software business. This is a great challenge and environment for those that are up for it but there are still many details to work out.

    Continue reading
    Enel X2016-04-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "EnerNOC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Enel X full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Leading technology in an innovative and relevant industry Industry has a tangible and direct impact Industry and products are so varied and expansive that there are numerous avenues to grow your career.

    Cons

    Industry can be misunderstood Acquisitions have caused some confusion in the processes and goals with duplication of design and effort. While the corporate culture is very vibrant is does seem disjointed between teams.

    Continue reading
    Enel X2016-04-04
  6. "Cool Tech with Green Concious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Enel X

    Pros

    Cool technology Environmentally conscious company Solid salary and benefits

    Cons

    Unclear product future A lot of effort going into consolidating products from acquired companies

    Enel X2016-04-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, meaningful work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience/UI Designer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Enel X full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are a do-gooder like me, but still want to work in a field that deal with real solutions to the world's environmental problems, EnerNOC is a great place. Our Vancouver office has a great culture, people understand the connection between personal health and professional performance. The distance between management and workers is short.

    Cons

    Pay. Canadian pay does not live up to Silicon Valley standards for a UX/UI designer. Especially not in a place like Vancouver.

    Enel X2016-04-01
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Let's Keep It Real"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Enel X full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There's enough flexibility, autonomy, perks, professional development and good honest people to make it a decent nine-to-fiver. The Vancouver office is well within downtown with easy access to food, entertainment, culture, beer and public transit. I don't have to wear a tie. Good fit for people of different age, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation... a 'everybody's welcome' mentality. And there is almost more interest in health and fitness than work. <---That's not a bad thing.

    Cons

    But as a business...Honestly, I wouldn't personally use the products myself. In other words, its not that inspiring or motivating. Internal processes could be much better. Lack of professional advancement. Bottom line, this is a place you will easily grow out of.

    Enel X2016-04-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Eminently average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Enel X full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Some talented, helpful & approachable co-workers - Working from home readily accepted; the assumption is you do not need micromanaging and you will get your work done. - Vancouver office easily accessible by public transit. - Options for training & occasional travel (if you're friendly with the right people). - As mentioned in a previous review, it's a decent 9-5 job, but the general attitude of both employees and management seems to be "meh"

    Cons

    - The flat management hierarchy is supposed to encourage "meritocracy", but the reality is that only people with political connection, social capital, access to management and a loud voice have their ideas heard. Ideas that challenge the status quo are welcome here in name only. If you want to be heard and make a difference for the better, go elsewhere. - Adequate management & team coordination is sorely lacking. Self managing teams are supposed to organically coalesce and function efficiently. Ample evidence to the contrary is routinely ignored. - Paths to promotion are poorly defined and subject to political maneuvering rather than talent. Opportunities for professional advancement are sparse and grudgingly dispensed. - Salaries below market average for Vancouver. - Substandard workspace for half the Vancouver office. If you attend an interview, you get taken to the floor with the kitchen, big windows & shiny desks. Most of product development is on the floor with poor ventilation, poor lighting (esp in winter), non-functional kitchen, loose wires, broken chairs & forgotten filing cabinets.

    Continue reading
    Enel X2016-04-04
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Management asked us to write reviews... so here it is."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Enel X full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Young team of coders, data scientists and engineers. However, all this talent is being wasted working on useless products cooked up by MBAs lacking imagination and proper experience.

    Cons

    Promotions are not based on merit but on plain seniority and subduedness (exemplified by the extremely poor management of the data science team). Salaries are below average for Vancouver and are just unfair. Employees are paid the same absolute amount irrespective of their degrees and total working hours. Product development management sits in the same open space as coders and data scientists and somehow believes that their sheer presence ensures good leadership. However, this approach (the self-organizing myth another reviewer alluded to) failed in many occasions: people do whatever they want without any vision or direction. Furthermore, their understanding of energy efficiency and of the underlying statistical concepts is clearly lacking and lead to numerous failed programs.

    Continue reading
    Enel X2016-04-19

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 376 reviews