Dixons Carphone Employee Reviews about "carphone"

Updated Nov 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 of over 3,408 reviews

3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Dixons Carphone CEO Alex Baldock
Alex Baldock
755 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place to work with great people(in 113 reviews)

  • "relaxed work environment, good pay(in 100 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours have to do over time(in 103 reviews)

  • "Career progression from carphone to curry's(in 76 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "carphone"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Its Okay but not great

      Nov 24, 2020 - Customer Consultant in Sevenoaks, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly staff and supportive carphone manager

      Cons

      Targets are a bit crazy at times when they are set Pay could be better Systems needed to be updated already! its already a 30 year old system I'm carphone but being forced to do work at the currys sides as well.. i feel the pay should be better to reflect this Its a good part time job but no career progressions so i wouldn't recommend doing it as a long-term but my opinion We used to have discounts for contracts but now its rather limited now. the best we can is a discount on a simo

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hi there, Thank. you for taking the time to share your review with the Glassdoor community. It's good to hear you're supported by friendly staff and management in our Sevenoaks store. We are here to help our customers enjoy amazing technology and have been investing in staff training. In our retail stores we do have targets to achieve, but our focus is on the customer. By offering the right product ranges and services for their needs, we are making our customers happy and achieving store performance targets. We're pleased to say we pay above the national living wage and provide colleagues with benefits and rewards in line with their career development. All colleagues have access to an online benefits portal where colleagues can see what benefits are available for them. We want to be a company that celebrates capable and committed colleagues and helps them achieve their best. Whatever their goals, we want colleagues to be able to develop themselves and progress their careers. Through appraisals and reviews all colleagues have the opportunity to discuss progression routes in the company with their line manager. We can facilitate many different routes of progression across the wider Dixons Carphone group e.g. retail to head office and contact centre to distribution. We also have a number of recruitment focused Workplace groups which colleagues can join to get the latest vacancy information, top tips on interviews and CV writing, and can celebrate the successes of other team members. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      SH**houses

      Oct 15, 2020 - Sales Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of fun people in CPW and CPCW

      Cons

      Absolutely shafted the standalone carphone employment, was working 45-50 hours per week and got told we were being made redundant or could apply for 16 hour contract positions within Curry's pcworld a week before march lockdown. We were given no clarity on furlough if we stayed in the business wether it would be average hours worked or on the new contract, I took redundancy because I could not afford to be on 80% of 16 hours. Just ran into a former colleague and he has been furloughed since I left, had his contract bought out for him to sign the new Curry's style one. I would have loved to have stayed if we were given that as an option, it's like a double whammy kick in the nuts.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hello, We are sorry to hear about your experience and thank you for your feedback. Colleagues, like yourself, who have left the business are able to re-apply and re-join us after a 6 month period. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      This company does not care about its staff!

      Oct 14, 2020 - Customer Consultant in Staines, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours, decent pay rate if you are 16-18

      Cons

      *Company doesn’t care about staff *senior management and general management are awful, they don’t know how to run a store, it’s easy to get promoted *A lot of dodgy things go on in store, they don’t really care about customers *Really terrible HR procedures in place, for continually harassed and bullied by another employee and raised a grievance that was pushed aside for months, I had to continually be harassed and bullied by this employee for 7 months until action was taken, by that time I was ready to leave the job I have never worked for a company worse than Dixon’s Carphone, it is an awful company where senior management only care about money and sales rather than their employees safety and well-being. Do NOT work here if you value your mental health!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hello, Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We are concerned to read some of your feedback and we’d urge you to get in touch to discuss it further. The health and wellbeing of our colleagues is something we take very seriously. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Once amazing, now amazingly ordinary

      Sep 14, 2020 - Assistant Manager in Bolton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Meet some amazing people and make friends

      Cons

      under valused, over worked and an unclear goal. No focus on the carphone side, just the currys

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hello, Thanks for taking a moment to share your review with us. It's great to hear you were working alongside amazing workmates during your time with us. Working in retail is fast-paced and demanding, and we're always evolving the services and products we offer to reflect our customers’ needs. As our customers' expectations change, we sometimes have to make some tough decisions about how we operate to make sure we continue to put our customer first. When this happens, we work closely with all impacted colleagues to make sure they have the support, direction and work / life balance they need. Our company encourages an open and honest working environment and we recommend colleagues share feedback with their line manager / HR so we tailor our support on an individual basis. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      GM at Carphone Warehouse

      Aug 6, 2020 - Unemployed in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Encouraged to lead as you want within reason. Great teams. Looked after financially during redundancy.

      Cons

      Low basic. Bonus hard to achieve. New CEO shutting down Carphone, becoming part of Currys.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hello, Thanks for sparing a moment to share your review with us. We encourage our managers to do the best for their customers and for their team by giving them freedom in how they run their stores, so it's wonderful to read your experience at Carphone Warehouse matched up with this. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      no progression

      Jul 13, 2020 - General Manager in Birmingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      none, it is very bleak

      Cons

      nothing positive to say about dixons carphone

      1 person found this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Employer Brand Team

      Hello, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're sorry to read you do not feel you have received an opportunity to progress with us over the past years. Our company encourages an open and honest working environment and we recommend colleagues have an open conversation with their line manager / HR to discuss career development plans and other progression opportunities. We're eager to do all that we can to support you and your career. Best, The Dixons Carphone Team

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      General manager.

      Apr 7, 2020 - General Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People Teams work. Automony in the role. Fun place to work. Vision.

      Cons

      Leadership Career progression from carphone to curry's.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Head of Social Media

      Hello, Thank-you for your work over the past 10 years, and for taking a few moments to share your review. We're happy to hear that the fun, team-spirit at Dixons Carphone has left you smiling. Kind regards, The Dixons Carphone Team

    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Currys>Carphone

      Apr 5, 2020 - Assistant Manager in Bristol, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Salary is very competitive

      Cons

      Management do not care for carphone, only Currys

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Head of Social Media

      Hello, We're happy to read you have been happy with your salary, and thank-you for taking a few moments to share your review. Kind regards, The Dixons Carphone Team

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good until it ended...

      Mar 17, 2020 - Assistant Manager in Nottingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay Great team Good support A lot of options to develop

      Cons

      Carphone Warehouse stores will close on 3rd of April 2020, so there will be less room to develop as legacy managers take those jobs

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Social Media Manager

      Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate this is a really difficult time for colleagues affected by the tough decision taken to close Carphone Warehouse independent stores. We are committed to supporting those colleagues and offering new roles to 40%. As a UK PLC, we have to follow the rules, and these are that we have make an announcement to the market first. Please do contact us directly for support. Kind regards, The Dixons Carphone Team

    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      since merger

      Mar 2, 2020 - Branch Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nothing as since merger everything went down hill

      Cons

      its a con but before carphone used to be the best place to work at

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dixons Carphone Response

      Social Media Manager

      Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we're sorry to hear you have a negative outlook and would encourage you to speak directly to managers or our confidential employee helpline so that we can help. Kind regards, The Dixons Carphone Team

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 75 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Dixons Carphone Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Dixons Carphone? Share Your Experiences

    Dixons Carphone logo
    or