Dollar General "weekly pay" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Dollar General Employee Reviews about "weekly pay"

Updated Feb 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
36%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Dollar General CEO Todd Vasos
Todd Vasos
1,900 Ratings
Pros
  • "Unless you sales floor it's good fast paced work(in 159 reviews)

  • "there was weekly pay and relaxed environment(in 122 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very overworked with no help from upper management(in 261 reviews)

  • "High unreasonable demands long hours hardly ever will actually get a day off very poor upper management above store level(in 237 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "weekly pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Working at dollar general"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Lead Sales Associate 

    I worked at Dollar General part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    there was weekly pay and relaxed environment

    Cons

    the store was short staffed and always behind on truck

    Dollar General2020-02-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Experienced Store Manager with 25 yrs of Leading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Slidell, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekly Pay Great Benefits 401k People Environment

    Cons

    6 day work week Turn over of upper Management too often Job threaten often 6am conference calls 3x a week

    Continue reading
    Dollar General2020-02-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Stressful and overwhelming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager - in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar General full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is decent, weekly pay, nice customers,

    Cons

    No work life balance at all. No training and no support from upper management. Overworked

    Continue reading
    Dollar General2020-02-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Heh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Springfield, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay is always a bonus.

    Cons

    Stuck running the store by yourself for for an entire 8-9hr shift, including registers going down, insane lines building up because of the first mentioned con, vender(s) showing up during said rush and non-updated register crashes, not too mention being in a relatively high volume store alone and having to receive the truck as well, dealing with theft and being able to do literally nothing about it. Lots of things.

    Dollar General2020-02-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Swainton, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Guaranteed weekly pay, paid time off

    Cons

    Awful insurance, long hours with managers frequently working 70+ hours and 7 days a week due to cutting hours on hourly employees. They’re aware they’re paying you salary so they work you to the bone and if you calculate it hourly you’re barely making more than minimum wage

    Dollar General2020-01-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "It started out good then...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lead 

    I have been working at Dollar General full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly Pay, You’ll get hours

    Cons

    The DM is the worst right now... Managers don’t like to do any damn work, everything goes to the workers to pick up slack

    Dollar General2019-11-12
  7. "It pays the bills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Stocker 

    I have been working at Dollar General part-time

    Pros

    fast pay raises, weekly pay

    Cons

    Some of the higher ups here do not know how to treat pregnant people. Ive been mortified by some of the things ive witness in this distribution center. Over the last 3 years ive worked here. Putting a 9 month pregnant woman in a harness to drive a muop, expecting a very pregnant woman to dive heavy machinery that will require her to be lifted 30 feet in the hair with nothing but a harness. Wow just sad. Telling a pregnant woman whos obviously having pre term labor to "get over it, I worked while pregnant and I was fine" two very low and disgusting acts which is why I quit working here when I became pregnant. I feel so bad for women who have to work here through a pregnancy. They Will not, do not, accommodate pregnant women. no matter the circumstance. Most of the people I come in contact with, are not happy with their current employment at this DGDC.

    Continue reading
    Dollar General2019-11-21
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Run far away from this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay. That's about it.

    Cons

    These negative reviews are true. I wanted to not believe them because i wanted to be a DM but the reality is that they are true and this company is horrible. Horrible health insurance premiums. Wish i knew about the cost before coming here. $80 a week. A WEEK!!! I wouldnt be surprised if DG pockets half of it. VERY LOW HOURS TO RUN A STORE. I got 140 hours a week and you must have 2 closers each day. So you are basically by yourself most of the morning. Don't believe what the DM says in the interview. Mine was mostly honest but didnt explain the crap show once you got in. Freight from years past in the backroom. TOYS GALORE on the skyshelfs and nothing you can do to get rid of them. They make you touch clearance 5 millions times and waste your time fiddling with it. Very low morale being a store manager. Wish i would've stayed at my previous job. Distribution center blows and sends you unnecessary freight and impacts your backroom/salesfloor. I dont honestly know how SM's survive in ghetto stores. I got one in a little town and it was still rough. Be expected to run the entire truck yourself and then when your done theres another! They only hire DM's outside the company because they dont want to replace SM's because turnover is so freaking high. They expect you to do truck/plan-o-grams/run cash register/new label changes/ check in vendors all by yourself. If you have a terrible crew then expect to be at the store everyday! (I had a terrible crew besides my ASM and one cashier) MANDATORY 6 day work week and 48 hours minimum across 6 days. Oh theres a call in? Guess your going in to cover and no day off. Oh another call in when you went in at 6am? Guess your working till close. 2 days you have to be at the store 2 hours before opening to do nones/tons or run truck. The company wastes so much time researching shrink on employee theft its ridiculous. Majority of theft is from the bottom feeder customer base. Oh boy if you are one hour over budget you get an ear full. Oh man that $7.25 is going to kill the company. They pay these poor cashiers minimum wage and brag about it and gives them 10 hours a week. Ridiculous.

    Continue reading
    Dollar General2019-11-19
  9. "Is a good company to use as a stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    they give you weekly pay, and i loved my customers and my team.

    Cons

    They only pay for 48 hours a week but expect you to work 60 sometimes even 70 and 80 hours a week, you are not properly compensated for your time here. As a new hire, they put me into a broken store and the two week training program they promised me during my interview went out the window. The AC in the store went down multiple times this summer and it got so hot they had me shut the store down, on two different occasions, we were closed for a whole week before they were able to get the air conditioner running. I had inventory in between both of these closures. this resulted in having double trucks for three weeks in a row! Also the payroll they give you to run these stores makes it impossible to run a successful store.

    Continue reading
    Dollar General2019-11-12
  10. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Sales Associate in San Angelo, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Weekly pay and lots of hours guaranteed

    Cons

    Not well managed and too much work to be done with not enough pay

    Dollar General2019-09-04
Found 122 reviews