Economical Insurance Claims Adjuster Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Economical Insurance Claims Adjuster Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
6%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Economical Insurance President and CEO Rowan Saunders
Rowan Saunders
2 Ratings
  1. "Auto claims adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auto Claims Adjuster in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Economical Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, pension, bonus. Fun team events. Supportive co-workers.

    Cons

    Poor management, not a lot of opportunity for growth. Very repetitive. Sitting for long length of time.

    Continue reading
    Economical Insurance2017-12-11

    Economical Insurance Response

    May 23, 2018Director, Shared Services

    Thanks for your comments. It’s good to hear we’re getting a lot of things right — including things like compensation, rewards, and culture which benefit all our employees. I’m not sure from your review how recently you worked with Economical, but I’m happy to tell you that we’re making strides in some of the areas you mentioned needed improvement. For example, we now have sit/stand desks that support better ergonomics. And we’re working hard to improve transparency by sharing our strategy with all employees, along with quarterly financial results updates and annual symposiums. Your feedback is appreciated.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "High work load, lots of adjuster burnout."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Economical Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - knowledgable team leads - decent benefits - good advancement opportunities

    Cons

    - the scary high turnover rate - management does not seem to listen to adjusters - lack of parity in pay - the high workload for claim adjusters - no accountability in file handling due to live queues

    Economical Insurance2019-07-22

    Economical Insurance Response

    January 14, 2020Sr HR communication Specialist

    Thank you for your candid comments about your role with us. We’re pleased to hear you’ve had good experiences with your rewards package, leadership, and career advancement opportunities. These are key elements to a satisfying career, and we work hard to make them consistent and strong. We take feedback seriously and are committed to addressing any concerns of our employees. We’d love to chat about the issues you’ve listed and invite you to contact an Human Resources. We will help out in any way we can.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Its a great learning journey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auto Claims Adjuster in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Economical Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is great and the co-workers are very helpful and nice. The group benefits are great.

    Cons

    The management! they micro manage you on everything. The claim process are so complicated and they use dinosaur technology. Your immediate team lead will make you look so bad infront of management. No opportunity to grow. Almost everyone at the company has a first written letter given to them by the 4rth month. If they like you, your opinion matters the most if they hate you. They will find every possible thing to make you look bad. Absolutely no work life balance. If you enjoy working the 9-5 and then go home and work some more to catch up great! There is no open door policy. Have reached out to HR on many different occasions however the HR always sides with management and no real action is taken. Co-workers are pushed to focus time working than interact with eachother. No employee engagememt. No event overall vrry boring and robotic

    Continue reading
    Economical Insurance2019-06-25

    Economical Insurance Response

    January 14, 2020Sr HR communication Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We’re pleased to know your time with us was a good learning experience, and that you appreciated the pay and benefits. We aim to provide a satisfying work experience, and our total rewards package is a key part of that. We’re proud of our people, and happy that you had a positive experience with your team at Economical. We’re disappointed to hear about your difficult experiences with certain work relationships and responsibilities. Although you’re no longer with the company, we’d appreciate any further information you can share to help us improve. Just contact our Human Resources department.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Indifferent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Economical Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team environment, manageable workload, good benefits

    Cons

    poor management communication on expectations, stiff workplace (Timed bathroom and lunches), not a lot of opportunity for growth, makes it challenging to want to stay especially for younger employees

    Continue reading
    Economical Insurance2017-08-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Claims Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Claims Adjuster in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Economical Insurance for less than a year

    Pros

    The work life balance at Economical Insurance is very good. The management wants you to succeed and invest heavily in your career growth and training. As with most jobs, paying attention to detail and constantly making an effort to do better at your job will not go unnoticed.

    Cons

    The management can sometimes be inefficient in decision making as this company is making a transition to compete better within the P&C Insurance industry. Other than that, there aren't many cons of working here really.

    Continue reading
    Economical Insurance2016-07-28

    Economical Insurance Response

    June 20, 2017Director, Shared Services

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. I’m happy to hear work/life balance, growth, and recognition are rewarding aspects of your career with Economical. And yes, it’s a time of exciting changes as we set out to achieve our vision to be one of Canada’s top P&C insurers and become the first Canadian P&C insurance company to successfully demutualize. The changes and decisions required to accomplish our ambitious goals can seem daunting at times, but we’re encouraged by the momentum we’re gaining and the buzz it’s generating: Economical was honoured as “P&C Insurer of the Year” at the 2016 Insurance Business Awards, and we reimagined the insurance experience with the launch of our digital direct brand Sonnet — the first Canadian P&C insurance company that allows customers to quote and buy online. Thank you for your support and contributions as we deliver on our strategy.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic company - slackers and whiners need not apply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Economical Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team environment, focus on customers and keeping staff engaged and motivated, lots of big changes made recently that is grandly improving the culture and engagement levels. Management is encouraging and supportive. I always feel encouraged to do my very best and am recognized and rewarded for same. Competitive pay, great benefits, alternative work arrangements give you extra 1-2 days off per month, excellent work-life balance focus. Continued learning is highly encouraged.

    Cons

    This is not a place for people who want to just coast by doing the absolute bare minimum and crying when they are asked to go above and beyond. Our culture is focused on people bringing their best every day - those who are not interested in meeting the company's high standards should go work elsewhere. The people who will succeed here are highly motivated, team-oriented, hard-working and adapt well to change. Technology does need to be updated but management has always acknowledged this and are in the process of making major changes to improve that.

    Continue reading
    Economical Insurance2016-03-01
  7. "Awesome work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Field Claims Adjuster in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Economical Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of training and career development

    Cons

    The Technology is obsolete and needs modernizing

    Economical Insurance2016-01-27
  8. Helpful (7)

    "BAD COMPANY - AVOID!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Claims Adjuster in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Economical Insurance

    Pros

    I worked with some great co workers

    Cons

    Bad management all over the map, constantly changing systems to a point where staff were leaving and unhappy. You are only a number, you are made to feel like you don't make a difference.

    Continue reading
    Economical Insurance2016-02-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews