Drake International Consultant Reviews

Updated Mar 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
94%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Drake International Founder, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer R. W. (Bill) Pollock (no image)
R. W. (Bill) Pollock
22 Ratings
  1. "THE BEST RECRUITER"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Drake International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I had the help of the recruiters throughout. Especially Sonakshi's she is so great at following up and networking

    Cons

    Not much to add to this. But yeah you could improve the lengthy paperwork.

    Continue reading
    Drake International2019-07-24
  2. "autonomous environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Drake International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    trusted to do your own businss development, good incentives.

    Cons

    archaic management team, needs to evolve and find a balance

    Drake International2020-03-31
  3. "Poor leadership and management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Drake International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training ground for recruiters

    Cons

    Lack of alignment between leadership strategy and execution on ground

    Continue reading
    Drake International2017-11-03

    Drake International Response

    May 10, 2018CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to comment on Glassdoor. Since taking over the role of CEO in July 2017, I have been focused on gathering feedback from our employees, customers and candidates so that we can continuously improve our performance with employees, clients and candidates. One of my key roles as CEO is to make sure that our strategy flows through the organization; and is understood and executed at all levels. I believe that this is now happening with consistency. Later this month we will be doing a multi-day strategic review process and this will be a key topic. If you have any comments that you would like to share I would be happy to speak to you directly. You can reach me at 416.216.1000 or cwelsh@na.drakeintl.com Chris

  4. "Could use improvement"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Drake International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with a team that encourages and supports you, and is always there to help! Interacting with all sorts of people, clients and candidates.

    Cons

    Compensation isn't the greatest. A lot of tight deadlines, and work piles on.

    Continue reading
    Drake International2017-04-20
  5. "Recruiter"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Drake International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Room for growth Working with a close team rather than competing against each other Opportunities to learn a lot about many different industries

    Cons

    Recruiting for the same jobs every day Growth opportunities only if going into sales, that's about it

    Drake International2016-12-09
  6. "Great Entry Level Job"

    4.0
    Current Contractor - Flexible Recruitment Consultant in Ottawa, ON

    I have been working at Drake International for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast Pace Environment, multiple office to choice from, you will gain a years worth of experience in 2 months. I very much enjoy being a recruiter and if you would like an established company to start with I do suggest Drake International.

    Cons

    The cons are more on a personal level for me and not against the company itself. I was a Full Time Recruiter for 6 months till I was let go but the hired on part time on contract. Business was slow so last person to be hired, the first to be let go. It's business

    Continue reading
    Drake International2016-08-07
  7. "Senior Consultant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Drake International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I thrive in an autonomous, entrepreneurial environment and I think Drake provides that. I am a high octane, proactive employee with a lot of raw energy to bring to the table in business developing to building long term trust and relationships with clients.

    Cons

    Bureacratic, admin intensive activities that generate no revenue can take up a lot of time when it could be spent business developing and speaking with another candidate.

    Continue reading
    Drake International2015-08-13
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Ever Changing"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Drake International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    One of the good things about working for Drake is you get the opportunity to help people.

    Cons

    There are far to many cons to working for Drake to discuss anymore. I will list just a few very basic examples: - poor management - incompetent leadership team(only out for themselves) - extremely poor wages (never get an increase) - bonuses are terrible - Branch Manager decides how to split bonus - no recognition for work done - abusive work environment - Managers bullying their staff - micro management - no work life balance (expected to work 24/7) - favoritism within Branch - older longer term employees treated badly and with no respect - if you bend over backwards and hold your managers hand you can do whatever you want if you are a new employee There are just to many to list. Branch Managers need to learn how to speak to their employees instead of being steam rollers, and could definately use some Management training. Your days should not depend on what side of the bed your manager woke up on.

    Continue reading
    Drake International2014-08-17
  9. "Amateur Management!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Drake International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Drake (HQ) provides their employees great training tools in order for their employees to succeed! If you are eager to learn and implement these tools, you will do well! Commission structure is a little low, but as long as you build a solid client base and focused market, you can earn a lot of money! If an employee consistently achieves their targets, he/she will be recognized by upper management.

    Cons

    Depending the branch, cons may vary, but here is a list regarding my experience: - Horrible atmosphere: poor lighting, desks are placed closely together - hence no privacy. Loud, unprofessional talk and behavior. - Management leaves out employees for so-called team building activities. - Employees who do not work overtime, are frowned upon. - Competitive spirit amongst teammates - Management speaks condescendingly to employees - Staff is reprimanded publicly - Management discusses and divulgers confidential matters, regarding employees, to others who are not part of the management team. - Employees are being told by management to steal their teammate`s client if they`re not doing enough business with them. - Poor work ethic and confidentiality - Praised one day, stepped-on the next - High employee turnover - Poor follow up with candidates who are not qualified for a job. - Employees who have not achieved their targets are usually picked on until they`ve had enough and quit. - CV`s sent to client without meeting the candidate first - Management does not practice what they preach ETC. ETC. ETC.

    Continue reading
    Drake International2014-05-05
  10. "Poor training and competitive company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Drake International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - competitive commission structure and uncapped for generous earnings - great product line and solutions for companies - good marketing department

    Cons

    - competitiveness within and between branches - low base salary which isn't competitive on the market with other agencies - poor management in some areas - terrible training videos, unimaginative and boring

    Drake International2013-10-24
Found 36 reviews