Edmunds.com Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 of over 325 reviews

4.1
73%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Edmunds.com CEO Avi Steinlauf
Avi Steinlauf
210 Ratings
Pros
  • "ROWE (results only work environment) allows for flexible schedule and remote options even prior to covid(in 52 reviews)

  • "The work/life balance is the best I've seen or heard of(in 32 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "A lot of the great work that happens in the office doesn't always translate well when we interact with dealers and customers(in 14 reviews)

  • "Edmunds is located in Santa Monica(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Amazing Work Life Balance and Learning Opportunities

      Oct 28, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Edmunds really takes care of their employees, especially during remote work in the pandemic. There are small things like Thinking Thursdays and extending Summer Fridays that really help with recharging and becoming a more productive worker. I was beyond burnt out from my previous company because of being overworked in a remote environment, which I imagine a lot of people are facing right now. Quitting that job and being hired at Edmunds has completely changed that, and my work-life balance is so amazing now. Meetings are focused and productive, deadlines and expectations are manageable, and I feel very rewarded for the work that I am doing. Weekly departmental and Cadillac Catch-up meetings with the CEO have been great for fostering innovation and cross-pollination of different domains. Coming from a fast-paced product-driven company, this has been amazing to experience, with time in the week actually dedicated towards growth and learning outside of immediate job responsibilities. The people here are some of the smartest and respectful people I have ever worked with, and as a remote new-hire I have felt super welcomed, especially with the Workplace Experience and PITSTOP teams making the transition very easy and accommodating during my onboarding.

      Cons

      It can be overwhelming at times when ramping up on automotive domain knowledge (especially for newcomers), internal Edmunds tooling, and documentation on all of the different processes and systems, but this has been getting better with time and experience. My advice for new hires is to be mindful of the Dunning-Kruger effect and to have a growth mindset.

      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      What a Hot Mess

      Dec 15, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Rowe was great before it was taken away Pay was pretty good for the market, but bonuses were taken away after the company started experiencing headwinds in 2017 Work life balance was pretty amazing This was a great place to work prior to fall of 2017

      Cons

      Leadership has zero long term vision. The entire company once paused working on anything meaningful to pursue chatbots for half of a year while other competitors are Edmunds’ lunch. What’s really upsetting is that all of the senior leadership that allowed the company to sink are still with the company! As a result of this, there is not much career mobility at all. There have been 2 rounds of layoffs one in 2017 and one in 2020, with the 2020 layoffs being the most severe. As others have stated, an email was sent out over holiday break detailing that there would be layoffs making everyone fear for their jobs and basically ruining any semblance of the holiday.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Edmunds is the best company I have worked for

      Jul 16, 2020 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Private company owned by a family who really cares about their employees. - Very smart people work at Edmunds who really care about the work. - Great work/life balance

      Cons

      - The auto industry is going through some big changes right now, requiring the company to make changes to be able to compete in the new landscape. For many people change is difficult.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Incredible Place to Work

      Jul 9, 2019 - Graphic Designer in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work/life balance is the best I've seen or heard of. In addition to having great hours and flexible working from home policies, the Santa Monica office has tons of different work spaces — outdoors, comfy couches, swinging chairs, a library, bike and treadmill desks, and quiet rooms — so you never feel chained to your assigned desk. Edmunds is strongly based on transparency and growth, both individually and as a company. So, you always know how the company is doing and you get a real sense of how your work aligns with the company goals. Individually speaking, there are always opportunities for the employees to set personal goals in order to grow within the company. If there's a skill, software, or program you're interesting in learning, the managers will go out of their way to make that possible. Overall, I've always felt extremely supported and well taken care of, which makes me take great pride in the work that I do. AND, as an added bonus, the people are super smart and really fun to work with :)

      Cons

      I have yet to experience any downsides to working at Edmunds. It's a place I can see myself working at for years to come.

