Dixons Carphone Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 112 of over 3,408 reviews

3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Dixons Carphone CEO Alex Baldock
Alex Baldock
755 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place to work with great people(in 113 reviews)

  • "relaxed work environment, good pay(in 100 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours have to do over time(in 103 reviews)

  • "Career progression from carphone to curry's(in 76 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "great people"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Jan 19, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Enfield, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work with great people

      Cons

      Not much room for progression

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the Glassdoor community. It's great to hear you'd recommend working for us, and that you worked alongside great people during your time with us. Whatever their goals, we want colleagues to be able to develop themselves and progress their careers. We provide many different career paths across the whole company, e.g. retail to head office and contact centre to distribution. Through appraisals and reviews all colleagues have the opportunity to discuss progression routes in the company, and make plans to pursue them, with their line manager. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company to work for

      Jan 8, 2021 - Business Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for Met some great people Fun

      Cons

      Pay isn’t the best Hard to progress

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hi there, Thanks a lot for your comments. It's good to hear that you recommend working with us, especially regarding our people and the atmosphere at work. We're proud to say we pay above the national living wage. We also provide benefits and rewards in line with your career development. You should have access to an online benefits portal where you can see what benefits are available to you. If you're not sure how to access this ask your line manager and they'll be happy to help. We want to be a company that celebrates capable and committed colleagues and helps you achieve your best. Through appraisals and reviews you have the opportunity to discuss progression routes in the company with your line manager. We can facilitate many different routes of progression across the wider Dixons Carphone group e.g. retail to head office and contact centre to distribution. We also have a number of recruitment focused Workplace groups which colleagues can join to get the latest vacancy information, top tips on interviews and CV writing, and can celebrate the successes of other team members. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Depends on Management

      Dec 21, 2020 - Sales Assistant in Bangor, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work with great people and great management

      Cons

      Constantly changing targets with less achieveable targets within the middle of a pandemic

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hi there, We appreciate you taking a moment to share this feedback with us. It's good to hear that you're working with great colleagues in Bangor. In our retail stores we do have targets to achieve, but our focus is on the customer. By offering the right product ranges and services for their needs, we are making our customers happy and achieving store performance targets. Our sites hold regular team briefs and team meetings to celebrate and recognise success. We also have our ‘You’re Electric’ scheme, allowing instant online feedback that is visible to line managers, and can be sent by anyone to anyone. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Company if you know the right people

      Nov 23, 2020 - Warehouse Worker in Newark on Trent, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great People, and colleagues who know what works

      Cons

      Too close re knowing the right people

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're happy to read that you worked alongside great colleagues during your time with us. All the best in your next role, The Dixons Carphone Team

    5. 3.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Ok place to work

      Nov 19, 2020 - Sales Associate in Leeds, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with

      Cons

      Salary and hours could be better

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hello, Thank you for sharing your review with us. It's fantastic to hear that you worked alongside great people during your time with us. We pay above the national living wage and provide colleague benefits and rewards in line with their career development. All colleagues also have access to ‘Perks at work’ which offer some great discounts across well-known high street brands, cinema tickets and restaurants. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good pay

      Oct 27, 2020 - Branch Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, great people to work around

      Cons

      Never ending change in business initiatives, they never stick to a plan

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It's brilliant to hear you've enjoyed your time with us, especially your pay and your team mates. We are a fast-paced retail business and looking to stay ahead of our game means change is inevitable. We encourage colleagues to keep up to date on the internal intranet and through Workplace so they are ready for any new initiatives. Best of luck in your next role, The Dixons Carphone Team

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Pretty good

      Oct 1, 2020 - Team Knowhow Colleague in Birmingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Left to get on with my tasks for the days. No micromanagement. Work with great people but that depends store to store. Managers actually listen to me in my store.

      Cons

      Pay is on the low side

      1 person found this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hello, Thank you for taking a moment to share your review with the Glassdoor community. It's great to read you are enjoying your role, from being free to work independently, to the management style of your managers. To supplement your salary, we recommend taking a look at the wide range of benefits we offer our colleagues, such as our Sharesave scheme and Perks at Work. If you'd like any more information about any of these benefits, please reach out to your line manager who will be able to share more information with you. Thanks, The Dixons Carphone Team

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Avoid

      Sep 28, 2020 - Sales Colleague in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people in store, lovely store managers and very helpful

      Cons

      Company does not value people who they serve or employees

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hi there, Thanks for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. We're happy to hear that you worked alongside great teammates and managers during your time with us. As a company, we want to celebrate capable and committed colleagues and to help them achieve their best. It's why this forms part of our vision. We recommend colleagues who are feeling under valued start an open and honest conversation with their line manager, or with HR. This will help us to understand and address any concerns. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Average job.

      Sep 23, 2020 - Sales Colleague 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people work there. Generally flexible with students.

      Cons

      Poor work/life balance for full time staff. Redundancies to Team Leader roles means a harder progression route for sales colleagues.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Was a great company. New CEO , Directors and region managers show no compassion for the shop work force! Hence I left

      Oct 4, 2020 - Retail Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Use to be good benefits and company to work for , pay wasn't bad. Some great people to work with

      Cons

      Treated like a robot. Soul destroying. Consistent long hours. CEO ,Directors/ region managers treat the store management and colleagues like a Communist country , KPI. To many hence sales staff unhappy. Would leave the company customers would be conned by sales staff to sell because of the high targets. Old style head bashing company . Sales pay awulf might as well work for Lidl , cut 1.5 pay and no additional pay for bank holidays while directors and CEO get bonus. No work life balance! After 15 years I'm so happy I left. I now have a life

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 112 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Dixons Carphone Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Dixons Carphone? Share Your Experiences

    Dixons Carphone logo
    or