Dude Solutions Employee Reviews about "high growth"

Updated Mar 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 332 reviews

3.4
52%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Dude Solutions CEO and Executive Chairman Kevin Kemmerer (no image)
Kevin Kemmerer
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work/life balance and lots of good teams(in 33 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, work life balance and the quality folks to work alongside(in 21 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Growing company with growing pains, however 2020 seems to have started with a lot of excitement and a unified vision on how to move forward(in 20 reviews)

  • "Hence, software engineers who care about being treated like adults need not apply to work at Dude Solutions(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    107.5K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Dude Solutions~879994
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "high growth"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      High-growth SaaS and Opportunity

      Mar 2, 2021 - Product Marketing Manager in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Growing rapidly, career progression and exciting opportunities

      Cons

      With high-growth companies, change happens and pivots need to be quick. All companies have growing pains and Dude is not unique. However, good outweighs the tough in my opinion.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dude Solutions Response

      VP, Human Resources

      Thank you for the review. Glad you are here!

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company with huge growth potential and noble mission

      Sep 25, 2019 - Account Executive in Cary, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is not many other companies in the area that provide the opportunity that Dude Solutions does. The people that work there are outstanding human beings and truly believe in the mission of the company which is to empower the behind the scenes heroes where we all live, learn, work, and play. Unlimited PTO, WFA, Benefits, etc.. are all great perks of working here and the culture is second to none. There are a lot of exciting things coming to the Dude in the next few years as it relates to product and career opportunities. I was even a part of a team that got let go a year ago and usually employees that experience that have a lot of angst for their employer but the Dude took care of those involved and offered us positions elsewhere in the company which shows they truly care about their employees. When it was time for me to explore a new opportunity my team was more than supportive and even said if I were to consider coming back that they would welcome me with open arms.

      Cons

      There has been a lot of turnover in the past few months at both a management and rep level. This is has led to a lot of gossip and "who moved my cheese" mentality. You have to understand that historically Dude Solutions was a smaller company and with the recent acquisition and high growth model there needs to be individuals put in place who have grown companies from 100 million to 500 million. There are a lot of kinks and growing pains that are being addressed and worked out and I believe the opportunity there is going to be outstanding.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dude Solutions Response

      CEO

      Thank you for the review. Also thanks for sticking through the tough time of us sunsetting a money losing product and believing in taking another role. I wish we had a starter leader role that fit...but timing sounds like it did not work out. Best to your future.

    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      In Transition and High Growth

      Jun 7, 2019 - Senior Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place to cut your teeth in sales. Work-from-anywhere options. Great co-workers. Great clients. CEO is very people-focused and transparent. Great executive team in place.

      Cons

      High growth has created a lot of policies and procedures that have really bogged down the day-to-day job. We spend more time dealing with yellow tape than actually selling. Also gets in the way of closing deals and sometimes even taking care of the client. I would request to never travel again if it was an option. Ever since the company did away with per-diem it has become a nightmare tracking (itemized) receipts. The executive team is actively working to change this, but right now there isn't a great career path unless you want to be a sales manager. The company says they pay "above industry average" but if you're a tenured sales professional you can find a better paying job with a better culture elsewhere. As a result, many tenured sales reps have left or are actively job-searching. Attrition rate has gone down, no doubt due to some of the great things Ed (CEO) has done such as WFA policy, but I would be shocked if it hasn't continued to go up for tenured reps. There are still issues with favoritism. While Ed has been adamant about eliminating this, there is only so much one person can do. It is so bad on one team that most of the reps have brought their concerns to management, and are either ignored or made to feel they're being insubordinate. If you only have one takeaway, let it be this- Success in sales depends a lot more on the vertical and territory than it does the skill of the rep. Despite the cons listed above, it is a great place to get your start. A lot of great people, great executive team, and a company with a noble mission who just has some kinks to work out as they grow. For new employees coming in, I believe there will be satisfactory career-pathing in place soon enough.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Dude Solutions Response

      CEO

      Thank you for your review. I appreciate each one...both the positive and not so positive. There is a lot here of value on both sides of the P/C ledger. Thank you for the Pros. We do have some great people and our clients are first rate. I think we have a great exec team emerging. On the con side...I hate the thought that some policies and procedures are getting in the way of sales velocity...would love to understand which ones to see if we can speed up modify the culprit ones. On the expense side, I know the company in the past has done per diem, but went the expense route...I know it is more time, will look into the why of it as I am sure there was a good reason but it happened pre my arrival so I don’t have the answer. I hate the favoritism stuff that keeps popping up and leadership at all levels in sales management is aware of the repeated concern. Would you be willing to help me or HR with specific examples in a safe zone chat? The idea that any employee is concerned to speak with management for fear of retaliation just makes me sick as a CEO...it is absolutely against everything I/the exec team stands for. Have you gone up the food chain or to HR to talk about issues? I am happy to have Pam, your ELT member or myself chat in a cone of silence on your concerns. The Fact or Fiction vehicle was a well intended disaster on my part...but it served as a release valve in some sense. I know we are not perfect, but I also can see lots of good happening in the org. If you are considering leaving, don’t make that decision before grabbing a cup of coffee with me...safe zone I promise. Thanks again. Ed

    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fact or Fiction

      Oct 30, 2018 - Human Resources in Cary, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coffee, promo and free apparel items

