EF Education First Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO  Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
702 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment where workers are really valued(in 172 reviews)

  • "Competitive salary, good benefit and great people(in 76 reviews)

Cons
  • "Disorganised and long hours over the weekends(in 113 reviews)

  • "Low salary compared to other schools(in 94 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture with great people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great team environment -Transparency between team and management -Beer fridge fridays & snacks & coffee -Great benefits

    Cons

    -Long hours at times -path moving upwards seems difficult -nothing else really

    EF Education First2020-01-24
  2. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Supportive and talented team. - Fun place to work and positive environment. - Good work life/balance. - Overall good place to start a career.

    Cons

    - Very low salary for the amount and quality of work you're expected to do. - I found it really hard to advance my career or get a raise even after getting good feedback on performance reviews (lots of evasion from management when the topic got brought up)

    EF Education First2020-05-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good but impersonal"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Decent salary, great organization.

    Cons

    Staff were let off very impersonally and were made to do duties outside of their teaching duties.

    EF Education First2020-04-01
  4. "Great Company, great people, low pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people at EF is what makes this job worth it! Everybody is super friendly and great at what they do.

    Cons

    The pay, Management can be a bit stand off-ish and classist

    EF Education First2020-04-03

    EF Education First Response

    April 6, 2020Director

    Thank you for this feedback! We certainly agree that our colleagues at EF are amazing and we are very proud of our strong company culture. In terms of salary, we do review our compensation structure regularly to ensure we are offering a competitive package. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

  5. Helpful (5)

    "Save Time - Don't Apply"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Meet some incredible people, enjoyed the benefits

    Cons

    Not a livable salary, clear disconnect between management and employees, lack of transparency and always secretive about what's really going on, culture in office is fake, cult-like, and not reflective of organizational values, management does not care for their employees (many employees came and left in the blink of an eye), limited opportunities for growth... overall a toxic working environment

    EF Education First2020-05-04

    EF Education First Response

    May 4, 2020Vice President of Recruitment and Employee Development

    We're really sorry to learn about your experience. At EF, we take pride in the strong culture that draws so many people to join our teams and stay for many years. It sounds like EF didn't feel like a good personal fit for you. We respect that and hope you find a place to work that makes you happy. As someone who has worked at EF for 15 years and enjoyed a variety of roles during that time, I can say that working for an organization that feels like a personal fit can lead to a really fruitful career. We wish you the best of luck!

  6. "A great brand, awesome people, normal struggles"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Professionalism is adhered to without being overly stuffy about it. Staff are real with each other and that's important.

    Cons

    Not everyone is aware of the wider issues we are facing as a workforce in Toronto as they are more newly arrived here. So it doesn't often play into the overall health of the workplace.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-02-11

    EF Education First Response

    February 20, 2020Director

    Hello and thank you for your feedback. We truly value you taking the time suggesting improvements and we will take this feedback onboard. Best regards

  7. "Great staff"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Traveller Support Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Young, energetic staff that always have each-others back.

    Cons

    Pay is very low for the amount of responsibility and stress.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-02-13

    EF Education First Response

    March 6, 2020Director

    Thank you for this feedback! Great to hear that you enjoy coming to work. Our people and culture are something we are very proud of and what really makes us different. In terms of salary, we do review our compensation structure regularly to ensure we are offering a competitive package. I hope 2019 brings more amazing opportunities your way!

  8. "Good workplace"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Tour Consultant 

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Fun place to work young people

    Cons

    Must be meeting goals to stay, like any sales job

    EF Education First2019-12-24
  9. "marketing"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    get promotion really fast, good benefit

    Cons

    not good for long term, sometimes have to work on weekends

    EF Education First2019-11-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Micro managing leads to inefficiencies"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Educational Tour Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Downtown core office, travel, beer fridge.

    Cons

    Huge micromanagement! Humiliating in an open concept environment. Pay is low. Always pushed to get new clients even if we were in fact losing money on a tour by booking them with "competitive prices". Work hard play hard with BIG party culture and drinking, including a beer fridge at work (open for special once a month socials).

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2019-11-22
Found 1961 reviews