Echo Global Logistics Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Echo Global Logistics Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 644 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Echo Global Logistics CEO Doug Waggoner
Doug Waggoner
403 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work environment at Echo is second to none, no two days are the same(in 61 reviews)

  • "Great environment Great people you get to make your own opportunities(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "Get ready to grind this job is not for people looking to just slide by long hours ad hard work are a requirement(in 38 reviews)

  • "competitive industry, long days, commission structure salary,(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A good company, difficult industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company culture, great training program

    Cons

    Difficult industry (especially currently) to break into, but Echo does a solid job of helping you build your book

    Echo Global Logistics2019-09-10
  2. "Amazing Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility to work with a great team within a great culture! Day to day is very flexible and up to you as long as you get done what you're supposed to!

    Cons

    I do not have any cons.

    Advice to Management

    I have none.

    Echo Global Logistics2019-09-06
  3. "Excellent Company to Work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enterprise Sales Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast-paced, exciting, great people, challenging

    Cons

    Moving up the organization needs to happen at HQ in Chicago

    Echo Global Logistics2019-08-30
  4. "Average benefits & competition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to start career opportunities for fresher.

    Cons

    No career growth opportunities for QA Engineers.

    Echo Global Logistics2019-09-11
  5. "great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Sales Representative in Nash, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - potential to make a ton of money if you land big accounts - extremely casual environment - young and fun employees - something new everyday when it comes to managing accounts - opportunity to build great relationships with your customers/coworkers - very supportive team environment

    Cons

    - saturated industry with very little to offer that is proprietary. I get told all the time "I get 20 of these calls a day," and I'll get quote requests with 15 other logistics companies CC'd. It's hard to make it as a broker when people just go with the cheapest option. - nickel and dime all your customers - HR is a complete joke - you need thick skin to work with customers/carriers in this industry -... extremely high turnover - hardly any opportunity to move up in the company unless you move to Chicago

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    focus on long-term opportunities

    Echo Global Logistics2019-08-29
  6. "Great company to work for when starting out in logistics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They do a great job trying to develop talent and they actually value and take into account input from their employees.

    Cons

    Have no complaints. No company is perfect, but any issues I had were addressed by upper management and taken care of.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time training reps on invoicing.

    Echo Global Logistics2019-08-07
  7. "Good Starter Job & Intro to Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Sales Executive 

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you are willing to dedicate yourself fully for 1-1.5 years to build the base to a solid book of business you can make very good money for someone just out of college. Culture is very lax.. you can wear a hat, jeans and a tshirt.

    Cons

    Industry is totally saturated making selling in it pretty cut throat and oftentimes demoralizing. Echo will likely be absorbed by a larger transportation company and will lose its culture that is already dwindling. Benefits are pretty bad. Lastly, this is a dying industry.. automation for transportation departments and trucks themselves are the future.

    Advice to Management

    Be more methodical when handing out accounts from former reps -- the favoritism is pretty obvious.

    Echo Global Logistics2019-08-19
  8. "Great way to Earn experience very quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Sales Executive in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free coffee, cool people, ping pong, nice location.

    Cons

    Favoritism and office politics. Cold calling all day everyday.

    Advice to Management

    Do not transfer accounts to new reps until after a year’s tenure. We are all competing and giving perks to one rep over another destroys motivation and morale.

    Echo Global Logistics2019-08-19
  9. "Amazing Company for Sales Rep- Hard work pays off big time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Highest commission percent of GP I have seen in the industry -Guarantee pay for new reps or even tenured reps who have a down month. - After Command buy out we now work with some industry OG's who have a wealth of knowledge and help to obtain business. - Great support structure when you build a large book of business like have. They provide the operational support needed to keep growing. - Amazing AR and... AP teams to help with accounting.g -Reputable name that carriers work with and trust. We have fastest payment to our carriers in the industry which make them extremely loyal. - Technology, Technology, Technology !!!! This is huge. We have the top technology available. I had large enterprise customer request EDI connection and our EDI team had my ticket done in a month. - The hustle pays off big time. Yes first year sucks, like any sales job. calling all day to get customers. But Echo makes sure to still provide great base pay, and even now they have bonus amounts so your first week on floor you can make money without hitting a draw

    Show More

    Cons

    - Long hours for sales rep. I am in at 7am and sometimes here until 8pm (not required, but by choice to ensure customers are happy) - Training is a bit short, for me it was fine as I had industry experience. To my knowledge though they did add more time, and also do a mentor ship program. - Cold calling and setting up visits. This is not a con if you live for the feeling of landing new clients. For some they do... not like it so can be a con as you have to make calls

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to give new reps a couple more weeks in training, and limit them to certain accounts at first. If in experienced rep moves shipment for large account and makes a rookie mistake, it could ruin our image for that company forever. So start slow and limit the accounts they can start out on.

    Echo Global Logistics2019-07-28
  10. "Sales company dressed in technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    *Lots of locations *Ample opportunity to develop in role *Work/life balance

    Cons

    *In order to move up have to move to other geolocation or be based in Chicago *Don't know how to develop the person only the role *Pay is not competitive *Lack of remote work *Lack of career paths

    Advice to Management

    *Develop talent to strengths and not to the role *Create career paths *Allow remote employees on a case by case basis if employee brings strong value

    Echo Global Logistics2019-08-09
Found 644 reviews