EF English First "working environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

EF English First Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated Jan 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
EF English First President 	Jacob Toren (no image)
Jacob Toren
188 Ratings
Pros
  • "Large company with schools all over China(in 76 reviews)

  • "Great working environment - everyone is in their 20's and 30's(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "make it very difficult to leave company for another job in China(in 51 reviews)

  • "Production schedule isn't aligned with Chinese National holidays so cannot plan holidays in advance(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good office and working environment. A lot of events and trainings.

    Cons

    High turnover and management change so quick

    EF English First2020-01-09

    EF English First Response

    January 17, 2020Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with EF.

    Continue reading
  2. "Develop and have fun with EF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    loads of development opportunities like trainings and conferences loads of free events like long distance travel, citywide teacher events Stable working environment. No need to worry about if gonna get paid next month Great reputation in the industry.

    Cons

    some schools can be small heavy schedule from to time

    EF English First2019-11-26

    EF English First Response

    December 8, 2019Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank you for taking the time to share your positive EF experience.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great Company. Good opportunities to develop your career. Meet people from around the world."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great working environment - everyone is in their 20's and 30's. Working with children and teens. Good opportunity to develop your career and start your own projects. Low teaching hours. about 3 classes a day. All materials and lesson notes are provided. Great opportunity to work with people from different countries such as China, America, Canada, UK, South Africa, Australia. Free months events to meet teachers from other schools. Lots of free time to travel in China. Salary is always paid on time every month. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Production schedule isn't aligned with Chinese National holidays so cannot plan holidays in advance. Low base salary.

    Continue reading
    EF English First2019-11-25

    EF English First Response

    December 8, 2019Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank you for your post. It's great to hear that you have had such a rewarding 3 years with EF. We hope that you continue to grow with EF.

    Continue reading
  4. "Course Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Guangzhou, Guangdong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefit, competitive commission, nice work environment

    Cons

    fast-pace working environment, high-performance demanded, stressful

    EF English First2019-10-25
  5. "Good start in teaching abroad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Shenzhen, Guangdong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    plenty of progression opportunities and mainly it is a positive working environment.

    Cons

    The pay is lower than other schools and often is longer hours.

    Continue reading
    EF English First2019-09-23

    EF English First Response

    October 22, 2019Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're happy to hear that you have a pleasant working environment and are fully aware of the opportunities we offer here at EF. I'd be happy to hear any additional feedback you may have, please feel free to reach out me at "Mario.Bermeo@EF.com"

    Continue reading
  6. "A good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Teacher in Moscow
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -living abroad -good colleagues and work environment -continual training and professional development -yearly promotion to next band

    Cons

    -hectic daily and weekly schedule -low salary compared to dollar -high teacher turnover

    Continue reading
    EF English First2019-09-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good Support and First Job In China"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at EF English First full-time

    Pros

    If you’re coming to China for the first time, EF is a great way to get settled into the country. For me, the culture shock was real upon coming into the country so it helped to have the support provided. The two weeks of orientation really helped to just have time to get used to the country, but as far as teaching goes, if you’re quite new, it still felt like being thrown into the deep end for me. You’ll learn and get better as you teach though. Curriculum and lesson plans are all organized and you’re encouraged to use games and interaction in class. What you learn here is really helpful if you want to continue in teaching. The work environment is really professional among Chinese and foreign staff, and there are events sponsored by EF year round if you want to take advantage of it.

    Cons

    Had to find our own apartments by our third weekend there. It was nice to have 2-3 weeks to do this, but still stressful.

    EF English First2019-06-21

    EF English First Response

    June 26, 2019Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank you for your feedback. We understand the challenges and stress of relocation to a foreign country. We are happy to hear that our orientation program made the adjustment a little bit easier. We're extremely proud of our teaching materials, and the ongoing training and support we provide our teachers, and it's great to hear that you value and appreciate these too! Teaching is not an easy job, and the first few months as a new teacher can be difficult, but it does get easier. Regarding apartment hunting, we encourage our teachers to find apartments by the third weekend, as from our experience this helps speed up the adjustment process, and is a big first step in making China feel like our home away from home.

    Continue reading
  8. "I have been working at EF full-time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good work environment and friendly workmates, Work/Life Balance.

    Cons

    layoff lots FTE in shanghai....

    EF English First2019-06-24
  9. "Great Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    EF English First is an awesome company to work for in China. They gave me a lot of support in my initial visa and visa renewal, making it very straightforward and ensuring that I knew well in advance of any deadlines or things to sort out. I've received a lot of training and support at work and my Managers have always listened to where my interests are and given me opportunities to find projects or positions that align with those. When I've had personal issues come up I've found my Managers to be supportive in helping me navigate things, which has made it a lot easier to stay on working in China. I've worked for various different large companies and I appreciate how at EF, people really do try to live out the corporate values at work. I find my work environment to be positive and upbeat.

    Cons

    Vacation time is good by local standards but less than you might have from back home, at least for your first year or two.

    EF English First2019-04-22

    EF English First Response

    May 23, 2019Vice President

    Thank you for sharing about your experience. We're pleased to hear you've felt supported throughout your EF career. We care a lot about the teacher experience and ensuring that everyone receives training and support to be successful at work. It's great that you enjoy the work environment, trust your managers and have had the opportunity to work on a variety of interesting projects. We hope that you stay and continue to grow with EF.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A Great Place to Start Your ESL Journey in China"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher in Qinhuangdao
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Large company with schools all over China. - Competitive pay. - Comprehensive range of materials to help with lesson planning. - Structured training programme. - Relaxed working environment. - Great Team.

    Cons

    - Sometimes money matters more than teaching quality. - High staff turnover.

    EF English First2019-04-09
Found 31 reviews