Douglas College Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Douglas College Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Douglas College CEO Dr. Kathy Denton
Dr. Kathy Denton
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "Mostly good, intellectual people to work with, great courses study benefits, okay work-life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • "nice people who like their jobs and great location with good benefits and okay wages(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Analyst in New Westminster, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Douglas College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good environment Very nice people

    Cons

    Not challenging and Old Technology.

    Advice to Management

    Very good

    Douglas College2019-07-31

    Douglas College Response

    August 12, 2019HR

    Happy to read that you like the work environment and people at the College. New technology is on the horizon.

  2. "Good place to work if you go to school there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in New Westminster, BC

    I have been working at Douglas College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Especially convenient to your schedule if you go to school there already. As a teaching assistant, you're not expected to do that much.

    Cons

    Pay is pretty low, but factoring in the time you actually work, it's worth it

    Douglas College2019-10-22
  3. "Faculty Position at Douglas College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in New Westminster, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Douglas College full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Stable position. Managers are great. - Tim Hortons on site.

    Cons

    - Lots of bureaucracy/layers/processes - takes a long time to get things accomplished. - Not the greatest benefits program.

    Douglas College2019-10-14
  4. "Evaluation Douglas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in New Westminster, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Douglas College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, less pressure than other companies

    Cons

    Not a high salary and the rotation or changes are limited.

    Advice to Management

    Increase salaries

    Douglas College2019-07-31
  5. "Avoid, if possible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Officer in New Westminster, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Douglas College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits Location Known brand Good place to start your career Parking

    Cons

    Hierarchical structure, managers are set in their archaic ways, poor salary, zero communication, lack of inclusiveness.

    Advice to Management

    Many of your departments do not have even one staff who is a person of color. They leave or cannot renew their teaching positions or have never been hired. Find out why.

    Douglas College2019-08-02

    Douglas College Response

    August 12, 2019HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to read that you appreciated what the College offers in terms of benefits. location and parking facilities, and that you view the College as a good place to start careers. The College is continuously striving towards more diversity and inclusiveness and it is alarming for us if there is indeed a department that is not diverse. Thank you for the advice.

    Show Less
  6. "student assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Douglas College part-time

    Pros

    easy daily tasks , trouble shooting students' code

    Cons

    could be bored if you have a long day

    Douglas College2019-06-04

    Douglas College Response

    August 12, 2019HR

    Thanks for your review. We are happy you had the opportunity to be one of the College's Student Assistants and we hope to be able to have the opportunity to provide more challenging work to you when you finish your studies.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Truly deserves the Top Employer Award!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Douglas College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lives up to its motto of "Do What You Love!" The culture is great. The work environment is empowering and the core values of Douglas College aligns with my own core values. I also love that creativity is encouraged, passion is commonplace and the collegiality is unifying. I feel I am appreciated and allowed to take initiative to get things accomplished. On top of these are the excellent benefits and perks - I... have never paid a single cent on dental work or eyeglasses. Health coverage is excellent as well.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have not experienced anything negative.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Douglas College2019-05-17

    Douglas College Response

    June 4, 2019HR

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We are happy to read that you're having a very positive experience at the College.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashiers 

    I worked at Douglas College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good colleagues. Supportive. Helpful and kind.

    Cons

    Terrible management. They need to pay attention to their employees.

    Douglas College2019-05-24

    Douglas College Response

    August 12, 2019HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to read that you enjoyed working with supportive, helpful and kind colleagues. We will look into your comment regarding management in your area.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "What do you value most?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Westminster, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Douglas College full-time

    Pros

    Just knowing what Douglas is like in terms of community, work-life balance, perks and culture, I was surprised to see a number of really negative reviews here. But turns out it’s just one area whereas being a part of Douglas means having secure employment with nice people around you and sense of purpose in your work life. You will be a part of the community of educators contributing to someone’s learning. What can... be better than having a meaningful career? Besides that, you get extended benefits, pension, free access to gym and library, ongoing opportunities for professional development (lots of seminars and training sessions offered here!), and smart people to learn from. When people ask where I work I am proud to say it’s Douglas.

    Show More

    Cons

    Douglas is a large public organization which means career advancement is limited. If you want to be promoted, you have to serve your time and make sure you constantly acquire new marketable skills. If you lack required credentials or leadership training/experience, you will not be given a more advanced role just because you are already here. With good reputation, they get enough external interest in vacancies to be... able not to tolerate lack of qualifications.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Help people who already work here plan their career advancement and mentor them. Sometimes employees simply do not know where they lack credentials or what other areas their skills could be utilized. Be an educator not just for your students but also for people who work here.

    Douglas College2019-05-03

    Douglas College Response

    May 16, 2019HR

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review. We appreciate hearing your personal experience and are glad to learn you enjoy the community and proudly say you work at Douglas. We are continuously working on providing professional development opportunities to employees to help them towards their career goals.

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Top Employer for a reason!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Douglas College full-time

    Pros

    - Work/life balance - Family like community; they really make you feel like you're part of a family - Kind and understanding co-workers! - Great benefits!! - Supportive supervisor; willing to help me succeed - Amazing food spots around the campuses

    Cons

    None that I can think of if I'm going to be honest.

    Advice to Management

    None - just keep doing what you're doing and continue to strive for happy employees.

    Douglas College2019-04-25

    Douglas College Response

    May 16, 2019HR

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are happy to hear you're enjoying your experience at the College.

Found 63 reviews