Doubletree By Hilton Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Doubletree By Hilton Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Doubletree By Hilton CEO Christopher Nassetta
Christopher Nassetta
251 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team, ambitious values of the company(in 25 reviews)

  • "Cookies, coworkers, manager, housekeeping, location(in 25 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "great place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Doubletree By Hilton full-time

    Pros

    great staff to work with

    Cons

    nothing that i can think of

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Doubletree By Hilton2019-11-25
  2. "Don’t recommend at all!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Woking, AB

    I worked at Doubletree By Hilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No pros at all !

    Cons

    Low salaries, No support given Understaffed

    Doubletree By Hilton2019-11-24
  3. "Starbucks Barista at the Doubletree By Hilton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista - Starbucks in Regina, SK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Doubletree By Hilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a competitive benefits package Above minimum wage with pay increases yearly (but not infinitely)

    Cons

    Disorganization within workforce The pay is low

    Advice to Management

    Employees who are full-time should have the option of making restrictions to availability, as it's highly unfair that we cannot.

    Doubletree By Hilton2019-08-08
  4. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Doubletree By Hilton

    Pros

    Flexibility of the schedule and great team

    Cons

    Very limited ressources and not very organize

    Doubletree By Hilton2019-08-14
  5. "They delayed payment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housekeeper in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Doubletree By Hilton part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good, senior staffs are friendly, they will recommend you to find other jobs

    Cons

    no staff meal, clean 16 rooms within 8 hours, they said: no overtime pay if you can't finish on time cause it means your time management ability has a problem. After I leaved, I need to wait three weeks to get my pay, and even need to call them to rush them, they replied: you need to call me next Friday. and guess what? I had called them at the following three weeks just ask about my pay, they wont tell you when you... really gonna get it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    don't be so hard on staffs

    Doubletree By Hilton2019-07-13
  6. "Housekeeping associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HOUSEKEEPING ASSOCIATE in London, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Doubletree By Hilton part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great staff, helpful and polite

    Cons

    Don't have enough hours to work for.

    Advice to Management

    Should give enough hours to work.

    Doubletree By Hilton2019-05-04
  7. "So far so good, although a lot of drama!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Doubletree By Hilton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary and a lot of coworkers are great! You get “free food” from the cafeteria so no need to do lunches for only 4,50$ a day deducted from your pay. Great salary 22$ while on probation and 24$ after, and a raise every year in July, uniform is ugly but provided for free, uniforms are also cleaned by the hotel, discounts on hotels, tips sometimes when you get some.

    Cons

    13 rooms to do a day in 8h, so 30min per room and need to be perfect but thats not enough time to do the expected work... some rooms are easy because some people are clean... but when you get an awfully disgusting room you still have 30 min and that’s unreasonable... trying to get to another department is not easy and shouldn’t be like that.

    Advice to Management

    Be more understandable

    Doubletree By Hilton2019-04-30
  8. "Bad Management/High Turnover Rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Catering Sales Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Doubletree By Hilton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Warm DoubleTree cookie whenever I wanted one! -Located near Eaton Centre, for post-work shopping. - Team Member Discount on all Hilton hotels worldwide.

    Cons

    Where do I begin... - Company is CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP. - Staff have to enter through a private, side entrance which is near the garbage area. An excellent welcome to work smell, first thing in the morning... - Sales office (my former work area) is in the basement (one floor under lobby). No natural light, nasty yellow walls, very stuffy and suffocating. Too many people in one workspace. Felt like I wasn't even... part of the hotel. - Staff cafeteria - very mediocre food. Found plastic pieces/foreign in my food on more than one occasion. Also, located 4 floors underground, very dark and depressing. Not enough room for amount of staff. - Directors desperate for sales (to the point where it's sad), however, unwilling to budge on price. Property is extremely outdated, and prices are too high for value. - No staff discounts at onsite restaurant (most hotels/restaurants offer 50% to staff, friends and family). - Staff "not allowed" to park onsite, however, senior management is. - Definition of getting to leave "early" on a slow Friday of a long weekend, is 4:00pm. -Helicopter management - needed to submit a play-by-play of daily tasks at the end of each day. -Ridiculously strict dress code. - Will illegally extend your 6-month probation (again, ridiculous), and then let you go, with no legit cause, when new staff join. This place will literally kill your mood, and suck the soul right out of you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Too many long-tenure staff, which hinder's the company's ability to grow, and do new, innovative things.

    Doubletree By Hilton2019-03-28
  9. "Kitchen Steward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Steward in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Doubletree By Hilton full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and good work environment

    Cons

    I am the lowest in seniority and I've no hours

    Advice to Management

    Give me work hours

    Doubletree By Hilton2019-02-13
  10. "Server, banquets, bartending"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant/Banquets Server in Niagara Falls, ON

    I have been working at Doubletree By Hilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - friendly managers - working in all sections of the food and beverage department such as banquets, bartending, serving and barista

    Cons

    - long standing hours with limited breaks.

    Doubletree By Hilton2019-01-24
Found 840 reviews