Denbury Resources Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Denbury Resources Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 93 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Denbury Resources CEO Phil Rykhoek
Phil Rykhoek
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "Denbury has gone through a lot of the changes through the years but still offers great benefits(in 12 reviews)

  • "Good people, fun work environment(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "After 2 rounds of staff reduction, organization is top heavy(in 6 reviews)

  • "The Denbury culture has it's good points but I think it does more harm than good when oil prices fall below a certain level(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Denbury’d problem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Reservoir Engineer in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Denbury Resources full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are really bright people especially on reservoir engineering side.

    Cons

    Too many employees, especially in accounting, IT, and HR, even after several rounds of layoffs.

    Advice to Management

    Reduce headcount and improve efficiency. Reduce management layers and simplify structures.

    Denbury Resources2019-07-26
  2. "GREAT PEOPLE WITH A PLAN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Denbury Resources full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong technical team with opportunities to do interesting work CEO who believes in company and path forward Good benefits and pay Great work environment and people that care

    Cons

    Oil price volatility and the adjustments that requires (but we chose the industry) New leaders who lack experience Grapevine gossip that causes unrest

    Advice to Management

    Focus on helping employees understand that commodity environment means course has to be adjusted as circumstances change. Streamline decision making process and communicate clearly - both good and bad.

    Denbury Resources2019-05-15
  3. Helpful (2)

    "HR What a disaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Denbury Resources full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I support our technology plan.

    Cons

    Our insurance denied an emergency medical procedure that our benefits description said would be covered. HR refused to help, make a call or even try to explain why it was denied. After threatening United they finally said our policy doesn't cover it. Back to HR who again refused to help or ask because "we aren't that kind of HR anymore". What kind? One that cares about their employees? Eventually, after my wife took time...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire better leaders in HR who care, starting at the top. Maybe someone who makes eye contact when she passes you in the hall?

    Denbury Resources2019-05-17
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Operations Engineer 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Denbury Resources full-time

    Pros

    Good people, fun work environment

    Cons

    Management doesn't always communicate clearly

    Denbury Resources2019-01-09
  5. "Reservoir"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Denbury Resources full-time

    Pros

    Overall a great company that cares for employees!

    Cons

    Bonus structure is not the best!

    Denbury Resources2018-11-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Denbury 2018"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geoscience Technician in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Denbury Resources full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Denbury has gone through a lot of the changes through the years but still offers great benefits. The atmosphere is positive and there are lots of great people who work here. What's left of the technical staff has strengthened, and there are interesting conventional projects that look amazing on anyone's resume. The new CEO is taking Denbury on a path to not just survive, but thrive.

    Cons

    Lots of work with not enough time in the day. The downturn has left us with the same workload with less than half of the technical staff we used to have. Training for techs the last few years has been non existent.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent, many people often feel like they have no clue as to what is actually going on.

    Denbury Resources2018-08-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "It was a great place to work 6 years ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reservoir Engineer in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Denbury Resources full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A few good employees left

    Cons

    Pretty much everything else would be a Con

    Denbury Resources2018-09-18
  8. "Company with a lot problems to wokr out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Denbury Resources full-time

    Pros

    You could not ask for better people to work with

    Cons

    All levels of management are severely disconnected with the day to day operations and understanding of how to better our business

    Denbury Resources2018-08-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Field IT Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Support Manager in Flowood, MS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Denbury Resources full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent management team. My team mates were always easy to work with and excellent at communication.

    Cons

    Interdepartmental communication can be improved. Staffing levels were not optimal.

    Advice to Management

    Improve interdepartmental and company wide communication.

    Denbury Resources2018-04-18
  10. "Company Changed- Only look out for Executives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Denbury Resources full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule and generous vacation/sick allowances

    Cons

    too many layoffs. Top heavy /too many managers

    Denbury Resources2018-04-25
Found 93 reviews