Earls Kitchen + Bar Hostess Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Earls Kitchen + Bar Hostess Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

1.7
8%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Earls Kitchen + Bar President Mo Jessa
Mo Jessa
1 Rating
  1. "It's not what I want to do as a career, but a good atmosphere to kill time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people. I've met lots of people I connect with and remain friends with outside of work. Makes going to work enjoyable as it's very social.

    Cons

    The capitalist ideals of the larger company. The ways in which the costumer is always right even if they are acting out.

    Continue reading
    Earls Kitchen + Bar2017-04-18
  2. "Not the best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Port Coquitlam, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Making friends and working in a fun environment

    Cons

    Management being discriminatory regarding looks and favorites. Sexual harassment etc.

    Continue reading
    Earls Kitchen + Bar2020-01-20
  3. "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time

    Pros

    Some great managers and you get to know people

    Cons

    Only 1$ per hour on tips and minimum wage Plus late hours

    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-09-29
  4. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Burnaby, BC

    I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people and good discount for food

    Cons

    You never know when you are going to be off

    Continue reading
    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-05-18
  5. "Worst Job Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some good coworkers. Thats It

    Cons

    literally everything else. managers didn't care about anyone unless you were in the inner circle. even if you request time off months in advance, it will go to the more favoured employees. No one advances unless you worship the managers, no matter how experienced you are. They dont give you the tips youve earned and when you leave they lie on reference letters for future employers

    Continue reading
    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-06-01
  6. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, fun work atmosphere, easy job, relaxed managers and shift leaders, flexible hours and with time off

    Cons

    Very difficult to move up, worked as a hostess for several years and didn't get moved up to server despite doing everything I could. Very cliquey and only give you good shifts or opportunities to move up if you're their favorite. Very short shifts, and essentially no tips for hostesses. Often hard to get shifts since they hire so many people. They hire random people who don't know what they're doing rather than promoting within. Give brand new people more shifts and more opportunities than experienced people. Don't care about qualifications, only favoritism.

    Continue reading
    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-04-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Continuously asked for more hours / more set schedule and leaders had made a promise to yet never followed through."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere and people to work with.

    Cons

    Hard to get enough hours since they continuously hire more people even when you ask for those hours and are willing / want to work.

    Continue reading
    Earls Kitchen + Bar2018-06-22
  8. "Not good for hostesses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - friendly staff and managers - good training system

    Cons

    - low wage - tip out is minuscule for the amount of work - when tip out issue was mentioned by various employees, managers brushed it off - too much politics and favouritism - employees don’t get praised by good work

    Continue reading
    Earls Kitchen + Bar2017-10-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Not very many -Kind of a nice environment

    Cons

    -Extremely short hours -Problem with people sucking up to managers -Catty people -I quit after two shifts because I hated it so much

    Continue reading
    Earls Kitchen + Bar2016-05-19

    Earls Kitchen + Bar Response

    May 30, 2016People Brand Specialist

    It's unfortunate you had this experience. We definitely feel like we can offer a much better experience for people. Thank you for writing your review, I will pass along your feedback.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Worst place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Setter/Hostess in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar

    Pros

    Fun uniform. Flexible. there isn't a lot to say.

    Cons

    Got very short shifts, got called off all the time, didn't get proper training, doesn't hire within, doesn't value your opinion, your co workers aren't welcoming to new staffs and have cliques. get paid very low. absolutely no communication with management. They tend to demote you.

    Continue reading
    Earls Kitchen + Bar2016-02-13

    Earls Kitchen + Bar Response

    February 18, 2016People Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I wish you didn't have this experience with Earls as I don't think it was what we stand for and what we want to stand for. If you would like to speak further about your experience I would love to chat with you. Please email myearls@earls.ca and I will happily reach out to you.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 17 reviews