EF English First Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

EF English First Reviews

Updated Mar 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
EF English First President 	Jacob Toren (no image)
Jacob Toren
167 Ratings
Pros
  • "Large company with schools all over China(in 76 reviews)

  • "Great working environment - everyone is in their 20's and 30's(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "make it very difficult to leave company for another job in China(in 51 reviews)

  • "Production schedule isn't aligned with Chinese National holidays so cannot plan holidays in advance(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "English Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time

    Pros

    Great company atmosphere and people.

    Cons

    No comments. Great culture and communication.

    EF English First2019-02-10

    EF English First Response

    March 24, 2019Vice President

    Thanks for your feedback! We're so happy to hear you enjoy and appreciate our company culture and environment. One of the things we really focus on is making sure our teachers have a happy environment to work in and we try to create a culture of open communication to make sure all of our teachers feel valued and supported throughout their time with us. Thank you for all that you do.

    Continue reading
  2. "Teaching is like performing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great camaraderie among coworkers.

    Cons

    Challenging workload at times. Difficult for newcomers to get a steady work; opportunities are based on a teacher's seniority.

    EF English First2020-01-30
  3. "Foreign English Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Foreign English Teacher 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent compensation. There's also excellent support from local staff for help with visas, settling in, housing, healthcare and more.

    Cons

    The workload is too high. Teachers very often teach more than 24 contact hours each week, which is exhausting and unfortunately makes teaching quality lessons to all students impossible.

    Continue reading
    EF English First2019-01-18

    EF English First Response

    March 24, 2019Vice President

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at EF. It's a big commitment to come to China, and we do our best to make the relocation as smooth and worry-free as possible. We are therefore very happy to hear that you had a very positive onboarding and felt well looked after from our local staff. We understand that teaching is very demanding. We try to keep all teachers at or below their contract hours as this is in the best interest of our teachers and the quality of our classes. On those occasions when teaching hours do exceed contract hours, we do compensate for the extra hours. Thank you for your suggestion on providing more training to our support staff including our teacher assistants. This is an area that is often overlooked and one that we could, and should, focus more attention on.

    Continue reading
  4. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at EF English First full-time

    Pros

    a lot of opportunity

    Cons

    does not pay for accommodations

    EF English First2018-05-30
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    ESL Teacher 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF English First

    Pros

    They allowed me to work independently and come up with my own ideas for Life Clubs. Fellow employees were very friendly and worked together as a team.

    Cons

    Had to spend downtime in the office when we didn't have any classes. Management wasn't always flexible about giving us the ability to change our schedule.

    Continue reading
    EF English First2016-09-05
  6. "It was a great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - International Teacher in Daqing, Heilongjiang

    I worked at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They help with you transition

    Cons

    A lot of down time

    EF English First2020-03-30
  7. "Best job in the world!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Online English Teacher in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF English First

    Pros

    Everything, management, platform, training, you need to be certified in teaching English as a second language which is a plus because it helps you prepare for the job. Best job in the world. Students are awesome and so is the company. Their platform is easy to work with. IT department fixes anything immediately. Plenty of training and help with anything. The parents are great. I truly love my job.

    Cons

    None, I have zero problems with the early hours and late hours, you know this when you apply so there’s no need to complain about it!

    Continue reading
    EF English First2020-03-26
  8. "Great culture and coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English As A Second Language Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They really make you feel like you are at home despite living in a new country. They have a great on boarding and training program. I loved the coworkers and friends I met through the company.

    Cons

    The hours are rough, having to work weekends and till 8pm on weekdays.

    EF English First2020-03-13

    EF English First Response

    March 19, 2020Teacher Welfare Director

    Thanks for the great review. We want all teachers to feel at home while teaching and living in China. Things have been challenging with the Caronavirus but good co-workers and trusted friends make things a little easier.

    Continue reading
  9. "Terrible management of activities, students treated as customers, sub standard accommodation for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Activity Leader in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well organized academic section of the camp

    Cons

    Little to no organization of activities for students that hadn't paid extra money for bonus activities Campers living all over Dublin city and even on outskirts Meath, sometimes with over an hour commute to campus Concerns over accomodation conditions of students Very obvious that business and profit was paramount above service provided

    Continue reading
    EF English First2020-03-31
  10. "Good learning opportunites"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Teacher in Johannesburg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good training and lots of great materials.

    Cons

    Lack of employee appreciation and reward.

    EF English First2020-02-24
Found 431 reviews