EF Education First Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,637 of over 3k reviews

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO  Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
880 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company culture and great people(in 95 reviews)

  • "Company Culture, Benefits, collaborative and teamwork(in 75 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes long hours because you care for your job(in 137 reviews)

  • "Low salary compared to other companies(in 117 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      travel opportunities

      Oct 5, 2020 - Consultant in Red Bank, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      travel, fun people to work with

      Cons

      low pay, not enough career development

      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing place to work

      Jun 8, 2021 - Manager, Business Development in Suffern, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fast paced, loads of opportunity, very focused on culture/staff health (mental and physical), ability to carve your own path, lots of different fields to choose from

      Cons

      competitive, very talented staff, have to stay ahead of the curve and constantly innovating or you will be left behind

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      EF Education First Response

      Vice President of Recruitment and Employee Development

      So glad to hear you're enjoying the pace and autonomy at EF - we like to say we are Fast, Flat and Flexible! There is really nothing more important than the mental and physical wellbeing of our staff, and we hope to continue to grow our support and offerings in those areas. Thanks for sharing your feedback!

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Feedback about working at EF

      Jun 21, 2021 - Regional Sales Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic people. Ambitious, smart, and fun. Because of the global scale of the company, felt great to be a part of something larger and purpose driven. The product as well was transformative, made it easy to sell because it's easy to believe in. Travel perks were amazing (pre-covid) to be able to see the world.

      Cons

      Pay equity. Considering the expense that comes with the standard of living in most major cities in Canada, EF falls really short in base pay for great sales people. Difficult to hire sales people with a good amount of experience with that base, or try to convince people to stay and grow their career. Beer fridge and free travel doesn't always cut it. Toxic use of "work hard / play hard" mantra, particularly in sales. Social pressures to partake in activities, work long, work late, wide spread acceptance that that's what it took to achieve great results. Led to lots of burn out, and lower performance.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      GOOD COMPANY

      Jun 10, 2021 - Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work environment for growth

      Cons

      no performance bonus for staff

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      It's easy to be sucked in and stay too long

      May 26, 2021 - Tour Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at EF does have some pros, mainly that if you are performing well you will definitely get travel opportunities. You will also be working with many other like minded individuals that have a passion for travel. Lastly, if you don't have much professional work experience the sales training is well put together and does give you a good foundation to bring with you elsewhere.

      Cons

      It's very easy to get sucked into the culture at EF, it only became clear to me after I left that it's actually quite toxic. Some reasons why: - You will be micromanaged, from call stats, to length of calls, to questions about why people haven't been moving in the pipeline. Even when performing well, you will have to justify your work to your manager's each week. - Pay is not liveable, you're promised a bonus of at least $10K but few people hit that. Starting salaries are $37k to start, $40k in year two, $44k in year three if you are "promoted" through the sales development program. - It is a private company so you get little to no information on anything beyond what you need to know at that time. Long term strategy and outlook for the company are never shared. - Room for development - there isn't any. You will be moved from Tour Consultant to Senior Tour Consultant and that's considered a promotion. It is the exact same role with a slightly different name. Many people are moved into "new roles" but it is just the same thing with a different title and small pay increase. - Diversity, only when I left did I realize how white EF is. They preach a BIPOC team who will promote diversity and then the next week a group of new hires start and every single person is white. - COVID, when I saw how little EF did for staff during COVID it made me finally put myself first. It's easy to get sucked in at EF and stay too long - however, when I realized that EF didn't care about me as an individual it was time to go.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      EF Education First Response

      Vice President of Recruitment and Employee Development

      Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. While I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your colleagues and your travel opportunities, I'm sorry to read about your overall experience at EF. We pride ourselves on creating a positive, entrepreneurial and empowering culture, where employees can grow within their roles and into new opportunities. I'm sorry that you left EF with a different experience. As for diversity, we have work to do, and we are committed to that work. You can read more about our commitments to DEIB here: https://www.ef.com/wwen/blog/we-are-ef/a-letter-from-our-ceo-of-north-america/?007967,DEIB_2020 Lastly, this has been a very difficult year for people and organizations around the world. I'm sorry you came away from such a challenging time with negative feelings about EF. I can tell you that our leadership team has had customers and employees at the forefront of every decision and remain focused on how to support staff now and into the future. Thank you again for the detailed and thoughtful feedback. We wish you all the best in your next steps.

    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great workplace!

      May 31, 2021 - Copywriter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best team I ever worked with, great benefits, amazing travel opportunities.

      Cons

      Not too many senior roles.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      EF Education First Response

      Vice President of Recruitment and Employee Development

      Thank you for sharing! So glad you enjoyed your experience at EF, and I hope your next opportunity brings you as much joy. Wishing you all the best!

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Selling Travel in the time of COVID

      Jan 6, 2021 - Educational Tour Consultant in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - the people they hire are genuinely quite lovely when you work with them (if you are an extrovert who enjoys drinking) - really great training at beginning of employment - some members of senior leadership were very supportive! - snack cupboard and coffee machine were always stocked - got to travel within Canada to network

      Cons

      - For context: I was laid off in March 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic and its effects on the travel industry and my role (prospector in a niche market) was no longer needed - there are two types of sales roles: territory owner and prospector. A territory owner manages key accounts and is looked on as “leaders” on the team. As a prospector (more common for new tour consultants) you are relying on cold calls and the occasional lead from the website to find new business. You are mainly prospecting in schools that the territory owner you are working with does not want or has burned too many bridges at. Depending on the market, you can find some success but management will push you to contact extremely low-income schools and convince them to pay copious amounts of money for a tour. - the best way to get on a manager’s good side is to get drunk with them at the office - no HR department, instead is rebranded as “People and Culture” with a focus on just making everyone happy to be working a low paying job - if you aren’t overworking yourself, you will not grow within the company - Very little diversity in the office. Everyone in a sales role was white

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work, Low Pay

      Mar 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are amazing, the product/mission is something that actually matters and that the company genuinely cares about and believes in - there are tons of awesome perks (free travel, great benefits, unlimited sick days, 3 weeks vacation in your first year) - lots of opportunities for social & professional development, and they've managed to stay pretty stable through the pandemic

      Cons

      The workflow can be really up and down and the pay is low (40-50k average). To be fair, the pay is generally low in this industry, but this isn't a place you can stay long-term if you want a real liveable income

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Fun culture, no room to advance

      Apr 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun, young, good for starting your career

      Cons

      Very little room to grow, no real focus on employee development or grow td

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      revolving door

      Jun 4, 2021 - Administrative Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun atmosphere, build your skills

      Cons

      Low pay, overworked staff, bad management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,637 Reviews

    Popular Careers with EF Education First Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at EF Education First? Share Your Experiences

    EF Education First logo
    or