Dixons Carphone Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 101 of over 3,408 reviews

3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Dixons Carphone CEO Alex Baldock
Alex Baldock
755 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place to work with great people(in 113 reviews)

  • "relaxed work environment, good pay(in 100 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours have to do over time(in 103 reviews)

  • "Career progression from carphone to curry's(in 76 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good experience

      Dec 9, 2020 - Sales Advisor in Chatham-Kent, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bonus Retail Experience Interesting People you meet Flexable

      Cons

      Training Unsociable hours Discount Long hours Working holidays Boring

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hello, Thanks a lot for your comments. We appreciate that you've taken the time to leave this review. We're happy to read that you're enjoying working with us, and would recommend Dixons Carphone to others. Retail's a great place place for people looking for a fast-paced, flexible environment, and your experience reflects this. All our retail colleagues have a central induction in Fort Dunlop in Birmingham (currently held virtually) where they get to learn all about customer service, meet suppliers and receive training on the latest technology. Every colleague also has access to our online e-learning. We recommend colleagues speak with their line managers about their development so training plans can be tailored to individual progression plans. As a retail business, it’s very important that we are there when our customers need us to be – whether that’s visiting a shop, receiving a delivery or calling us. Our stores, contact centres and distribution centres are open to support this customer demand. Our colleagues will need to work shift patterns that are best for our customers and reflect trading patterns e.g. Christmas is our busiest trading time and where the business makes a lot of its profit. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      eddd

      Jan 6, 2021 - Customer Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      rewards and payment services were good

      Cons

      long hours not many benefits

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the rewards we were able to offer you during your time with us. As a retail business, it’s very important that we are there when our customers need us to be – whether that’s visiting a shop, receiving a delivery or calling us. Our stores, contact centres and distribution centres are open to support this customer demand. Retail is a great place for people looking for a fast-paced, flexible environment. We provide all colleague with benefits and rewards in line with their career development. If any colleagues are unsure what benefits are available to them, we recommend using our online benefits portal where colleagues can see what benefits are available for them. Best of luck in your next role. The Dixons Carphone Team

    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Long hours

      Jan 12, 2021 - 7 5t Driver in Basingstoke, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is very good, lots of over time

      Cons

      Long hours have to do over time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      It's a good interim job before finding a proper career

      Jan 9, 2021 - Outbound Sales Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -good bonus -good and quick training

      Cons

      - repetitive -long hours - no career progression

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hello, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're happy to hear we were able to get you up and running in your role quickly, and that you're making the most of your bonus. As a retail business, it’s very important that we are there when our customers need us to be – whether that’s visiting a shop, receiving a delivery or calling us. Our stores, contact centres and distribution centres are open to support this customer demand. Our colleagues will need to work shift patterns that are best for our customers and reflect trading patterns. Whatever your goals, we want our colleagues to be able to develop themselves and progress their careers. We provide many different career paths across the whole company. Check out some of our colleague blogs on careers.dixonscarphone.com/social. All our vacancies are advertised internally, and through ‘MyHUB’ colleagues can search and sign up for new vacancy alerts. We also have a number of recruitment focused Workplace groups which colleagues can join to get the latest vacancy information, top tips on interviews and CV writing, and can celebrate the successes of other team members. It's great to read that you'd like to progress your career with us, and highly recommend starting a conversation with your line manager to discuss the opportunities available to you. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great company to work for

      Dec 15, 2020 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good environment and benefits and decent holiday package

      Cons

      Long hours and complsary weekends working

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hi there, We appreciate you taking a moment to share your review with us. It's great to hear that you were able to make the most of your benefits during your time with us. As a retail business, it’s very important that we are there when our customers need us to be – whether that’s visiting a shop, receiving a delivery or calling us. Our stores, contact centres and distribution centres are open to support this customer demand. Our colleagues will need to work shift patterns that are best for our customers and reflect trading patterns. Retail is a great place for people looking for a fast-paced, flexible environment. Best of luck in your next role, The Dixons Carphone Team

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good people but bad ethos

      Nov 28, 2020 - Retail Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly colleagues, opportunity to speak with interesting customers, and decent benefits.

      Cons

      High pressure with tight, misguided sales targets. Upper management completely out of touch Required to hard sell certain products to customers, regardless of whether or not they need it, to the point of damaging the customer's experience. Have to work long hours around Christmas, including Christmas Eve and Boxing Day.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hello, We appreciate your feedback, and we are happy to take a moment to reply. As a company that values teamwork, it's great to read that you were part of a friendly team. Being a retail business, it’s very important that we are there when our customers need us to be – whether that’s visiting a shop, receiving a delivery or calling us. Our stores, contact centres and distribution centres are open to support this customer demand. Our colleagues will need to work shift patterns that are best for our customers and reflect trading patterns e.g. Christmas is our busiest trading time and where the business makes a lot of its profit. Retail is a great place for people looking for a fast-paced, flexible environment. In our retail stores we do have targets to achieve, but our focus is on the customer. By offering the right product ranges and services for their needs, we are making our customers happy and achieving store performance targets. We have invested in and continue to invest heavily in staff training and compliance to transform the business over next couple of years. Best of luck in your next role, The Dixons Carphone Team

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good place to learn

      Nov 3, 2020 - Category Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good environment to learn the industry

      Cons

      Very long hours Ruthless senior management

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hi there, Thanks for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. We're pleased to hear you found Dixons Carphone a great place to learn about the retail industry. As a retail business, it’s very important that we are there when our customers need us to be – whether that’s visiting a shop, receiving a delivery or getting support. Retail is a great place for people looking for a fast-paced, flexible environment. We also encourage an open and honest working environment and have introduced schemes such as ‘babble boards’ and feedback boxes to help provide an easy way of give anonymous feedback straight to senior leaders. All the best in your next role, The Dixons Carphone Team

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Friendly stores

      Oct 16, 2020 - Manager in Colchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice stores Good benefits on mobile phone Friendly atmosphere Got pay

      Cons

      Long hours Unsociable hours Stressful Demanding

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It's good to read that you enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and benefits we were able to offer during your time with us. Working in retail is fast-paced and demanding, and we're always evolving the services and products we offer to reflect our customers’ needs. Our company encourages an open and honest working environment and we recommend colleagues have an open conversation with their line manager / HR to solve problems they encounter whilst working with us. Best of luck in your next role, The Dixons Carphone Team

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Working

      Oct 13, 2020 - Customer Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing pay, holiday & incentives

      Cons

      Long hours as there might be lack of customers or you just have to stand around

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hello, Thank you for sharing your experiences with us, and congratulations on your 10+ years with Dixons Carphone. It's wonderful to hear that you're making the most of your salary and benefits. As we shift to the new normal, we're looking at ways our in-store colleagues can provide support to customers who, for now, are not comfortable returning to shopping in-store. We will be sharing more information with our colleagues internally, via Workplace and our other internal communications channels. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      nn

      Oct 17, 2020 - Part-time Sales Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Effective training sessions, Friendly co-workers

      Cons

      Long hours, low salaries, extra works

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 101 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Dixons Carphone Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Dixons Carphone? Share Your Experiences

    Dixons Carphone logo
    or