Emco Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Emco Corporation Reviews

Updated Dec 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
64%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Emco Corporation President and CEO Rick Fantham (no image)
Rick Fantham
56 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "profit sharing is not divided equally(in 18 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Overall a good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Trainee in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emco Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy, lots of support from upper management, flexible, and tons of professional development

    Cons

    Lower pay than average (which at the beginning of a career should not matter) but if you're intelligent, there's tons of money to be made in distribution. It's not a corporate downtown office setting that most people gravitate towards, so you have to be comfortable with "getting your hands dirty"

    Emco Corporation2019-10-21
  2. "High Expectations and Overtime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable Clerk in London, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Emco Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, Business Casual Dress and 80% reimbursement for most work related education and training.

    Cons

    Poor management of teammates's workload results in high amount of overtime.

    Advice to Management

    Increase communication with teammates to help manage/forecast workload; this can lead to providing opportunity to investigate technologies and process analysis to increase efficiency of department.

    Emco Corporation2019-12-14
  3. "Sales Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Emco Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to move up within the company, very young environment to work in.

    Cons

    Opportunity for bonus lacks structure.

    Emco Corporation2019-10-28
  4. "A good company with its drawbacks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC

    I have been working at Emco Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly team and management Average compensation

    Cons

    Very few opportunities for promotion Lack of organisation

    Emco Corporation2019-10-25
  5. "SDP in calgary and montreal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDP 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emco Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible mentors, able to learn lots about different aspects of the business. If your branch manager is good, your life will be good. Alberta's economy isnt great for the industry, but they have a much better defined system for SDPs. As an SDP in Alberta you have a realistic shot at moving up the rungs of the company.

    Cons

    SDP program in Quebec is essentially a scam to move university graduates into warehouse and retail sales roles at a pay that is below a warehouse worker at the competition.

    Emco Corporation2019-10-31
  6. "Amazing place to focus on your development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Trainee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emco Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy, development opportunities, fun, inclusive

    Cons

    Position requires the ability to relocate

    Emco Corporation2019-10-11
  7. "Material Handler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Material Handler 

    I have been working at Emco Corporation full-time

    Pros

    great opportunity to grow, corporate culture

    Cons

    No cons in such but hard testing

    Emco Corporation2019-09-27
  8. "Great Corporate Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Material Handler in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Emco Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and plenty of opportunity to grow with the company.

    Cons

    Repetitive and labour-intensive work.

    Emco Corporation2019-09-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Account Manager in Grande Prairie, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emco Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Entrepreneurial Atmosphere Management involves us with business decisions Profit Share (if PC is profitable) Great Manager

    Cons

    Low base salary The direction of the business is a bit foggy at times

    Emco Corporation2019-09-10
  10. "SCAM - Positive reviews are from management!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategic Development Program in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Emco Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    **The positive reviews are FAKE. Those are from top management looking to lure people in** Fun people. Everyone seems motivated but a lot of them are visibly getting burnt out. Lot of energy at the workplace.

    Cons

    Management is terrible. They make up this story about running your own profit center, when actually you're being hired to work in the warehouse. Indefinitely. There NO timeline in the warehouse, contrary to what the brochure tells you. I didn't believe the negative reviews about it being a scam because I thought people were venting and complaining but it's a fact. When I spoke to my manager about this in a... PC at Ontario in April 2019, after having spent a little over 6 months in the warehouse, he said that I have to wait till an opportunity opens up in his PC for me to apply. Sorry but that is SO vague, what if I have to spend 3 years in the warehouse to move up? What if the PC shuts down after 3 years? What "relative work experience" would I put down in my resume for me to move on somewhere else? Sorry but this wasn't said to me while being hired in October 2019. No wonder the company is struggling to get young motivated staff on board, at this rate, the company will collapse within a decade.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be honest about what people will do in this program and use talent efficiently. Place qualified talent in departments where they would be a good fit - this would benefit the company in the long run.

    Emco Corporation2019-10-13
Found 77 reviews