Cover image for Drake International
Logo

Drake International

Is this your company?

Drake International

Add a Review

Drake International Employee Reviews about "drake"

Updated Oct. 13, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 371 of over 371 reviews
4.0
72% Recommend to a Friend
80% Approve of CEO

Found 22 of over 371 reviews

4.0
72%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Drake International Founder, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer R. W. (Bill) Pollock (no image)
R. W. (Bill) Pollock
144 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly team good work/life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "Nice people but not good work environment(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "High turnover, confusion whether they are a staffing company or HR service provider(in 7 reviews)

  • "No work life balance, higher ups could use a lesson in how to treat their managers and staff(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "drake"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to Work

      Apr. 20, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly staff; good support from management; opportunities to advance

      Cons

      it's hard to keep track of all the components and businesses that make up Drake International

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Very few positives

      Dec. 20, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Large, stable company. Founder and CEO is a dedicated man who is passionate about his company.

      Cons

      Drake seems to hire a certain "type" for their full time employees, with only a few exceptions. I have never worked anywhere where I disliked most of my colleagues. People make the work environment a positive or negative place, and Drake is 90% negative. My own work ethic dictates that I treat others with due respect, try not to jump to conclusions, do not purposely try to make others look bad, play as a team, keep my ego in check, offer help, share knowledge, respond promptly, and not waste others' time. Nearly all my fellow Drake employees constantly do the exact opposite of all these basic professional things. They also ignore professional development and career advancement for anyone who is not part of their core recruiting business. You will be stuck in the same job your entire career with no pay raises, so negotiate a decent salary up front. Everyone tells the CEO what they think he wants to hear, so of course he is out of touch, though well-intentioned.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Drake International Response

      CEO

      Thank you for taking the time to comment on Glassdoor, and providing detailed feedback. While it is far from flattering, we take it seriously and are working on creating a positive work environment for all of our staff. Since I joined as CEO in July 2017, we have taken the first step of doing a complete employee engagement survey and created an action plan that we are rolling out. Aside from changes in compensation, bonus structures and increased vacation time, we are rolling out training programs on change and the impact on the work place and customer service. If you have any comments that you would like to share I would be happy to speak to you directly. You can reach me at 416.216.1000 or cwelsh@na.drakeintl.com Sincerely, Chris

    3. Join the Drake International team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 3.0
      Current Contractor, more than 10 years

      Brand Ambassadors

      Aug. 16, 2017 - Senior Brand Ambassador in Burlington, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Average pay for Brand Ambassador, professional and helpful staff

      Cons

      Management is unfamiliar with a few aspects of Brand Ambassador role. This company hires part-time contract staff to fill orders from Clients. Not that many opportunities for advancement at Drake, however some Clients may choose to hire the Contractor on a full-time basis if they are an exceptional worker.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Run, fast and far.

      May 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Micromanagement, crazy owner, no incentive program, outright lying. If you are a con man this is the place for you.

      Cons

      Hmmm, well, terrible pay, no ability to compete with the real players in the HR business, no training, gossip, managers blaming their employees, managers laid off from other companies and finding a career at Drake, everyone is stealth job hunting, absurd expectations, and whatever you do, DO NOT perform well, because you'll get canned for fear of being promoted by whoever your supervisor is. The dumbest, most ancient company I've ever seen. They literally give you a phone book and tell you to make cold calls. Excellent strategy. The company is hemorraging money, they can't give you an expense card for hundreds of out of pocket expenses, but the owner's a billionaire and thinks it's 1955 so whatever!

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Plenty of opportunities to learn and take on projects

      Aug. 13, 2015 -  in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My experience so far with Drake has been a positive one. I've had the opportunity and have taken on several different projects with alot of different stakeholders across the country. These opportunities are helping me further develop skills and experience for my field. I have the support and resources available to do my work, but am never micro managed - I think it's a great balance. I enjoy working with my team and can honestly say it's a pleasure to come to work. The staff here is friendly and the location of the office is amazing (heart of down town Toronto). I believe having this experience and Drake on my resume will be a great asset to growing in my field.

      Cons

      With any large international company it's hard to stay connected and know what's happening everywhere. There are BIG incentives to do your job well, but it's not accessible to everyone at Drake- it's role dependent

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Recruitment Consultant

      Aug. 13, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have had the great opportunity of learning from the very best in the business. I have been employed with Drake for about 4 years and have learned a lot about recruiting. Drake is an employer that welcomes new employees who are self-starters, over-the-top achievers, enjoy challenging work and who are flexible.

      Cons

      I have no specific cons about Drake.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A dying dinosaur

      Aug. 3, 2015 - Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly colleagues. Feeling part of a global group.

      Cons

      An old fashioned company run by old fashioned people. Drake is a sinking ship that has not caught up with the internet age.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      It is what you make it

      Dec. 18, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great compensation plan - Great team environment - Constant Learning - 100% Club - The chance to run your own desk - Room for growth - The chance to learn a ton about the job market and different positions

      Cons

      - I don't believe that there are too many cons to working at Drake, because it is what you make it - Drake demands a lot but if you are committed you will succeed

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Bad experiences with drake company

      Dec. 9, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nothing at all with drake

      Cons

      The drake office does not want to help clients to find work just want to upset the people that are looking in for work and make them feel like dirt

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    11. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Ever Changing

      Aug. 17, 2014 - Recruitment Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      One of the good things about working for Drake is you get the opportunity to help people.

      Cons

      There are far to many cons to working for Drake to discuss anymore. I will list just a few very basic examples: - poor management - incompetent leadership team(only out for themselves) - extremely poor wages (never get an increase) - bonuses are terrible - Branch Manager decides how to split bonus - no recognition for work done - abusive work environment - Managers bullying their staff - micro management - no work life balance (expected to work 24/7) - favoritism within Branch - older longer term employees treated badly and with no respect - if you bend over backwards and hold your managers hand you can do whatever you want if you are a new employee There are just to many to list. Branch Managers need to learn how to speak to their employees instead of being steam rollers, and could definately use some Management training. Your days should not depend on what side of the bed your manager woke up on.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 22 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Drake International Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Drake International? Share Your Experiences

    Drake International logo
    or

    Reviews by Job Title

    Drake International Photos

    + Add Photo
    Drake International photo of: In June this year (2018), we celebrated Drake International's 67th Anniversary, with the man who started it all, our founder, Bill Pollock
    Drake International photo of: "It's been a slice working with you, now please enjoy this pizza on us!"
    Drake International photo of: It's true!
    Drake International photo of: Our team in London sure knows how to do an open house! Who wants to take a selfie?
    Drake International photo of: They do! Did you know, Drake was founded in Winnipeg, back in 1951!That's right, we are proudly Canadian.
    Drake International photo of: At Drake, we always try to make sure our clients and candidates feel special!
    Drake International photo of: Our team in Edmonton, helping candidates find great careers
    See All Photos

    Affiliated Companies

    Huntel Global

    Drake International Job Seekers Also Viewed

    Rogers Communications Logo
    Rogers Communications

    3.9

    5,814 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 371 Drake International reviews submitted anonymously by Drake International employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Drake International is right for you.