E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

Updated Jun 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 757 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery CEO Joe Gallo
Joe Gallo
531 Ratings
Pros
  • "The discounted wine is also a great perk(in 80 reviews)

  • "Solid stance on work/life balance(in 79 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    good company to work for

    Cons

    flexibility and good management . i like it

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-01-31

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    January 31, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your feedback. Best of luck to you!

  2. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with an amazing group of talented and passionate people!

    Cons

    not enough travel to visit the winery.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-10-23

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    October 24, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for all you do!

  3. "representante des ventes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Quebec, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family Cie - good chalange Transparence - Good RH - Good spirit

    Cons

    Retraite package not enough - Assurance plan - ( not short package and not enough $ for chiro, massage, glasses, etc..

    Advice to Management

    Wendy Laberge

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-10-05

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    October 9, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Merci pour votre avis. Nous vous apprécions!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga Valley, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Terrific place to work with great co-workers and functional leads. This is a company this is all about its people and their continuous development through an extensive training curriculum. The benefits from E & J Gallo/Manulife are the best that I have seen in my entire career in Canada.

    Cons

    There are no significant cons to working at E & J Gallo

    Advice to Management

    Please keep focusing on the continuous growth of the employees through on-going training and development.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-04-13

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    April 15, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks so much for your awesome feedback and we are so glad to hear that you love what you do. Keep up the great work! Cheers!

  5. "Not as Advertised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    -there are a lot of great people who work hard and are great to be around

    Cons

    -Company forecast goals are higher than achievable -Moral is low from over promising and under delivering -Management is based remotely and are not visible, when they are it is not a positive experience -Yearly trips cancelled, was the only "perk" -Salary is markedly lower than industry standard -HR is more concerned with following employees on social media than improving culture -High turnover rate that no one...

    Show More
    E. & J. Gallo Winery2018-04-02

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    April 3, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your review. We think our employees are great, too. We appreciate the feedback and wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors. If you would like to further discuss the concerns you’ve raised, please contact me, confidentially, at feedback@ejgallo.com. – Susan ...

    Show More
  6. "Behind the ball"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Yearly trips, great perks, company vehicle, friendly staff, great benefits.

    Cons

    Poor management, performance is never "good enough" mentality, hire externally rather than build up their own people.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2016-08-05
  7. "Amazing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are amazing at making you love working for them. It is one of the few companies that have an extremely great talent retention.

    Cons

    Large organization, difficult to implement change.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2016-04-21
  8. "Possibilities are endless at E&J Gallo Winery!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture at Gallo is extremely warm and welcoming- it FEELS like a family owned company (because it is!) It is amazing to work alongside like minded, driven and talented individuals who constantly challenge, coach and motivate you to do your best every day. There is also incredible room for growth since Gallo promotes entirely from within. I will do big things with this company and am so excited to be apart of it all...

    Show More

    Cons

    Sales Representative role has some challenges so you must be committed, but VERY rewarding and one of my favorite positions I have held.

    Advice to Management

    Management is extremely encouraging, motivating and caring!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-20

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 21, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We have no doubt that you will continue to do great things! Cheers to you!

  9. "Excellent company that cares about employees as well as success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Incredibly smart, driven, serious but fun people; welcoming and supportive culture; great salary and benefits; interesting work; exciting industry.

    Cons

    Commuting from the Bay Area is long but at least it's a reverse commute and free shuttle bus is available.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! This is a special company with a fantastic culture and I hope it always remains that way.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-19

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 19, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you so much for your amazing feedback and for all you do to make Gallo such a great place to work. Cheers to you!!

  10. "Best Decision I Made After College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The sales program was the perfect job to step into as a recent college grad with limited work experience. Through my different positions at Gallo, I know I've been given opportunities/responsibilities that my peers at other companies don't get. Gallo and the leadership really trusts us to try new things and be innovative! On a personal note, I've grown a lot thanks to these experiences.

    Cons

    The sales position is not for the faint of heart. You deal with really tough customers on a daily basis and experience rejection regularly. It is not for everyone, especially if you're looking for a job where you just show up and coast by!

    Advice to Management

    Survey your fellow managers and direct reports for feedback before making major decisions. You are not an island when you have so many capable people around you!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-19

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 19, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your thoughtful feedback ( we especially appreciate your your Advice to Management). We will definitely be sharing your review with our Sr. Leaders. Thanks for all you do!

Found 757 reviews