Economical Insurance "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Economical Insurance Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jun 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Economical Insurance President and CEO Rowan Saunders
Rowan Saunders
41 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "underwriting assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Economical Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work culture and work life balance.

    Cons

    Nothing much to mention here.

    Economical Insurance2019-02-07

    Economical Insurance Response

    June 20, 2019Sr HR communication Specialist

    Thanks so much for taking the time to share your positive experience with Economical. We hope that through maintaining a great work culture and giving you the flexibility you value, we never will have any “cons” for you to list! Positive and energetic team members like yourself are the reason we’re growing, and we can’t thank you enough for your enthusiasm and hard work.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Economical Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced work environment, decent salary

    Cons

    Company keeps changing new practices and policies,they expect a lot from their employees, sometimes they setup unrealistic goals. Management is cruel Lack of growth opportunities. no work life balance,poor culture

    Economical Insurance2019-06-26

    Economical Insurance Response

    January 14, 2020Sr HR communication Specialist

    We appreciate hearing from you about your work experience. It’s true that Economical offers an exciting and fast-paced work environment, and rewards employees with pay and perks deserving of their effort and results. We’re sorry to hear you’re unhappy with some important aspects of your career with us. Staying customer-focused and helpful in a rapidly changing industry takes a lot of work, and we couldn’t do it without excellent front-line team members like you! We’d love to discuss your concerns further and help any way we can. Please contact Human Resources to begin the conversation.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Its a great learning journey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auto Claims Adjuster in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Economical Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is great and the co-workers are very helpful and nice. The group benefits are great.

    Cons

    The management! they micro manage you on everything. The claim process are so complicated and they use dinosaur technology. Your immediate team lead will make you look so bad infront of management. No opportunity to grow. Almost everyone at the company has a first written letter given to them by the 4rth month. If they like you, your opinion matters the most if they hate you. They will find every possible thing to make you look bad. Absolutely no work life balance. If you enjoy working the 9-5 and then go home and work some more to catch up great! There is no open door policy. Have reached out to HR on many different occasions however the HR always sides with management and no real action is taken. Co-workers are pushed to focus time working than interact with eachother. No employee engagememt. No event overall vrry boring and robotic

    Continue reading
    Economical Insurance2019-06-25

    Economical Insurance Response

    January 14, 2020Sr HR communication Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We’re pleased to know your time with us was a good learning experience, and that you appreciated the pay and benefits. We aim to provide a satisfying work experience, and our total rewards package is a key part of that. We’re proud of our people, and happy that you had a positive experience with your team at Economical. We’re disappointed to hear about your difficult experiences with certain work relationships and responsibilities. Although you’re no longer with the company, we’d appreciate any further information you can share to help us improve. Just contact our Human Resources department.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Customer Service Hero"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Hero in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at Economical Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture Open and non-restrictive dress code Work/life balance options Rewarding team events Ergonomic office Opportunities for career advancement Positive environment with great company values 3 week vacation & full benefits first day of job

    Cons

    Offices - TORONTO & MONTREAL only Not very many opportunities for career advancement (limited positions), although CIP training & career related education is paid for. Growing company - lots of process changes, trial and error. Job duties can change with changing processes from time to time. Shift work (productivity, attendance and work results affect shift bid). You may get stuck with a shift you don't want.

    Economical Insurance2019-01-21

    Economical Insurance Response

    June 20, 2019Sr HR communication Specialist

    We’re so happy that you’re enjoying your experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing some areas where we can do better. It’s true that growing pains are part of the process when companies like ours expand and change to meet the demands of today’s customers. We’ve had many process changes in an effort to continually improve. And to that end, we greatly value employees being open-minded to finding the best solutions.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great company with great work perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Economical Insurance for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of team building exercises. Huge company with lots of opportunity. Meaningful work. Great work-life balance! Casual dress code!

    Cons

    Sometimes I want to wear a suit..? jk, no cons

    Continue reading
    Economical Insurance2018-10-24
  6. "Technical Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Economical Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Nice location, work life balance

    Cons

    Poor leadership, structure, job uncertainty

    Continue reading
    Economical Insurance2018-09-26

    Economical Insurance Response

    December 4, 2018Sr HR communication Specialist

    Thank you for outlining some points for consideration as we work to keep raising the bar as a company. We’re pleased to hear you experienced good work life balance in your time here. We hear from many employees that this is a valued part of their employment experience. Economical is working through a number of transformational initiatives to change the way we do business. With the size of these projects comes a certain level of uncertainty, challenge and change. But we believe the changes will allow us to remain a competitive company well into the future.

