Earls Kitchen + Bar Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Earls Kitchen + Bar Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 377 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Earls Kitchen + Bar CEO Mo Jessa
Mo Jessa
115 Ratings
Pros
  • "A great place to make long lasting friendships with great people(in 25 reviews)

  • "great work environment, great leadership courses, training programs(in 23 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Regional Chef"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time

    Pros

    Cares for it's front line people. Creates leadership programs that are available to anybody to help grow as individuals within the organization.

    Cons

    Very busy and fast paced environment. Not a typical 9-5 job.

    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-04-05
  2. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Office Administrator in Burnaby, BC

    I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I was a server and did the morning cash count. Was good experience in customer service and general office admin

    Cons

    Morning cash count was early, before the restaurant opened

    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-06-14
  3. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Office 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At Earl's, they are a people first company. You are invested in right off the bat with leadership courses and development y plans to e sure you are meeting the career goals you set for yourself.

    Cons

    Lots of autonomy which some may consider a Con ( I think it's a Pro)

    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-06-02
  4. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good training , other servers who work there are great

    Cons

    over staffed- not enough shifts

    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-05-23
  5. "Good place to work while in school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time

      Pros

      Good place to work while studying

      Cons

      Late nights and inconsistent shifts,

      Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-05-13
    • "Starting Point"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server/Bartender/Shift Leader in Vancouver, BC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good place to start in the restaurant industry. Very thorough training. If you’re new to a city and get a job in a place like this you will automatically have friends/family.

      Cons

      Happy hour = very low bills = not making good tips = poor.

      Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-05-08
    • "Broken promises"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Recruit 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      High stress job makes people better if they like it or not

      Cons

      Highly unethical management wass very inappropriate with servers so if you are a young lady stay clear. Very cheap I had to carry a set of 3 15 pound chemical buckets up and down the stairs cause they didn't bother buying more chemicals after numerous requests for more Broken machine no hot water I had to get warm water from a kettle and and wash dishes I recommend they close the restaurant but they told me they had...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Better training for management and servers

      Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-06-09
    • "Hostess"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Hostess in Burnaby, BC

      I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Nice people and good discount for food

      Cons

      You never know when you are going to be off

      Advice to Management

      N/A

      Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-05-18
    • "Worst Job Ever"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Hostess 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Some good coworkers. Thats It

      Cons

      literally everything else. managers didn't care about anyone unless you were in the inner circle. even if you request time off months in advance, it will go to the more favoured employees. No one advances unless you worship the managers, no matter how experienced you are. They dont give you the tips youve earned and when you leave they lie on reference letters for future employers

      Advice to Management

      treat your employees equal

      Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-06-01
    • "Great place and people to work with"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time

      Pros

      Lots of room to grow as long as you worked hard People around you who would provide assistance if you needed it

      Cons

      Long hours with sometimes no breaks

      Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-04-15
    Found 377 reviews