      Cons

      Coordinated with the CEO, HR has implemented a new 'Fact or Fiction' weekly email, where employees can ask questions or share concerns. This has also conveniently channeled the negative reviews of the company off review sites like this one. Whether it is to clean up the public persona to help recruiting or to support the CEO's goal to improve his Glassdoor rating, you can see a pattern of manufactured positive reviews after a potentially negative review is posted. I would encourage any prospective interviewee or job candidate to ask the recruiter and the team members they meet about the weekly 'Fact or Fiction' emails and see what questions are being asked of management. Ask questions to understand the concerns of current employees. Better yet, since the company believes in transparency, ask your recruiter or contact to see the 'Fact or Fiction' reports and judge for yourself based on the questions, comments and concerns raised by current employees. Everyone should do their homework before joining a company, and if there is nothing to hide at Dude Solutions, no one should be concerned about sharing these transparent items with you. If they won't share it or don't want to talk about it, do your own homework and reach out to employees and ask the questions for yourself. With so many high growth companies in the area, you don't want to join a company that talks about transparency, but doesn't practice it. And even worse, you don't want to join a company that is trying to silence their employees and whitewash the truth, just to stroke the CEO's ego for his Glassdoor rating.

      20 people found this review helpful

      Dude Solutions Response

      CEO

      Thanks for your review. We will keep working hard here. About all I can say to this. Ed

    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Engineering Brain Drain

      Oct 12, 2018 - Senior Software Engineer in Cary, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very committed engineering and IoT team

      Cons

      When have you ever seen a technology company pay their engineers to leave? Especially when a company's ability to grow is linked to their innovation and product development efforts? This summer, the CEO meet with the engineering team and offered anyone that wanted to leave $5,000 and a 'no hard feelings to leave' reference. Engineers, developers, IoT experts - the very skills that are in so short supply in this booming market - our company was willing to walk out the door. Something about this doesn't make sense, right? Consider that the company has tens of millions of dollars of technical debt (legacy code) and needs these very skilled employees to help it solve the crisis. Without them, we can never return to being a high-growth, innovative and market-leading company. So, why pay people to leave? Maybe because you want to move this 'expensive' engineering talent to a lower cost city? Maybe because you've shared proposals with the Board to setup agile squads in college towns with more 'cost-efficient', recent college grads? Maybe because it is cheaper to give engineers $5,000 than to pay a severance? Maybe because this will minimize the impact of a RIF when you let people go? The old adage is true, if it is too good to be true, it is. This should have been the sign for all of us that bad things were coming. We will see more of this when the recommendations from Boston Consulting are implemented.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful

      Dude Solutions Response

      CEO

      Thanks for your review. Lots in there to cover. I do want to address a few things on the review. We absolutely did offer the $5,000 up this summer in good faith to folks. We knew that there were some engineers that were brought in a few years ago to work on a product that we were no longer investing in and were unhappy about the situation. We simply wanted to give these folks a graceful handshake and a thank you if they wanted out. We currently have 20+ openings in product...all in the Cary or Poulsbo area. We have zero plans on reducing Cary engineering staff. Period. We are adding. The $5,000 was what it was, a face value handshake for those that knew they were in the wrong place at the wrong time. And at the same meeting, we did also offer a huge bonus opportunity for the engineers (2x -3x the $5,000) who are dedicated to stick around for the growth to come. We have no plans to add engineers other than in Cary, Poulsbo or Toronto. No college towns. No other cities. We are prepping the headline budgets for 20199-2021 and have no plans for other than these locations...unless we do further M&A. We are quite happy with our Cary team. Thanks again for the review. Serious about sitting down for coffee. Regards, Ed

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to be!

      Apr 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoy working here. Manufacturing Sales leadership is the perfect combination of talents: the passionate, motivational leader, the analytical, data-driven leader, and the education, training-oriented leader. Working for them is fun and I've learned a lot. With the Dude brand being less known in the Manufacturing space, we actually learn to sell and can't just go off of an established brand like larger companies in the area. The place is pretty laid back, too which makes it feel like home.

      Cons

      It's a high growth company, so learn to be flexible.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Dude Solutions Response

      CEO

      Thanks for the feedback, Thanks for being a Dude.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work and growing

      Dec 12, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work, great culture, purpose = doing good in the world, great benefits and huge potential

      Cons

      High growth environment, so if you want a place to simply work 8-5 without change and motivation - go somewhere else.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Talk is Cheap

      Sep 9, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Cary, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Comfortable office Laid back dress code Nice co-workers

      Cons

      With the high growth, culture has suffered. Senior management is trying to focus and promote culture without addressing the real issues: 1. Employees are severely underpaid compared to comparable positions at other local companies. 2. Benefits are slowly depleting 3. No career growth or opportunity 4. Employees are expected to do the job of multiple people because executives don't want to hire adequate staff 5. Cost is increasing for outdated, legacy products with no enhancements or updates delivered 6. No consistent processes in place 7. Every department operates as its own silo 8. Little to no flexibility in work schedule or work from home opportunities

      Continue reading
      28 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Life at the Dude

      Jul 14, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and opportunity.

      Cons

      Fast pace high growth company

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Dude Solutions

      Mar 8, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Education Vertical: Great, Fun Culture but is changing as the company grows. Care about numbers and the people Non Education Vertical: Different Culture still not a bad place to work. Great place to work if you want to make a different in the places we live, learn, work, heal and

      Cons

      High Growth is chipping away at the Culture and benefits but they are still better than most companies. High Growth makes it tough to continue to hire people who fit the culture

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Dude Solutions Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Dude Solutions? Share Your Experiences

    or