E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 775 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery CEO Joe Gallo
Joe Gallo
542 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work Life Balance with many resources available(in 92 reviews)

  • "Great people and products (extensive portfolio) with a strong consumer focus(in 60 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    good company to work for

    Cons

    flexibility and good management . i like it

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-01-31

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    January 31, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your feedback. Best of luck to you!

  2. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with an amazing group of talented and passionate people!

    Cons

    not enough travel to visit the winery.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-10-23

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    October 24, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for all you do!

  3. "representante des ventes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Quebec, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family Cie - good chalange Transparence - Good RH - Good spirit

    Cons

    Retraite package not enough - Assurance plan - ( not short package and not enough $ for chiro, massage, glasses, etc..

    Advice to Management

    Wendy Laberge

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-10-05

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    October 9, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Merci pour votre avis. Nous vous apprécions!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga Valley, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Terrific place to work with great co-workers and functional leads. This is a company this is all about its people and their continuous development through an extensive training curriculum. The benefits from E & J Gallo/Manulife are the best that I have seen in my entire career in Canada.

    Cons

    There are no significant cons to working at E & J Gallo

    Advice to Management

    Please keep focusing on the continuous growth of the employees through on-going training and development.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-04-13

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    April 15, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks so much for your awesome feedback and we are so glad to hear that you love what you do. Keep up the great work! Cheers!

  5. "Not as Advertised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    -there are a lot of great people who work hard and are great to be around

    Cons

    -Company forecast goals are higher than achievable -Moral is low from over promising and under delivering -Management is based remotely and are not visible, when they are it is not a positive experience -Yearly trips cancelled, was the only "perk" -Salary is markedly lower than industry standard -HR is more concerned with following employees on social media than improving culture -High turnover rate that no one...

    Show More
    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-04-02

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    April 3, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your review. We think our employees are great, too. We appreciate the feedback and wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors. If you would like to further discuss the concerns you’ve raised, please contact me, confidentially, at feedback@ejgallo.com. – Susan ...

    Show More
  6. "Behind the ball"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Yearly trips, great perks, company vehicle, friendly staff, great benefits.

    Cons

    Poor management, performance is never "good enough" mentality, hire externally rather than build up their own people.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2016-08-05
  7. "Amazing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are amazing at making you love working for them. It is one of the few companies that have an extremely great talent retention.

    Cons

    Large organization, difficult to implement change.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2016-04-21
  8. "Great experience, great first step after college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Networking opportunities for interns. Interns are treated like full time staff.

    Cons

    Not any that I can think of

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-08-12

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 13, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your Internship!

  9. "Lab technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Lab Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Friendly co workers and supervisors.

    Cons

    I have not experienced any downsides.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-08-10

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 12, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your feedback. We are so glad you are here!

  10. "Excellent Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company is focused on growth initiatives that take a long term view versus short term. You have the opportunity to work and learn from really smart /innovative people across the enterprise. Employees have strong values and respect for one another -- values are embedded in the Company's culture.

    Cons

    I can't really think of any at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep a the innovation and acquisitions coming!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-08-08

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 9, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to share your Gallo experience. Your review made our day! Cheers!

Found 775 reviews