Dignity Memorial Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
39%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Dignity Memorial Site Manager  Gorge Cotte (no image)
Gorge Cotte
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "Helping families who are in need(in 28 reviews)

  • "It takes a certain personality to be both in sales and able to assist families at their time of need(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Word of advice to any new Pre need counselors coming in(in 20 reviews)

  • "The nature of the business is to schedule appointments when they are off, that can lead to long hours, sometimes on nights and weekends(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales position"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pre-Planner Sales 

    I worked at Dignity Memorial full-time

    Pros

    Family atmosphere, friendly coworkers, good benefits

    Cons

    Commission only compensation structure; paid hourly while in training

    Dignity Memorial2019-08-09
  2. "Dignity Memorial"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Dignity Memorial full-time

    Pros

    Their marketing and gives you leads

    Cons

    It’s a hard sell and there’s a lot of cancellations

    Dignity Memorial2018-11-28
  3. Helpful (2)

    "happily a former employee"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dignity Memorial full-time

    Pros

    work benefits, employee discounts, friendly front line staff

    Cons

    Old boys club. Exposed to bullying, cover ups, lies and deception. All rules are made to be bent and broken depending on who you are. Unprofessional management and horrible HR department. Everything takes for ever. If employee has a problem with pay, they are forced to wait until next pay period. have seen decedents dropped on floors, dressed wrong, made fun of and nothing was done about it. witnessed families being lied to, ripped off. Staff left to work with skeleton crew leaving no time to attend to families and their needs. tangled web of garbage, lies, cheating, scamming and forced to make "pretty" in front of public. Prices are driven so high to make the bottom line more attractive to share holders. EVERY item on their price list is over priced, marked up in some cases 300 to 400%. You can get better service at a fair price anywhere but there. The front line workers are over worked and underpaid for all they do. I can say that the people you meet face to face at time of need are awesome, but it stops there. Management and upper management are bullies, liars, thieves. Objectively and subjectively, work anywhere else but here and for families - go anywhere but here. Do your pricing and service homework to avoid getting ripped off. I promise, you will thank this review. Stay away from sales positions. More lies. if you do not make their quota, you get fired. Its just a corporation driven by greed.

    Continue reading
    Dignity Memorial2018-02-20
  4. "Pre-Need Sales-Person"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Dignity Memorial full-time

    Pros

    Large Corporation - there are lots of opportunities in a variety of locations. There are opportunities to move up or laterally in the company

    Cons

    Large Corporation - paperwork and company requirements impede sales opportunities

    Continue reading
    Dignity Memorial2017-10-28
  5. "Family Service Counselor"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Hamilton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Dignity Memorial

    Pros

    I enjoy being a part of this team. It is challenging and fun. There are many tools provided for success, great support and excellent training. Independence to be creative for personal success is provided, while being supported by the funeral home teams and management. New ideas and flexibility are encouraged. Caring for families by providing protection is very rewarding.

    Cons

    If you're not energetic, creative or able to self manage, this position would be difficult.

    Dignity Memorial2016-11-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Trust in the negative reviews"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Family Service 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dignity Memorial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Teaches you what to avoid in the future.

    Cons

    Be wary of the sales person training you. SHE/he will keep you away from the locations that make HER/him money. SHE/he will tell you an inflated potential-earnings $$$ because that's what they "were told when they started." SHE/he often states, to non-sales employees, that they want to get you to quit, in order to keep their own sales UP. SHE/he bad-mouths both management & staff to secure HER/his position within the company.

    Continue reading
    Dignity Memorial2016-11-04
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Rewarding with a wonderful amount of support from colleagues and superiors"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Family Service Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dignity Memorial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Superiors are understanding and supportive. I am given more than enough tools to create my own success. When I ask for help I receive it asap.

    Cons

    Hiring can be difficult when candidates see negative comments on glass door placed by employees who were not able to use the provided tools amd support to create their own success. It's a great company! Don't depend on disgruntled online reviews! Meet face to face with one of us.

    Continue reading
    Dignity Memorial2016-04-22
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Sales Professionals stay away!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dignity Memorial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tons of qualified leads, ACV's appointments (At Need Visits) are the best part but not paid on. Helping families through the grieving process is nice but not helping put food on the table.

    Cons

    Very low salary...22k CND is horrible for the hours worked. I started looking for better work the second I saw the commission set up which is not fully explained at time of interview. I work 50-55 hours a week plus travel to and from. Add on that there is no auto allowance and pushy Management...STAY AWAY!

    Continue reading
    Dignity Memorial2016-01-05
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Poor Management, Payroll Problems, Training Issues"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Family Advisor in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dignity Memorial for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good opportunity to help people in need

    Cons

    Company is all about sales. Payroll problems always keep employees behind. Training is about script learning and techniques for taking advantage of the elderly

    Continue reading
    Dignity Memorial2015-07-27
  10. "Great money, nurturing management, incredible company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pre-planning Advisor in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dignity Memorial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Managers focus on your development rather than just their quotas, lots of bonus incentives for sales reps to drive themselves to achieve, make a meaningful difference in people's lives and your own, ability to make lots of money.

    Cons

    Takes a few months to build your network and prove yourself to get real income, Salesforce is often not updated by counselors and leads to false positives in prospecting, territorialism among counselors creates pettiness. They push you hard and it is up to you to set your boundaries on your hours.

    Continue reading
    Dignity Memorial2020-05-30
Found 213 reviews