    Continue reading
  7. "Underwriting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Economical Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Good work environment, good work life balance

    Cons

    Currently restructuring, undergoing several management changes

    Continue reading
    Economical Insurance2017-11-19

    Economical Insurance Response

    May 23, 2018Director, Shared Services

    Thanks for your comments. We make it a priority to offer a fun and rewarding work environment, with initiatives like Spirit events, wellness challenges, and recognition programs. But the biggest influence is our employees who bring their best every day! As you mentioned, we’re continually improving organizational design to keep ahead of changing industry and business needs. Thanks for your support as we align people and teams for success as we pursue our ambitious goals. We continually assess ways to retain all talent by offering a rewarding work environment, which includes professional development, rewards, recognition, and career opportunities.

    Continue reading
  8. "Let's Rethink Insurance, Together..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training Project Coordinator in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Economical Insurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    We have fantastic programs and initiatives that are offered by Economical such as wellness initiatives, pensions and benefits programs, work/life balance offerings as well as Social events and activities provided throughout the year. Our company is also striving to be the best it can be by introducing new and innovative projects that allow for growth and development. Economical provides an ambitious, fun and rewarding environment that I am very proud to be a part of.

    Cons

    Work/Life balance not supported in all departments Be more transparent with change Management too busy to support their teams

    Continue reading
    Economical Insurance2017-05-24

    Economical Insurance Response

    June 20, 2017Director, Shared Services

    Thanks for your review. I agree, we have something special at Economical and it shows through many employee programs and company initiatives. But our real strength is our employees, so thanks for bringing your best every day. Flexible work options, such as compressed work weeks, flex hours, and telecommuting, can and do vary depending on the business needs of each specific department. We encourage you to speak with your leader if you have any questions about the other company-wide programs we have in place to support a healthy work/life balance: paid vacation and volunteer time, wellness programs, personal needs days, and employee and family assistance programs. It’s true that we’re going through many changes, keeping everyone — including our leaders — busy. These changes sometimes create competing priorities and changes in plans. We welcome feedback like this, which challenges us to keep evaluating how and when we communicate changes and engage employees throughout the process.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Highly dysfunctional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Economical Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. You could shoot a cannon through the place at lunch hour or after 4:30.

    Cons

    You will never advance unless someone at the top likes you or you are really good at speaking without ever offering an opinion or asking a question.

    Continue reading
    Economical Insurance2017-03-06

    Economical Insurance Response

    June 6, 2017Director, Shared Services

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. Creating an environment that promotes a strong work/life balance is important to us, and I’m glad to hear this was a positive part of your experience at Economical. We have ambitious goals, and we understand there will be some challenges along the way. We’ve set out to be the first Canadian P&C insurer to successfully demutualize, and we’re also actively pursuing new technologies to benefit customers, brokers, and employees. By sharing our strategy and progress with all employees electronically and in person at annual symposiums, we’ve been taking positive steps towards ensuring our employees have a clear view to how they support the strategy with the work they do every day. We’re sorry to hear you felt there were limited opportunities for advancement in your career at Economical. We regularly assess and enhance our learning and development programs to support employees in their career, including paid career development opportunities, online leadership training, and a virtual library with thousands of books, videos, and courses available to all employees. We also welcome feedback (like yours) to challenge us to push the envelope even further and facilitate advancement opportunities. In 2016, for example, 21% of employees were either promoted or transferred to new positions.

    Continue reading
  10. "Nice place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer Student in Kitchener, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Economical Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice team environments, co-workers are open and willing to help you learn Lots of avenues to grow your career and pick up new skills Culture places an emphasis on work life balance

    Cons

    Some bureaucracy can prevent you from really having an impact Lack of communication between teams can lead to cases of broken telephone Company is slow to adapt to change and will take time to shift gears

    Continue reading
    Economical Insurance2017-03-02

    Economical Insurance Response

    May 31, 2017Director, Shared Services

    Thanks for your comments. It’s great to hear you’ve found Economical to be such a welcoming place. We have something special here, and our employees keep telling us this is a fun and rewarding place to work. We’ve been making significant investments in our business and the industry is taking notice. In 2016, we were honoured as P&C Insurer of the Year at the 2016 Insurance Business Awards. Our newly launched direct distribution company, Sonnet, was recognized with the 2017 Technology Award and the 2017 People’s Choice Technology Award at the Insurance-Canada.ca Technology Conference. Sonnet also received an international innovation award for its sophisticated implementation of the Guidewire platform. These awards affirm our efforts to be a game-changer in the Canadian insurance industry, leveraging technology to serve our customers better. There’s more to come as we get ready to launch a new broker policy administration system, refine our processes, and continue to make substantial technology improvements that will benefit customer, brokers, and our employees. Be sure to check out our Jam Sessions on our intranet for leader updates, and send your feedback to our Share inbox or talk to your leader about your ideas.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 24 reviews