Department of Health UK Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Department of Health UK Reviews

Updated Nov 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
37%
Recommend to a Friend
8%
Approve of CEO
Department of Health UK CEO Jeremy Hunt
Jeremy Hunt
9 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Really varied management practices and too much trendy speak from the senior management and discussion about strategy leading to little or no action(in 3 reviews)

  • "Can be slow at times - it is the civil service(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Constant change and undervalued staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Executive Officer in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Department of Health UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay & Conditions ok - were good before pay freeze/cap & restructuring - flexitime

    Cons

    Restructurings every 2 year, no real care for staff, lose experienced, skilled people all the time. No real care from top as to what it takes to do a decent job, and to actually help the country, only bothered about power and headlines and money.

    Advice to Management

    Develop, value and cherish experience - don't try and run a health service on the cheap.

    Department of Health UK2019-11-05
  2. "Hierarchical, focussed on process, progression possible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Policy Advisor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Department of Health UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Progression is possible, clear programmatic structure, hard working colleagues,

    Cons

    Working environment is less supportive than comparable Departments, rapid turnover of staff, focus on process over outcomes, hierarchical.

    Department of Health UK2019-09-30
  3. "Never a dull day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Department of Health UK part-time

    Pros

    Supportive flexible working practices Interesting and varied work Great colleagues Good career opportunities within health and across the Civil Service

    Cons

    Not one of the higher paying government departments

    Department of Health UK2019-04-23
  4. "Not worth the money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Policy Development Manager in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Department of Health UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The work is interesting and stretching and colleagues are friendly and professional. Everyone I worked with went out of their way to do an excellent job.

    Cons

    There are few opportunities for progression. A great deal is expected of employees with and stress levels are very high but effort is not rewarded.

    Department of Health UK2019-04-17
  5. "Civil Service - Department of Heath"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Department of Health UK full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, work life balance

    Cons

    Open up more and better opportunities for non fast stream junior staff.

    Department of Health UK2019-03-20
  6. "Too much change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Department of Health UK full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility Good people and team working Opportunities for development

    Cons

    No progression, small local team and senior management with their favourites.

    Advice to Management

    Far too much change, and not for the benefit of the population. Highly bureaucratic organisation. Lots of potential for waste reduction

    Department of Health UK2018-12-10
  7. "Good title for such a student."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Department of Health UK

    Pros

    Working on flexible projects, and management is good.

    Cons

    Very hectic environment, which can lead to a constant shifting of priorities.

    Department of Health UK2018-11-09
  8. "28 years behind the mast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Parliamentary Officer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Department of Health UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I worked with some lovely people, including most of my line managers over a 28 year period. Teams were very enthusiastic about their work and I felt able to share that enthusiasm.

    Cons

    Pay was abysmal and every time it became useful politically to either of the main parties, we would find our pay being frozen, often for years on end. Added to that, there was a mini revolution about every five years and the way the Department works went in cycles until by the time I left, I was back where I started. Added to that, of course, as announced in the newspapers, it became politically expedient to... reduce redundancy payouts (so that I got less than two thirds (in cash terms, not 'real terms') in 2017 what I would have got in 2003 had I been allowed to go.

    Show More
    Department of Health UK2018-10-20
  9. "Higher Executive Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Department of Health UK full-time

    Pros

    Exposure to lots of opportunities, supportive environment, a lot of responsibility is given to you so great for development, focus on training and health and well-being of staff, very open to flexible working and good work/life balance

    Cons

    Very difficult to progress even if you are recognised as a good worker, no incremental pay rise so have to negotiate the salary before you join

    Department of Health UK2018-09-10
  10. "Good opportunities for career progression and lots of learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woden

    I worked at Department of Health UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunities for development and good support for staff. Interesting policy areas and you feel that you can make a difference.

    Cons

    Central government so the budget is very tight. Financial incentives are few and far between.

    Department of Health UK2018-07-09
Found 43 reviews