Edward Jones "door to door" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Edward Jones Employee Reviews about "door to door"

Updated Feb 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Edward Jones Managing Partner  Penny Pennington
Penny Pennington
235 Ratings
Pros
  • "We are given an enormous amount of support from our home office(in 159 reviews)

  • "Great Training, Back Office Support was wonderful, the FA I worked with was easy to get along with and good communication(in 156 reviews)

Cons
  • "You will build your book from scratch (see door knocking)(in 173 reviews)

  • "and the door to door portion of the job when you start out(in 158 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Featured Divisions of Edward Jones

Reviews about "door to door"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones
    Helpful (1)

    "Financial Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in North York, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best training in the industry. Friendly work environment, and a competitive salary. Love the company's culture.

    Cons

    Get used to Door-to-door prospecting.

    Edward Jones2019-02-20
  2. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones

    "Tough place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great support, very client driven

    Cons

    High expectations, door to door cold calling is tough

    Edward Jones2020-01-07
  3. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones

    "Good training and learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learning opportunities, Outstanding training provided

    Cons

    Door to door relationship building

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2019-09-16
  4. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones
    Helpful (8)

    "Two sides to every story - those who drink the koolaid and those who don't."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Whitby, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training, paid licensing, salary, good image with potential employers when you exit. EJ paid me for well over a year at top whack, licensed me and let me walk away into a bank job. Fantastic!

    Cons

    1 - very very few advisors are successful because of prospecting. My experience was overwhelmingly of advisors having been grandfathered business, and then pretending to new fa's that propsecting was how they made it. All successful practices are built on referrals not door to door marketing. It's old fashioned and largely pointless. 2. Too easy to game the system, no interrogation of your pipeline unless you are on performance measures. 3. Volunteerism - great in principle, but the people supporting you in the field are amateurs. My level leader used to work in fast food management and his technique was built around motivating teenagers, not high achieving experienced fa's.

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2019-02-24
  5. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones
    Helpful (4)

    "old styles of managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    earning expectations are very attractive

    Cons

    door to door sales will little support of payoff

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2017-10-23
  6. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones

    "financial advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Financial Advisor Trainee in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones

    Pros

    amazing place helps you make a lot of money

    Cons

    door to door knocking and rejection

    Edward Jones2017-06-16
  7. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones
    Helpful (2)

    "Investment Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Advisor in Montreal, QC

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    tremendous support, good work admosphere

    Cons

    Model a bit strenuous for New Investment Advisors, Door to door presentations in local communities during training.

    Edward Jones2016-06-29
  8. Edward Jones - Financial Advisors | Division of Edward Jones

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture is great with very motivated people.

    Cons

    SIE exam, Series 7 Exam, Series 66 exam...the credentials was hardest part...and the door to door portion of the job when you start out.

    Edward Jones2020-02-12
  9. Edward Jones - Home Office | Division of Edward Jones

    "A good company but residential door to door prospecting is required."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor Associate in Huntington, IN

    I have been working at Edward Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The training is very good and the local associates were supportive.

    Cons

    This job is a sale job and daily door to door prospecting is required.

    Edward Jones2019-12-08
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Be Prepared for Door-to-Door Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor Trainee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Edward Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training was top notch. The firm pays you while you are studying for licensing exams. Some folks in the region seem to genuinely care about one another.

    Cons

    You must be excited about going door-to-door in residential neighborhoods trying to "sell" your services and the firm's services. If you are not passionate about this process, you will struggle. Be prepared for long days with the hope of getting a handful of phone numbers each day (if you're good and lucky enough to catch folks home). Hopefully, of the phone numbers you get, some will answer when you call. Of those that answer, hopefully a few will agree to meet with you. Of those that meet with you, hopefully a few will open accounts and move assets. Then you continue this process for 3-5 years until your book of business is built. Other FAs will tell you that they built their business without door-knocking. It rare, especially at the beginning.

    Continue reading
    Edward Jones2019-11-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 158 reviews