      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Poor leadership/poor decisions

      Jan 15, 2020 - Sales in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great coworkers- good pay/benefits. Good work/life balance (but thats based on who you report to)

      Cons

      Pitiful upper management/leadership. This once great Brand has been run into the ground from years of poor leadership....going ALL the way up. In a very competitive and every changing vertical, the leadership has literally remained unchanged, even through this latest round of layoffs. The issues are many. Poor performing old product set, deteriorating culture, no room for personal or professional growth, and poor leadership. All of this combined spells doom, The latest changes addressed none of those issues. The same people in place ...making the same poor business decisions. Its a sad situation, and i feel for anyone still there.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best Job I've ever had

      Jul 10, 2019 - Manager in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hard work is rewarded and acknowledged, good people, good culture, opportunities for development, work/life balance, perks, great benefits, clear vision and feeling of 'togetherness'. I've really enjoyed working here and have always had a fairly positive outlook on the state of the company (despite others opinions). I've worked for not so great companies in the past, ones where I was constantly micro-managed and belittled. Coming to Edmunds was like a breath of fresh air. I've never worked for a company that values my hard work as much as Edmunds does. This is the longest I've ever worked for a company because the people/culture is one that is hard to leave. Also everyday presents a new challenge and I love it.

      Cons

      Can't think of any honestly. I've been here over 3 years and I don't have any complaints.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      This is an honest review. I hope this helps fellow job seekers.

      Sep 22, 2019 - Data Service Analyst in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cool building and a lot of free food.

      Cons

      I was told that I would be able to learn SQL and a lot of other useful skills that would continue to help me grow professionally. Additionally, I was told that the work life balance was great due to their ROWE policy. I was also advised that their training was top notch and that they would allow me time to learn the role while providing attainable performance goals. This was not my experience. In terms of useful skills, this role was 50% waiting on hold from external inventory providers, while the other half was doing endless task from a queue to fix various discrepancies on the Edmunds.com website. I never dealt with databases or SQL EVER. Next, the ROWE policy is an excuse not to give employees time off. Result oriented work environment. If you get your work done, you get time off. Sounds good unless you are never done with your work. I worked 60 hours a week at that office and had to take home a laptop and do additional work after I got home. Its a salary position so forget about OT. Finally, the training I got was rushed, non specific, and from individuals who had worked there multiple years and didn't want to train people. Not to mention half the people in the department were fired while I was there. Fortunately, I found a job and quit before I received the boot as well. Those were all hard working and intelligent people who didn't deserve the treatment they got.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good work/life balance. Unrealistic goals, core product performs poorly

      Mar 5, 2019 - Relationship Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work/life balance is good. There are some good people to work with

      Cons

      lack of direction supported by a thought out strategy and implementation plan. issues with product performance and development. unrealistic KPI's

      9 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Heartbreaking

      Nov 15, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I came to work here because they were transparent, they were creative, they tried new things and usually admitted when they didn't work. They gave us freedom to be productive. We had an amazing work/life balance, the culture was great, managment seemed intelligent, the salary and benefits were outstanding. This was the type of company I had bee hoping to work for...FINALLY I was!

      Cons

      They are transparent when it's convenient, they don't fix the issues they currently have with product, instead they create new product which doesn't work either. They can't decide what the new focus should be on but it's not retention for the outside sales team. They no long admit when they are wrong. They don't do any traditional advertising but spend MILLIONS on Google, which isn't helping drive new traffic to their site. Dealers will say "I've never heard of you why would I give you any of my dollars" There are no plans in the works to adjust this way of thinking. Edmunds is 50+ years old and they are thinking like they are still in that time period of the publication days. Rumor is that there is another round of layoff's coming but I'm sure it will be just under that 10% mark in order to avoid red flags as it was in the first round.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company, tries hard to be good at too many things...

      Oct 30, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance, senior management is very open and transparent about the performance of the company, product successes, shortcomings, tries to keep employees involved in major decisions on things such as benefits. It has been my experience that the company is open to trying different things, if something doesn't work, they aren't afraid to admit it, apologize, try to learn from it and move on. Great office environment, ROWE, opportunities to collaborate and contribute to different teams within the office. Great benefits. People have high level sounding titles but are really down to earth.

      Cons

      The .com portion of the company, as in the website, is shaky at best. Relies a lot on advertising, which is understandable, but too many ads on the site, the site isn't easy to use, slow. They want to make a big push into mobile and used cars, but the tools on the site, apps, aren't as informative or intuitive as they could be. Before all the kinks are worked out of one process or product, another focus, push or direction is announced. No clear career pathways are laid out. Kind of get in where you fit in, make your mark and hope to move up the ladder.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 38 Reviews

    Work at Edmunds.com? Share Your Experiences

    Edmunds.com logo
    or